Georgia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pinto Beans With Mexican-Style Seasonings

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I changed this significantly. I still gave this a 5 star rating. I made this as written 1st time. I've since made this 4-5 times in 3 months. I leave out--cilantro,cumin, salt, bacon and chili powder. yep, this is a totally different recipe now., soak pintos over night. drain strain use low sodium chicken stock , sweet onion, plenty of fresh ground pepper and butter to taste. simmer until you can't wait any longer. drain again. add rotel mild maters and chilis, a small can of hatch chilis, add velvetta Mexican cheese, pepperjack cheese and mozz cheese. use an immersion blender and pulse it to your desire . sour cream and red bell pepper cornbread and cow-juice will fill a hungry stomach with a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Sour Cream Pound Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
This was excellent. Our favorite pound cakes have a wonderful crunchy crust and this one does not disappoint. I added a pinch of salt and a splash of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Folle-Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cafe Dulce de Leche

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Nice, caramel flavored coffee. I added a touch of cream, and it was very good. I can see using this when I'm out of my favorite flavored creamer and am in need of a coffee fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Amish Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I've used this recipe for about 6 years now and it's ALWAYS a hit. My hubby likes me to serve it with white gravy. It also reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Way too much sAlt.Otherwise great recipe! Next time will add vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Korpak Bechtel

Irish Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Works great with Ground beef in place of lamb. Also, instead of adding water to the ground beef mixture, I added a 15 oz. can of beef broth and omitted the salt. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Korpak Bechtel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milton, Georgia, USA

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I used COBIA instead of Cod. It was one of the best fish dishes I've ever eaten and fish is my favorite amongst all the meat proteins. I had never eaten COBIA before and, though it smelt a bit strong, this recipe was amazing and perfect as directed in the recipe. Enjoy with any hearty fish! QUEANIE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Italian Meat Sauce II

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Other than cutting the recipe in half, I followed it to a "T", neck bones and all. Everyone loved it, including my Italian hubby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Antoinette's Strawberry Freeze

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
The flavors in this are very good, but even with letting it sit out for awhile to defrost a bit, it was strange biting into the frozen fruit chunks, especially in the middle, where it was still pretty frozen. I ended up re-purposing the left-overs by letting it thaw, then mixing a 3 oz. pkg of raspberry jello in 3/4 cup of hot water, stirring until dissolved, and then folding in the cream/fruit mixture. Poured it into a store bought graham cracker pie crust, and it was delicious! Firmed up nicely, and made for a light dessert pie. I don't like to waste food, and this was a great way to use up the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Roasted Eggplant and Asparagus Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I halved the recipe to use as a side dish to Mediterranean Crusted Chicken (also from this site). I think the 3 hour wait time for the flavors to blend was a bit too much, as by the time we served this, the pasta had soaked up all of the dressing, and the flavors were really lost. I would dress it maybe half an hour before serving next time. We ended up having to add more balsamic, lemon juice and oil to flavor it up before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Slow Cooker, Easy Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
YUMMY!! EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catbrowning
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster

Fabulous Feast

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Fabulous Feast Haiku: "Not so fabulous. Really needs WAY more Old Bay. But we still liked it." This recipe goes by several different names, the one I'm most familiar w/ is Low Country Boil, where you dump the pot out onto a newspaper-covered table and just attack it w/ a crowd. I made this version exactly as written, only we ladled some of the juice into our bowls for dragging hunks of crusty bread through. We did find to our disappointment that it was really low on the flavor spectrum, and that 1 1/2 pinches (pinches!) of salt and 2 tsp. of Old Bay weren't nearly enough for all of that water and ingredients. So we had to add Texas Pete and more salt at the table. It's a recipe that I always enjoy eating, and it would've been perfect if it just hadn't required additional seasoning and sauces at serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Mediterranean Crusted Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Everyone loved it (even the kids)! I did use boneless skinless chicken breasts instead of the thighs, and also added a bit of butter to the olive oil when frying the chicken. In true Mediterranean style, I finished this with some fresh chopped parsley and served it with lemon slices. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

World's Best Honey Garlic Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
These were very tasty. Will be making these a lot, thank u
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimnan
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Corn Bread You'll Ever Eat

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I like this recipe because I'm a diabetic and I don't need it sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hillcme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susheelover

Easy Creamy Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I only had cocnut milk and sushi rice, but it is hrad not to make this come out right!!! Simply delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wedding Gift Spaghetti Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I can't believe it took me this long to try this, this is GREAT sauce! I made this yesterday. everyone says it makes a lot. it takes a big pot to make it in that's for sure. I made a few changes: used 1 can (29oz.) crushed tomatoes, and 1 can (29oz.) tomato puree, filled 1 can with the water called for. used extra garlic (family preference), added fresh rosemary, fresh oregano, and just a touch of Savory. along with all the other spices it called for. (my mistake) was using Chicken Sweet Italian sausages I had on hand. Not realizing that they were fully cooked, and had sun dried tomatoes in them. That being so, the sauce still came out great! The 3 of us ate large portions and still had 3 16 oz. containers to put into the freezer for later. So next time I will use a mild Italian sausage, and ground beef. also will use extra garlic still. and as many fresh herbs as I can. but will cut back the butter just a bit. (personal thing) Thank you Dog Fish Head for sharing such a wonderful recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Summer Garden Crustless Quiche

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Summer Garden Crustless Quiche Haiku: "Took longer to bake. Only made two small changes, leftovers better!" Mine was more like 70 min. to not be wet in the middle, so we were hungry and had burnt our toast in anticipation of eating the quiche on top of it, so that was a bummer, but the end result was really quite wonderful! Used half the cheese, and 3 tsp. dried parsley instead of fresh. (Would've preferred fresh if I'd had it!) I never thought to use carrots in a quiche, and I usually go w/ spinach as my green, but the entire combo of veggies here w/ the kale was awesome! The leftovers were better in my opinion as it had a chance to set more and then cut into prettier slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Roasted Parmesan-Garlic Carrots

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Roasted Parmesan Garlic Carrots Haiku: "Doesn't say what size. So I cut mine into 'rounds', maybe half an inch?" Recipe doesn't specify how to cut carrots, just "peeled", so I went w/ bite-sized, which I guess turned out fine, b/c in 45 min., plus the 10 min. after the parmesan went on top, these were soft, delicious and slightly charred in places.; the perfect amount of sweet/salty/cheesy. What little leftovers there were, I ran thru the food-processor for my baby and she loved them too! Nice, easy recipe that I had in the oven alongside some quartered rosemary red potatoes, so everything timed well as sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Eggplant Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Quick, easy and tasty! I added a bit of fresh basil and used penne pasta instead of rigatoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States