Georgia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Pasta with Asparagus Pesto

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I had a package of fresh asparagus that I had thrown in the freezer, not knowing that it gets all mushy when you thaw it out. I hate to throw food away, so I was looking for a recipe that I could use it in, but didn't want to make soup, because frankly, it's just too darn hot outside for soup. I came upon this recipe, which was perfect for my limp asparagus. I served this with shaved Pecorino-Romano cheese on top. A nice, fresh, flavorful summer pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Grilled Vegetable Salad with Fresh Herb Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
this has many ingredients and does require a lot of prep. I like to do these type of veggie recipes. I hate cilantro, so I subbed basil as suggested. I used fresh ingredients not to include fresh dill or parsley. the salad tasted a little to sweet to me, i'll add more lemon to my bowl. wife and daughter loved it, me too with some more lemon. this makes a ton. can't wait to grill some chicken and pineapples to serve this with! excellent recipe. highly recommended! up-date-- I did the chopping and my moose made the dressing. after trying it. it was too sweet. found out the daughter had increased and mixed up the red wine vinegar and balsamic up...oops, now I understand why it was too sweet. not the recipe's fault!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Baked Pork Spring Rolls

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Soooo disappointed. I was wanting to L O V E these, but it didn't happen. I'm not reflecting the wrapper problem (Nasoya brand) in the review, only the filling. The finished product reminded me of bad frozen spring rolls - or buffet ones that have been sitting. That opinion is mostly from the wrapper side of things. They came out overly crispy at 425 (wrapper pkg said 400 btw) & somehow stale - eventhough crispy. Filling: Ho-hum with ginger. I followed the recipe except used a little less garlic since I had garlic chile sauce. Pkg said to cook filling first. I cooked the pork, just didn't cook longer after adding additional ingredients. One T filling isn't enough. :/ I don't know why I didn't like these more. I love the idea. I wanted to. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Boats on the Grill

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
These are so cool! I'm very picky about the texture of my zucchini. No soft slimy stuff for me. For this recipe I did not boil the zucchini first. Great texture without that step. I grilled them about 15 minutes on indirect heat, but moved them over the flame a few minutes to speed up the process. The flavor was awesome... tasted like pizza with a lot less calories! I used real bacon instead of bacon bits, a toasted English muffin instead of regular bread, and three unseeded jalapenos. No diced green chiles. Beautiful presentation. Served with pasta with garlic and olive oil and white pork chops with Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Photo by mbstrawn

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Wow, perfect cornbread recipe! I am from Georgia and LOVE cornbread and this one completely hit the spot. The only slight changes I made were that I browned the butter and added chopped jalapeños (in vinegar). For me, it was the perfect amount of sweet (especially with the spicy from the jalapeños). They turned out beautifully too and were so moist on the inside! Perfection. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbstrawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Denise Salad Number One

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This might be my new favorite salad! It was delicious! I served this with a simple vinaigrette and a grilled pork chop. Add a glass of wine and you have yourself a five star meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Pork Steaks

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Great! I did not have the soy sauce but went ahead and made it anyway, as directed. I added some fresh bell pepper ( green ) and as suggested dredged in flour. The end result was fantastic. This recipe leaves a lot of room to make it your own. I will be keeping this and I will most defiantly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Popovers

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I liked these, but will probably play with it or choose another recipe next time. I only added 1T sugar to the batter & that was enough. 'Didn't do the cinnamon & sugar, & confec after - just the confec sugar, about 1T. The recipe seemed off temperature-wise, according to experience & other recipes for popovers. I really like popovers. These didn't look like a hot air balloon, but they did "pop," but immediately deflated. I'm blaming the blueberries. No biggie. Anyone who hadn't had popovers before wouldn't know & they're still good. This made twelve regular size muffin-tin size. Huh? :D I divided the 3T butter among the 12 & they weren't totally stick-free, but close. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Blueberry Muffins Recipe | Epicurious.com

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
7/2014 'Reduced sugar to 3/4c - sweet berries already. 12 pretty muffins. Soft & cinnamony. 'Think I'd like a little less cinnamon, but they are cinnamon muffins so try it "full strength" first. :D 'Was tempted to add another half cup berries, but that would've been too much. I have so many berries to use up! :) S liked enough to say something. E, 17 (when asked) gave a thumbs up, too. :o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Crisp

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Good, not great. Liked it, didn't love it. I thought the lemon juice amount was a mistake, but I used the 1/4c listed. It was fine. I guess designed to cut sweetness - considering 6c berries & 1c sugar (which I decreased to 3/4c). Very quick to make. 9x13 was a little too big - shallow; a 9x11 would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Thick Spaghetti with Marinara Sauce, Arugula and Parmigiano Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
An easy and delicious recipe perfect for a lazy Sunday. It took just a few minutes to prepare. The arugula gives this dish a really refreshing flavor as well as a nice kick. Barilla marinara sauce is so good that you can't notice is from a jar.I used freshly grated Parmigiano cheese which makes the whole difference. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I am 49 years old, born and raised in Georgia and about to lose my "southern girl card" because I had never made a peach cobbler. I am SO glad I chose this recipe as my first attempt. So good!!! My picky husband and 20 year old man-child loved it. I made it exactly as instructed, no changes needed for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Grayson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Great recipe, so easy and fast to make! Just like other reviews, I also used packaged slaw mix! This is a keeper of a recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
My 14 year old son came into the kitchen yesterday afternoon with the Allrecipes app opened on the iPad, with this recipe pulled up. He said, "Mom, do we have active dry yeast?" Well, yes son, yes we do! He made these all buy himself, and they turned out fantastic! He was a little impatient, as he had no idea what he was getting himself into with a yeast bread recipe - but once they were done, and he tasted one, he said "I WILL be making these again!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Zucchini Patties

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I let grated zucchini set for 30 to 40 minutes once it was grated and put it in a colander, as it will produce lots of moisture (water) that needs to be drained and patted dry… I also formed the mixture into patties and coated with additional bread crumbs and put in a hot skillet…. Cooked them for approx. 15-20 minutes… These are delicious as is, but you could always top with marinara sauce, sour cream or additional cheese… These are very habit forming….. This would be good with chopped chives, minced garlic or the tops of green onions in it….. I don’t think you can go wrong with anything you try to add to it…..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARILYNJ100

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Gray, Georgia, USA

Zucchini Patties

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I let grated zucchini set for 30 to 40 minutes once it was grated and put it in a colander, as it will produce lots of moisture (water) that needs to be drained and patted dry… I also formed the mixture into patties and coated with additional bread crumbs and put in a hot skillet…. Cooked them for approx. 15-20 minutes… These are delicious as is, but you could always top with marinara sauce, sour cream or additional cheese… These are very habit forming….. This would be good with chopped chives, minced garlic or the tops of green onions in it….. I don’t think you can go wrong with anything you try to add to it…..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARILYNJ100

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Gray, Georgia, USA

Matt's Chicken Adobo

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
First time trying chicken adobo. I subbed apple cider vinegar, as suggested. I only had four thighs, but made the full recipe. Skimmed fat & peppercorns from the broth, added a little water & used that to make the rice. This wasn't vinegary or too salty. I'd say the rice was better than the chicken. It was pretty bland, but I've noticed other recipes call to marinate it so perhaps that's the key. 'Sure was easy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Cioppino

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
It was tough to make a recipe and stick to it, but I only made very small changes to this one. Instead of water I used chicken broth, but only because I needed to use it before it went bad. I also skipped the Dungeness crab, as I wasn't sure how to clean it and wanted to keep things simpler for myself. That being said, this recipe was awesome. Very flavorful and perfect with the fresh baked bread I served it with. I'm fairly sure that the person who said it was too sweet must have used a sweet wine (like a moscato or white Zinfandel), as mine wasn't sweet at all. I used the same Sauvignon blanc that I drink regularly and it turned out great. Not sweet at all. I couldn't find tomato purée at my grocery store, so I bought the tomato sauce that that didn't have any other ingredients than tomato purée and water. Be careful, though. Most tomato sauces had all kinds of extra seasoning added. Read the labels! This was my first time working with live mussels. Make sure you clean the outside of the shells and the easiest way to de-beard them is to use a paring knife to pull the beard against your finger and up out of the shell. Also, if you have any mussels in your bunch that are open and won't close back up that probably means the mussel is dead and you want to discard it. My only regret was that I didn't make a seafood stock from the shrimp I peeled (I bought large shell-on deveined shrimp) to add in place of the chicken stock I used out of necessity. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mike's Homemade Pizza

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Everyone in my household enjoyed this! I followed the directions almost to the T. I didn't have any dried marjoram, but I just so happened to have some fresh marjoram in the garden and used that. The sauce was really good. The flavor on the crust was lacking, but it did cook to perfection on the bottom rack of my oven. My fiancé likes a really thin crust and I like a nice, thick crust. I did 2 12" pies as the directions state and it was medium thickness, probably thicker than what my fiancé likes but almost perfect for me. I think this is a great starter recipe. Next time, I will try adding more salt or something to the crust. I wouldn't change much about the sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jstack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blakely, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster

Smoked Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Smoked Sausage Casserole Haiku: "Okay, this was odd. Only made for one reason: had that chili sauce." So doing an ingredient search on AR for anything including Heinz Chili Sauce yielded this recipe that conveniently had other items that I typically have around, but why did I not actually think about that combination of ingredients before starting to put this together? I browned the sausage w/ the onions (prefer smoked sausage a little more "done") and wouldn't have wanted raw onion bites floating around a casserole, but followed everything else, although nothing seemed to improve what turned out to be the most peculiar, unappetizing casserole I think I've ever prepared. We picked at our plates, and tossed the leftovers. Sorry for the less-than-thrilled review but my husband was in a fit of giggles when I served this, it was just THAT weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States