Georgia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Boiled & Baked Ribs

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Wow this was excellent. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bourbon Pecan Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
The pantry was getting low and I didn't have pecans or green onion. I decided to make this anyway using the walnuts I had on hand and followed the rest of the recipe to a T (minus the green onion, of course). This made an amazing sauce that complemented the chicken very well. My son is incredibly picky and said that this is the #2 best chicken he's ever had (next to chicken nuggets, of course). I enjoyed it and so did my other half. Adding this to the "make again" pile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jstack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blakely, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster

Easy Garlic Kale

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Easy Garlic Kale Haiku: "Love my leafy greens, my husband called this 'kale fail.' Didn't get tender." I like my veggies on the al dente side so I was OK w/ this recipe and made it as directed; however, my husband was disappointed that the kale wasn't more tender. I sauteed it for just over 7 min., and yes it definitely had more bite than squish, so if I made this recipe again, I'd aim for a bit longer. I also think I'd have preferred browning the garlic smashed, not minced, removing it to chop and then returning it to the cooked kale before serving b/c the garlic taste didn't shine as much as I would've like, especially since "garlic" is in the recipe's title.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Waffles I

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
'Pretty much followed the recipe. :o :D As suggested by a review, subbed with melted butter - well, half melted butter, half oil - & I decreased it to 1/4c - so 2T each. Next time, I'll go for all melted butter. 'Didn't feel like opening a bag of flour so the last few Ts of flour were whole wheat. I added 3/4t imitation vanilla to give a creamy flavor vs vanilla (which I am sincerely in love with both). I was told by S that these were better than the previous recipe (Waffles II by RAZZ_BRRY_JAM), which was years ago. Hmmmm. E didn't say anything, but had three. :) These are crispy without being hard. (It's happened.) Tender inside. Note: They'll stick if not greased well (duh), but also if it's not preheated. 'Done when steaming nearly ceases. This made 11 waffles on my two-waffles-per-batch maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster

Turkey and Pork Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Turkey & Pork Chili Haiku: "Just finished this meal, had to review right away. No less than 5 stars!" I made this chili w/ only 1 lb. ground turkey (just dropped the 28 oz. can tomatoes -- on that note, why did that other review say "nice bean-less chili alternative" when Chili Magic has beans in it?) I kept all the seasoning/spices and directions the same, and I know that Chili Magic really DOES make chili magical, but I like to think that Nenadd's recipe also had a bit of magic of its own, b/c our bowls disappeared! I ate mine w/ cilantro, cheese, fritos, and Sriracha, but even a "virginal" bite was straight-up YUM. Next time I'll be making it w/ all the ingredients as originally written and if there are leftovers, cool, I'll either gobble them up, or freeze em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Dijon Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Dijon Chicken Haiku: "Um WOW this was goooood. Added parmesan to crumbs, used no bone, no skin." I saturated the chicken (boneless skinless breast halves) in the dijon/garlic/wine mixture, pressed it in the crumbs (WAY too much bread crumbs called for in the recipe) mixed w/ 1 TB parmesan, and returned the chicken to the cast-iron skillet where I let both sides brown quickly (2 min. tops) then transferred skillet to oven for 20 min. to finish baking. Moist and flavorful, but in making again, I would use way less bread crumbs, continue to add the parmesan, and definitely do bone-in, skin-on breast b/c I'm sure it'd be even more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Greek Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This was pretty good, just a little dry but can correct that next time. Loved the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Very good the whole family loved it. Made exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fajita Marinade I

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Very good marinade..I was out of Liquid smoke but it was just as good w/out it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Italian Meatballs

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I had to add more bread crumbs ( the good Italian ones that we all use.) I did not have parm cheese on hand ( oops.) I did his cooking method. I wanted to just throw them in the sauce uncooked. I only made 20 balls . wife loves big balls.......so I saved half the balls for another noodle journey. excellent balls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Grandma Maggio's Spaghetti Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I left the salt out. just a pinch of sugar. I left this, after a quick boil, on a simmer for @7 hours. this was very good. I really should have doubled this. I wanted to use this sauce in lasagna. too many taste testings :) I used chef john's meatball recipe with this. a killer combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Tuna Mac

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I've made this twice now. It's a real winner with my family, particularly my husband who likes tuna, but has never been a fan of any tuna cassarole until now. Tip: for those who think 1 cup of bread crumbs is too much. Just sprinkle over the top until desired amount is reach. Problem solved. 5 stars for ease in making, the over all taste and its a good meal if your on a budget. Most usually have every ingredient on hand anyway! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Granola Bars

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I love these granola bars. I substitute coconut oil for the butter and use coconut oil for greasing the dish. I use a mixed antioxidant dried fruit blend from Costco instead of just cranberries. So yummy and lasts a long time sealed in a zip lock bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULES2JEWELS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Hearty Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This was a very hearty meal, and filled our tummies. It was not great, but not bad either (thus, my 3 star rating). It did help me clean out the pantry of a few canned items that needed to be used up, so that is a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Shredded Beef Enchiladas

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This was sooooo good. My husband asked if we could it this every week and even my picky 3 year old devoured it. I cooked the beef in the slow cooker and poured the remaining liquid over the finished enchiladas. Fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deltacooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Favorite Mexican Rice

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Fabulous! I will never make boxed Mexican rice again. We enjoyed it for several nights and it just seemed to get better and better. I finished it in a casserole dish and put the cheese on top and put it in the oven to let the cheese melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deltacooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Appetizing Vegetarian Burritos

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
The taste and texture of the mixture was good but too much chili powder!!! I cut the amount to 2 tea spoons and was still very hot. I didn't season with hot sauce at the end.Instead of salt I used a half of a table spoon of chicken bullion. I added half of a green pepper that was cooked with the onions and celery.I will make it again but definitely I will cut down the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Mom's Spiced Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Mom's Spiced Zucchini Bread Haiku: "This was a nice bread! Spice was a bit overkill. Still I'm glad I made." I know the additional spices are really what set this apart from countless other zucchini bread recipes, but the cloves were just too much in my opinion. I made the bread as directed, not using the optional walnuts nor raisins, but instead tossing in about 1/2 c. mini chocolate chips. Unfortunately 50 min. was too long for my 2 loaves; maybe my oven was feeling more hot than usual or maybe I should've started checking the bread sooner, but my loaves turned out really dry and I've had to slather them in butter to make up for it. If I make this recipe again, I'll drop the cloves entirely and either bake for a shorter time, or make them into muffins instead as many people suggested in their reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Tangy Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Tangy Pork Chops Haiku: "Marinate all day, let that flavor seep on in, then I had to bake." Too cold to grill and I couldn't subject my gorgeous, thick Costco pork chops to the George Foreman, so I 1. marinated them in the above ingredients for 8 hrs., 2. quick browned them 3 min./side in cast iron skillet, 3. moved skillet to 350 deg. oven for 20 min. til temp reached 145, and 4. removed and let them rest for 10 more min. b4 serving. O Mmmmmm G, these were really good pork chops; can't wait for spring and to be outside on the patio grilling them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Italian Nutthouse Broiled Tomatoes

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Italian Nutthouse Broiled Tomatoes Haiku: "So here is the deal - this was SO easy to make, yet taste was awesome!" I had to use dried oregano and shakey-can Parmesan (I know, blasphemous!), but I plan on making this easy and delicious recipe again and will make sure to have the good stuff on hand. But even w/ the short-cuts, we couldn't believe how quick and wonderful this was - tasted like healthy juicy chunks of pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States