Georgia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Rock_lobster

Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meat Loaf

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Melt-in-your-mouth Meatloaf Haiku: "Oops, forgot mushrooms! But this was still good meatloaf. Sauce a bit too sweet." I was intrigued by crockpot meatloaf, and while it worked, I don't think it was entirely necessary. I like to run the slow-cooker for 8+ hrs. when I'm away at work and need chow ready w/o any fuss, and for the 5 hrs. that this took, while I was at home anyways, I could've very well just baked it as usual, and the taste and texture wouldn't likely change. It was very moist and juicy, but I thought the sauce on top was a little sweet, so if I made it again, I'd reduce (or drop) the brown sugar, and bake it at 350 for, idk, 45-50 min. or until it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Unstuffed Cabbage Dinner

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Easily adaptable recipe. I made some changes, but not so much that I feel my review isn't valid. I used 2c regular (cooked) rice, adding it for the last ten minutes. Increased cabbage to three or three plus cups (about 1/2#, 1/4 a medium head) since I only used half pound ground beef. I used a cup & a quarter beef broth (since I didn't need the additional liquid for the instant rice). Subbed an undrained can of rotel for the whatI'mthinkingis V8 (Yuck). I used half t each garlic powder & black pepper - being wary of the rotel's effect. Taste: I liked it better before the tomato addition. It's nearly medium heat with the half t black pepper & rotel. Hearty, pretty inexpensive meal. Adding more broth & vegetables & you'd have a really good soup, I think. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scalloped Potatoes - Joy of Cooking

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Actual book adds 1 1/4t dry mustard with the salt & paprika; no cheese or bacon. It says to drop the slices in boiling water for 8 minutes. I only used the minimum 3T butter & it was plenty. I may have been short on the potatoes. Except for the pink-peach tint from the paprika, it was kinda pretty in the white quiche dish. I'll save the paprika for on top - or half in, half on - if there's a next time. KK liked. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster

Easy Mayonnaise Biscuits

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Easy Mayonnaise Biscuit Haiku: "Thought this was a joke, but nope, this recipe ruled! Way too easy, good!" Needed a last minute "starch" to dip into a thick soup and this recipe fit the bill w/ having the few ingredients on hand. I just didn't think it was for real - I mean, 3 ingredients becoming biscuits?? But yep, even though mine didn't take nearly the full 30 min., when they popped out of the muffin tin looking all lumpy, crusty, brown and delicious, we were so happy at how good they tasted dragged thru soup. Now if I were to eat them solo, I think they'd need some of the suggested-from-another-review garlic powder, parmesan, or another seasoning of sorts. But YUM and a cinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Buttery Garlic Green Beans

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Buttery Garlic Green Bean Haiku: "Totally five stars! Just as easy as can be, what a great side dish!" So I used frozen green beans and followed the rest of the recipe, adding a squirt of fresh lemon b4 serving. Perfect, lightly-seasoned, buttery green bean goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Low Fat Scalloped Potatoes

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Wow. :D Yup, it's good! :) I used 1% milk. I couldn't tell when it had thickened, but "had enough" so just followed the recipe thinking it wouldn't be a big waste if they didn't come out. It thickened up just fine in the oven! Yay! My dish got pretty ugly though - meaning the splatters up the sides baking on. No big deal. 'Soaked off. :) Simply good recipe! Thanks, Bren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster

Baked Tomato Slices

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Baked Tomato Slice Haiku: "Easy to prepare, but prefer broil to bake, not bad, just not great." Made AR's "Italian Nutthouse Broiled Tomatoes" last week and found those far superior to these, and I can only assume it was b/c it was a broil, rather than bake. These tomatoes, which tasty, were just a little too mooshy for me. I'd be glad to make them again, make cutting the slices even thicker, baking a shorter time, or even broiling. Oh, and only thing I added was a sprinkle of Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

'Anything Goes' Easy Black Beans

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Anything Goes Black Beans Haiku: "This wasn't for us. Beans were lost in other stuff. Guess I'm glad we tried!" We ate Goya's AR recipe for black beans last week so I guess we were spoiled from how fantastic they were, but this particular recipe just didn't make our tastebuds jig. First thing that was "off" was the addition of tomato paste, along w/ the copious amounts of bell pepper and onion that drowned out the beans, which were the main "guts" of this side dish. We had to add more than a dash of Chipotle Tabasco when we served it (at least to my husband and I's plate) and our daughter insisted on melting lots of cheese on top of hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Baked Split Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Baked Split Chicken Breast Haiku: "All flavor in skin. But chicken texture was moist. Doubt I'd make again." Followed the recipe exactly as written, and while the chicken was moist, it was far from flavorful - all of the seasoning was in that crispy, oh-so-healthy skin. Maybe if I'd cut slits in the chicken and jammed in garlic and herbs the flavor would've permeated the meat, but for how wonderful it smelled while baking, I was disappointed that ultimately it was a far from tasty piece of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Country Pound Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Just made this today and it is the lightest pound cake ever. Step by step and it is perfect to a T. Not a greasy or heavy. This will be the only one in this house from now on. No store bought ever my husband said!!! Fine with me. Great with fresh fruit any kind. Thank You for sharing this family secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rincon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seafood Chowder

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
My wife and I really enjoyed this chowder that we made in twice in a week and was really considering a third time!!! Very flavorful and can't wait to make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blacklion99

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
What a great recipe! I love how the Dill and Curry blended together so well. I used Bread and Butter pickles for their sweet and tangy taste. I also put in one boiled egg and used fresh onions. This is a keeper! I gave some to my neighbor (whom is a Hugh Foodie) and she even said it was the best she ever had"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Bensko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

Cabbage-Carrot Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Wow, I got an unsolicited "I like it" almost immediately from the girl child, 15. I halved the recipe, not knowing if we'd have a hit. Being me, though, since I'd already cut the carrots; measured the butter, flour, milk & cheese with the full amount; I guess you could say I halved the cabbage & paprika. Yups & since I didn't have enough to fill the 8x8 dish, I added leftover angel hair pasta, 2c? I sprinkled with panko, parsley & paprika. It's homey, comfort food. Good for winter. Btw, I'd think the full medium cabbage (mine was 2#) wouldn't have a problem fitting in the 8x8/9x9.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
The flavor was good! Didn't turn out! Batter wasn't thick like a cookie batter should be and baking time was almost double and would still fall apart after baking. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Taco Filling

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Surprised this was so good. I am constantly looking for creative ways to cook chicken because it is cheaper and healthier than red meat. I used to large chicken breasts and cooked on high for 3.5 hours. I was worried that it would be soggy as some other reviewers commented but it wasn't at all after mashing/shredding. Gave it 4 stars because I added onion and then garlic half way through the cooking time. Going on the regular dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster

Roasted Cajun Cauliflower

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Roasted Cajun Cauliflower Haiku: "Inedible dish. A joke to serve, thrown away. There is TOO MUCH SALT." I checked, re-read, re-checked, and checked another time to make sure I was reading the ingredients correctly, 1 TB garlic salt, 1 TB cajun seasoning, and 1 tsp salt, and went w/ it. Served this side dish to a mortified family as we choked down one bite and pushed the remainder off of our plates. Laughter ensued afterwards as I should've known better, seeing as how cajun seasoning and garlic salt are well, predominately salt. I can only imagine how good this would be w/ a proper amount of seasoning but as written no way can this get anymore than 1 star since we could not even eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Beef Tips and Merlot Gravy with Beef and Onion Rice

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Ok, had to alter a bit, so bear with me. The recipe is great! I subbed Marsala for merlot, and think any red wine would be great. I didn't realize I was low on Worcestershire so in step 1, I added some olive oil and wine to make a thick coating liquid. Then followed the recipe, except I simmered on the stove instead of slow cooker. Took a couple of hours then made rice. No browning sauce here, so just browned per recipe then added ingredients as written. Love how the rice came out and there was plenty of gravy. I always add garlic powder, onion powder and heat (like red pepper flakes) to everything to our taste. Wow! this is a winner!!!! Oh, and had to use sirloin tip steaks that we cut into tips because that's what the grocery store had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Roasted Rack of Lamb

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Perfect just as is! We made this for a special Valentine's dinner, and it was much better then going out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Lemon Pisco Sour

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Tasty drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Chicken With Mushrooms

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This was good as written. Next time I will add lots more seasoning like minced garlic and onions and more chicken broth at a more sauce. I did saute the mushrooms first before putting in baking pan. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States