Georgia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Rock_lobster

Spicy Baked Tofu

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Spicy Baked Tofu Haiku: "I just love tofu, but it needs to be drained more. (Extra-firm is best.) Can't imagine only draining the liquid for a mere 5 min., when I usually set my tofu (this recipe doesn't specify what kind, but I prefer extra-firm for marinating and baking) b/t paper-towel lined plates, weighed down w/ heavy cans or cast-iron skillet. This marinade is wonderful, and flavorful but could really benefit from the addition of minced garlic and maybe some sesame oil; I sprinkled mine w/ toasted sesame seeds and green onion. Super nommy as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken Haiku: "I expected more, based on the 5 star reviews. It was just alright." Not as flavorful as I would've thought, and I followed the recipe as written other than using BSCB instead of thigh. Lots of reviews have some switcharoos and swapadoos, so maybe I should've read and heeded some of those. Glad we tried - the leftovers were better tossed in a Caesar salad for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Flatlander Chili

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Flatlander Chili Haiku: "It's a mystery. Same as 'It's Chili by George!!!' with little changes." Made this a few weeks ago w/o noticing it being near identical to another AR chili recipe that I've already had. Oh well. This was good, not outstanding. Would make it again w/o the tomato juice; just too liquidy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Health Nut Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Delicious, healthy muffins I will definitely make again. I added a dash of cinnamon but otherwise kept everything else the same. They freeze well and are great defrosted the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA

Creole

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Relatively fast & quite filling! 'Might want to consider adding more Minute Rice & broth. It's quite salty. 'Definitely not enough to stop me from having two bowls though! :) I used homemade broth & increased it by a half cup or so. Thanks, Gammaray! And your idea of adding to scrambled eggs & wrapping in a flour tortilla is on for tomorrow! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatloaf with Italian Sausage

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
i subbed Italian bread crumbs for the wheat cereal. I also topped with a thin layer of a1 sauce. it was decent, but I will stick with the dill pickle meatloaf. update...my ma-n-law loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Yum! Served with lemon basil mayo (just put a squirt of lemon, few sprigs of basil, into some may in the magic bullet), on toast as a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Chicken with Lemon and Rosemary

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Loved how this chicken turned out! Very tender, full of flavor, and super easy to make. I used 2 large boneless breasts, each cut in half,and 3 bone-in thighs, used 2 lemons and placed them directly on top of the chicken, and cut the garlic cloves into large chunks. I only had to cook for 30 minutes. The fresh rosemary is fabulous. Next time I will cut up some zucchini and summer squash and throw it in there! I served with rice pilaf. This is a new family favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HungryMama
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Swanny's Killer Fajitas

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Good, but not what I'd consider fajita-tasting. 'May be my cooking, too. I followed the marinade & it was a little lime-y (not too much) &, surprisingly, not super spicy either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Smoked Back Ribs with Maple Glaze

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This recipe is delicious!!! My family said these were the best ribs ever!!! Better than the ones we have had in fancy restaurants!!!... I don't have a smoker at home but I love the smoke flavor on meats so I decided to bake the ribs in the oven at low temperature,250 degrees F, for two hours.So to get some smoke flavor this is what I did: I placed a little ramekin on one of the corners of my baking tray and added 4 tablespoons of liquid smoke with hickory flavor and 2 tablespoons of water. I put the ribs on top of a drying rack as Kim's cooking Now! suggests in one of her reviews and wrapped the tray with heavy duty foil without leaving any leaks so the liquids would stem and flavor the meat. Sprayed the ribs only twice with apple juice. After two hours in the oven I wrapped them on foil and drizzled them with the maple syrup and butter but also drizzled them with some of the left over smoking flavor I used first to bake them then I sparkled the sugar. I left them in the oven for 1 1/2 hours then I basted them and put them on the grill. I turned them twice. For the rub I just used half of the salt that the recipe calls for and it was a good decision because otherwise it would have turned out to salty. I made a mistake making the sauce and added some maple syrup to it, nobody noticed!!! The BBQ sauce was out of this world, I'm glad I had leftovers!!! I only used one teaspoon of chili powder and added an extra teaspoon of chipotle powder. Would I use this recipe again? Yes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by Jenny Aleman

Spicy Smoked Back Ribs with Maple Glaze

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This recipe is delicious!!! My family said these were the best ribs ever!!! Better than the ones we have had in fancy restaurants!!!... I don't have a smoker at home but I love the smoke flavor on meats so I decided to bake the ribs in the oven at low temperature,250 degrees F, for two hours.So to get some smoke flavor this is what I did: I placed a little ramekin on one of the corners of my baking tray and added 4 tablespoons of liquid smoke with hickory flavor and 2 tablespoons of water. I put the ribs on top of a drying rack as Kim's cooking Now! suggests in one of her reviews and wrapped the tray with heavy duty foil without leaving any leaks so the liquids would stem and flavor the meat. Sprayed the ribs only twice with apple juice. After two hours in the oven I wrapped them on foil and drizzled them with the maple syrup and butter but also drizzled them with some of the left over smoking flavor I used first to bake them then I sparkled the sugar. I left them in the oven for 1 1/2 hours then I basted them and put them on the grill. I turned them twice. For the rub I just used half of the salt that the recipe calls for and it was a good decision because otherwise it would have turned out to salty. I made a mistake making the sauce and added some maple syrup to it, nobody noticed!!! The BBQ sauce was out of this world, I'm glad I had leftovers!!! I only used one teaspoon of chili powder and added an extra teaspoon of chipotle powder. Would I use this recipe again? Yes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by deltacooking

Garlic Cheese Grits with Shrimp

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
As my husband said "This is the JAM!". Better than anything I've ever gotten at a restaurant! I used quick grits, shredded velveta and a little cream in the grits. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deltacooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
This was wonderful. I followed the original recipe only changing garlic powder for garlic salt. It was so moist and juicy and I loved the crunchy skin. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cyndy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Harvest Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Excellent change to the same type of salad. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Smith

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Photo by nanny129

Liver dog treats

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Primo loved these treats-- i tried to get a photo- everytime he would gobble the treat-- so here is Primo smiling for "just one more treat,Mom"-:-)thanks for the recipe:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Made these for the first time this morning! They are awesome, light and fluffy! The added touch of fresh-picked blueberries was a special treat, too. Why buy a mix?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2dachs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Norcross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peach Brulee Burrata Bruschetta

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Came out pretty good even though I had to substitute mascarpone for burrata, demerara sugar for turbinado sugar but it still worked out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esgran Jhann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronxville, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I've made this twice and combined it with pork that I slice up to make S&S pork and my family absolutely loves it. The sauce is a cinch to make, takes maybe 5-10 minutes tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason R. Cunningham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stir Fried Sesame Vegetables with Rice

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Excellent with any mix of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butterscotch Oatmeal

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Very easy and delicious. I never add that much brown sugar, maybe 1/3 loosely packed. This time I added cinnamon. Delicious! I've forgotten the butter before and it tasted great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States