Georgia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Another great recipe... followed as directed just omitted chipotle. Will become a regular in my home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This was a major hit with my family. I did not have the roll out pillsbury ready made pie crust, so I used two deep dish ready made pie crusts, one for holding the filling, the other for the top. I took the recommendation of another reviewer and used two cans of soup and I used one can of milk ( approx. one cup) I like a wetter pie as well. Other than that all stayed the same. I even had some left over filling so I kept that, heated it the next day, put it over some toast and the rest is history! Loved this recipe!!! It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Wheat Chocolate-Blueberry Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Other than subbing milk for the water, I followed the directions. This is a very, very fast cake to put together. I only did the cake part. The blueberries, of course, aren't distinguishable in the cake; but add to the healthful aspect of whole wheat. A semi-dark, semi-sweet cake. Baked flat. I'd say it needs frosting to be good...Made frosting & it still notsogood. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Molasses Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Yes, reviewing with changes. The previous reviews made me do it! :D I decreased molasses to half cup. Mind didn't say blackstrap so I guess it wasn't. Also, not all that identifiable - except by brown color - that it had molasses in in. I increased baking soda to 1t in hopes of avoiding the mushy factor. It was fine, not too much. I didn't add the nurmeg, but I think cinnamon would compliment it more. Put in two 8x4s thinking it might be too large for a 9x5. It wouldn't have been. Mellow banana flavor (four large) & pretty good, but no wows. I'm thinking banana bread with molasses spread on it might be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pineapple Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I used 2 chicken breasts, no flour, garlic powder instead of cloves and added onion powder and ginger powder. It was good but it needed a little something extra. Next time I am going to add a squeeze of honey and a dash of crush red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Have made this several times and always comes out great. Have a batch in the fridge marinating right now. Good stuff !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry V

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

Hearty Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This is a fantastic, away from the normal, tuna casserole. I had to make some changes, because I did not have the cheese on hand that the recipe called for. The following is what I did. I doubled the recipe and with that instead of the shredded cheese, I used one 8 oz. package of cream cheese. I did not use the zucchini due to I have a son who does not like zucchini, instead I added 12oz. Package of frozen peas. ( remember, I doubled the recipe make sure to double the recipe ingredients, use amount I listed for subs) I made noodles as directed and I took every other ingredient and mixed it in a large sauce pan and blended all together until cream cheese was melted. I then poured the sauce over the already cooked noodles, and mixed/ blended all together. I put it in a large baking dish in a pre- heated oven at 350 degrees F and baked for approx. 30 minutes, just until warmed all the way through and the top began to brown. This fed a family of 5 with 4 of them being very hearty eaters. THEY LOVED IT. thank you for posting your recipe, I would not have been able to make the dish I did with out it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Pasta with Asparagus Pesto

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I had a package of fresh asparagus that I had thrown in the freezer, not knowing that it gets all mushy when you thaw it out. I hate to throw food away, so I was looking for a recipe that I could use it in, but didn't want to make soup, because frankly, it's just too darn hot outside for soup. I came upon this recipe, which was perfect for my limp asparagus. I served this with shaved Pecorino-Romano cheese on top. A nice, fresh, flavorful summer pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Grilled Vegetable Salad with Fresh Herb Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
this has many ingredients and does require a lot of prep. I like to do these type of veggie recipes. I hate cilantro, so I subbed basil as suggested. I used fresh ingredients not to include fresh dill or parsley. the salad tasted a little to sweet to me, i'll add more lemon to my bowl. wife and daughter loved it, me too with some more lemon. this makes a ton. can't wait to grill some chicken and pineapples to serve this with! excellent recipe. highly recommended! up-date-- I did the chopping and my moose made the dressing. after trying it. it was too sweet. found out the daughter had increased and mixed up the red wine vinegar and balsamic up...oops, now I understand why it was too sweet. not the recipe's fault!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Baked Pork Spring Rolls

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Soooo disappointed. I was wanting to L O V E these, but it didn't happen. I'm not reflecting the wrapper problem (Nasoya brand) in the review, only the filling. The finished product reminded me of bad frozen spring rolls - or buffet ones that have been sitting. That opinion is mostly from the wrapper side of things. They came out overly crispy at 425 (wrapper pkg said 400 btw) & somehow stale - eventhough crispy. Filling: Ho-hum with ginger. I followed the recipe except used a little less garlic since I had garlic chile sauce. Pkg said to cook filling first. I cooked the pork, just didn't cook longer after adding additional ingredients. One T filling isn't enough. :/ I don't know why I didn't like these more. I love the idea. I wanted to. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Boats on the Grill

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
These are so cool! I'm very picky about the texture of my zucchini. No soft slimy stuff for me. For this recipe I did not boil the zucchini first. Great texture without that step. I grilled them about 15 minutes on indirect heat, but moved them over the flame a few minutes to speed up the process. The flavor was awesome... tasted like pizza with a lot less calories! I used real bacon instead of bacon bits, a toasted English muffin instead of regular bread, and three unseeded jalapenos. No diced green chiles. Beautiful presentation. Served with pasta with garlic and olive oil and white pork chops with Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Photo by mbstrawn

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Wow, perfect cornbread recipe! I am from Georgia and LOVE cornbread and this one completely hit the spot. The only slight changes I made were that I browned the butter and added chopped jalapeños (in vinegar). For me, it was the perfect amount of sweet (especially with the spicy from the jalapeños). They turned out beautifully too and were so moist on the inside! Perfection. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbstrawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Denise Salad Number One

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This might be my new favorite salad! It was delicious! I served this with a simple vinaigrette and a grilled pork chop. Add a glass of wine and you have yourself a five star meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Pork Steaks

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Great! I did not have the soy sauce but went ahead and made it anyway, as directed. I added some fresh bell pepper ( green ) and as suggested dredged in flour. The end result was fantastic. This recipe leaves a lot of room to make it your own. I will be keeping this and I will most defiantly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Popovers

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I liked these, but will probably play with it or choose another recipe next time. I only added 1T sugar to the batter & that was enough. 'Didn't do the cinnamon & sugar, & confec after - just the confec sugar, about 1T. The recipe seemed off temperature-wise, according to experience & other recipes for popovers. I really like popovers. These didn't look like a hot air balloon, but they did "pop," but immediately deflated. I'm blaming the blueberries. No biggie. Anyone who hadn't had popovers before wouldn't know & they're still good. This made twelve regular size muffin-tin size. Huh? :D I divided the 3T butter among the 12 & they weren't totally stick-free, but close. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Blueberry Muffins Recipe | Epicurious.com

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
7/2014 'Reduced sugar to 3/4c - sweet berries already. 12 pretty muffins. Soft & cinnamony. 'Think I'd like a little less cinnamon, but they are cinnamon muffins so try it "full strength" first. :D 'Was tempted to add another half cup berries, but that would've been too much. I have so many berries to use up! :) S liked enough to say something. E, 17 (when asked) gave a thumbs up, too. :o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Crisp

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Good, not great. Liked it, didn't love it. I thought the lemon juice amount was a mistake, but I used the 1/4c listed. It was fine. I guess designed to cut sweetness - considering 6c berries & 1c sugar (which I decreased to 3/4c). Very quick to make. 9x13 was a little too big - shallow; a 9x11 would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Thick Spaghetti with Marinara Sauce, Arugula and Parmigiano Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
An easy and delicious recipe perfect for a lazy Sunday. It took just a few minutes to prepare. The arugula gives this dish a really refreshing flavor as well as a nice kick. Barilla marinara sauce is so good that you can't notice is from a jar.I used freshly grated Parmigiano cheese which makes the whole difference. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I am 49 years old, born and raised in Georgia and about to lose my "southern girl card" because I had never made a peach cobbler. I am SO glad I chose this recipe as my first attempt. So good!!! My picky husband and 20 year old man-child loved it. I made it exactly as instructed, no changes needed for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Grayson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States