Georgia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cheesy Bread Dip

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dinomite's Fluffy Bites

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
easy fun and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Bruce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winder, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dinomite's Fluffy Bites

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
I absolutely ADORE these Dinomite's Fluffy Bites! The kale is what makes them and I probably could have stood to add like 4 more bunches. I've tried similar recipes in the past, and they don't compare. If I could, I would give it 53 more stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annabeack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster

Kristi's Tetrazzini

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Kristi's Tetrazzini Haiku: "This was somewhat bland. Needed more than just 'pinches.' And more broccoli." Ingredient list said "two broccoli" which I could only assume was two florets, but I know that I used way more than that to qualify the green in this as our dinner vegetable. Boiling the chicken as well as only using a pinch of seasoned salt and a pinch of paprika resulted in a rather bland casserole. If I made this again, I'd have to saute the onion and celery 1st w/ some garlic, prepare the chicken in a different, more flavorful manner, and increase the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Italian Cabbage Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Italian Cabbage Casserole Haiku: "Something not quite right. Bit too much coriander. Just wasn't so great." We couldn't nail down what it was about this casserole that didn't sit well w/ us. We love the combination of any type of sausage w/ cabbage, not to mention bacon too! The only small alterations that I had to make were less celery (didn't have 2 c. worth, which really seemed like way too much!), I used a bag of shredded cabbage/carrot "coleslaw mix", and Vidalia onion instead of white. 2 TB of Italian seasoning and the 2 tsp of coriander was over-kill. Simply the bacon, S&P and garlic would've made us enjoy this much more I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Spicy Chicken Broccoli Casserole with Fresh Arugula

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Spicy Chicken Broccoli Casserole w/ Fresh Arugula Haiku: "This was WAY more prep, and the end result was odd. And not enough sauce." I didn't deviate from the ingredient list or instructions other than using a small can of organic Costco mushrooms rather than the fresh that I didn't (but wish I had) have on-hand. That little swap saved me a bit of time, but wow, the prep, chopping and hands-on time for this recipe was much more than the 20 min. listed. My husband and I agreed that it was a very peculiar "casserole" that needed ... not sure; time in the oven? Mixed w/ rice or quinoa? But no question about it, it needed more sauce. (Very dry!) It was an unusual combination of veggies and the arugula, that we love, seemed like a garnish. Other than the kick from the two types of peppers, there wasn't a whole lot of taste, so coupled w/ the effort, I'd have to change way too much in order to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Mojo Grilling Marinade

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Mojo Grilling Marinade Haiku: "This was just awesome! Used on a pork tenderloin, bathed in over-night." This pork tenderloin turned out flavorful, moist and perfect when it marinated in this mojo recipe (which I followed exactly) for about 16 hrs., after which I grilled it over med-hi heat 12 min/side. Ate ours alongside a skewer of grilled veggies and some deli mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Contadina® Italian Chili

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Contadina Italian Chili Haiku: "Very, very rich. Had to eat over noodles, then it's more like sauce." Other than the addition of kidney beans, we felt like we were eating a very chunky tomato sauce over rotini; that's not to say that this wasn't delicious, but it was hard to spoon it into my mouth and think, "mmm chili!" to myself. Followed the recipe as written, altho I think my beans were Great Northern, not Cannellini - close enough, they're white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Pacific Cuban Black Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Absolutely loved this. I used andouli sausage as our store was out of chorizo. I am sure it made a little flavor difference, but it was still great. I used yellow rice as that is what my husband and I love and maybe next time I will use white rice. I bought cilantro and then forgot to use it. But I will use it next time, and there will be a next time, absolutely. I had HOT picante sauce in the house and used that. Maybe next time I will use a milder sauce. But we still ate it all. Whew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EZAdams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Perry, Georgia, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Mint Julep Iced Tea

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Excellent! I made this exactly as written, and it was SO refreshing! I used Lipton® original brisk tea bags (which my husband usually uses for hot tea). You can easily adjust the sweetness by cutting back the sugar, but I loved it just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
Really great chocolate frosting, and true to it's name! It's creamy chocolatey goodness. I used it to top Banana Cake VI, also from this site. It was the perfect amount to frost a 13 x 9 cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Italian Cream Cheese and Ricotta Cheesecake

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
Definitely the best cheesecake recipe I've ever had. Not too sweet, light and almost fluffy, a perfect cakes to serve with summer fruits. Thanks to Dawn's review tips, I wrapped it 2x. First, I put the bottom on 2 overlapping pieces of foil and set it into the rim, smashing the foil against the inside wall. Good thing I did because the second outside wrap still allowed water to get through. Then I set it in a big roasting pan, poured in the boiling water to surround it about ~1". My oven may need adjusting because at 325°, I needed to bake it for 1 hour 30 minutes. Came out beautifully with no cracks. Not bad for my first ever cheesecake. One piece of advise, do not start baking this in the evening. I was up until 3:30 to remove it from my oven after 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cindi's Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Simple recipe that really needs sauce to be good. Be to sure to not overcook the cabbage mixture. Mine made exactly a one pound package egg roll wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Better Baked Beans

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Great recipe. I added a little chopped bell pepper and cut the bacon into smaller pieces before putting on top. Cooked about 5 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NEWFMOMTIFF

Creamy Pesto Shrimp

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
This was very tasty! I halved the recipe as there were just 2 of us and it was more than enough. I also took the advice of others and used half and half. It was so rich, I can't imagine heavy cream! I also used shaved Parmesan which melted and thickened the sauce nicely. Boyfriend was very happy and wants me to add this to my rotation of dishes. I think it would also be yummy with chicken or lobster meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWFMOMTIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

New York Pushcart Onions (For Hot Dogs)

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
I've never had a New York pushcart hot dog - but gave these a try, and they were really good! No need for any other toppings really, except maybe a bit of mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Chocophiles

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Very chocolately - nearly or too much - &, basically, a chocolate cookie with three types of chocolate chips. 'Not so special eventhough it sounds like it. 'Think they could be, but not as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tana

Blueberry and Raspberry Pancake Topping

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
I used all blueberries and cut the sugar down to 5 Tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tana
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili Haiku: "Just ate cheese on top, rather than stir it all in. Better second day." Other than reducing to 2 servings (which actually was still more than enough to feed 2 adults, 1 child, w/ enough for a small leftover bowl the next day which incidentally, tasted even better), my only change was fresh jalapenos from my garden and the aforementioned use of individually choosing how much cheese to sprinkle on his or her bowl. Very very good, a definite repeat Cha-Cha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Easy Taco Skillet

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Easy Taco Skillet Haiku: "We nom-nom'ed this up. Easy, inexpensive meal. Add taco toppings!" Very good but a smidge on the wet side since 2 c. of water along w/ the juice from the diced tomato can made for a little more liquid than necessary. We festooned our plates the way that we would if we'd been eating tacos - avocado, salsa, and chopped tomatoes. Colorful, cheap and easy dish win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States