Georgia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Corn Casserole III

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
hubby approved- that means 5 stars- only used whole kernel- perfectadded 2 T sugar- freezes well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Followed the recipe to a T. Will never cook the "traditional" green bean casserole again. This was so full of flavor. Will be making this many more times. Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aminarva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

5 Cup Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
always on our holiday table- nice,light and pretty- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Watergate Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
always on the holiday table- pretty,light and yummy- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
hubs approved- that means 5 stars!! thanks for the recipe- freezes well too!i used all whole kernal- what i had-added 2 T sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Scalloped Corn

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
used whole kernal corn(that's what i had- hubby approved-that means 5 stars to me!! freezes well too!! thanks Carla A. for passing along the recipe:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I'm not much of a spinach fan, but I really liked this. I did substitute half & half for the heavy cream and did not have fresh nutmeg. Still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Perfect Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Easy, delicious, perfect pumpkin pie. Great with a dollop of whipped cream after Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA

Strawberry Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Followed the recipe to a T. Pretty great on their own. The only thing I would change for our taste is a bit more sugar. Other than that, this recipe is great! Thanks for sharing Katie Mae. This recipe will be used many times in my family for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aminarva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Baked French Fries

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
The sugar step makes an unbelievable difference to the texture of these fries! I've made baked fries for years, but they were always a bit disappointing. The only difference between my old method and this recipe is the sugar step. It is key and the reason why it's a 5-star recipe. Try seasoned salt, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Hearty Beef Stew with Dumplings

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I definitely "took liberties" with this recipe - but it is forgiving, and a fantastic base to tweak to your personal preferences. I used less water and gravy packets (because my hubby doesn't like soups / stews very much so I keep them as thick as possible), used 3 large russet potatoes, omitted the turnip and used a packet of mushroom gravy and chicken gravy since I was out of "brown". I added a little seasoning to the dumpling mixture as well - some garlic salt, parsley and basil. I only had 2 hours as well since I started dinner later then intended. Came out SO GOOD. The meat was still tender, thick with gravy and yummy potatoes and veggies, and the dumplings were fantastic. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Photo by Tammy Lyons

Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Tastes devine! No tweaking necessary. Easy to follow recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Lyons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grayling, Michigan, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Salena23

Creamy Pesto Shrimp

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was great ! I'm a beginner but this taste like a meal at a 5 star restaurant! I added red & orange bell peppers & sliced portobello mushrooms to my liking. & it was great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salena23

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Turkey Brine

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Best brine ever! I've made turkey with this brine several times and now I've started adding a couple tablespoons of liquid smoke and a couple teaspoons maple flavor extract to kick it up a few notches. Bake it with the maple glazed turkey recipe from this site and I have had so many people say that it's the best turkey they've ever had. I even have people offer to pay me to make their turkey for them! I quadruple the recipe and brine 2 birds at a time in a cooler checking the ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah DeRoch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster

Spicy Chicken Quinoa

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Spicy Chicken Quinoa Haiku: "Fairly tasty meal. I made it ahead of time, baked it for dinner." I prepared this ahead in a roundey casserole dish, only omitting corn. Sprinkled the cheese on top and baked 350 for 20-25 min. b4 serving w/ cilantro on top; however, we found that it desperately needed even more added for flavor at that point; more salsa, salt, cheese, Sriracha. I love the combination of black beans, zucchini, and quinoa, but I think making it again, I would really go strong on spices; cumin, taco seasoning etc ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Man Pleasin' Jambalaya

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Man Pleasin' Jambalaya: "He was kinda pleased. Really needs some seasoning. Only did two swaps." I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned and cubed zucchini instead of carrot (never heard of these kinds of veggies in jambalaya, but both the man and I always prefer more vegetables anyways!) and only scaled back for the two of us to eat, using 1/2 lb. andouille sausage. I thought the andouille would provide enough flavor to everything else, since the only spice was cayenne pepper, but I was wrong. After it had simmered and I had a nibble, it tasted like, well, not a whole lot, so I added two heaping teaspoons of Cajun seasoning which significantly helped. I won't argue the "is-it-or-isn't-it" traditional jambalaya b/c I liked the taste and did enjoy it, but regardless of the recipe's title, as it is written is severely lacking in the flavor department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Creamy Blueberry Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
If I hadn't tried True Blue Custard Crunch Pie first, I would've rated this higher. By that, I definitely don't mean this pie isn't good; it is. I just like the other one better. I followed a few suggestions, upping the sour cream to 2/3c (& lowered the sugar to 2/3c, too, since the berries are insanely sweet). The streusel part didn't crunch for me. True Blue recipe didn't either. I'm blaming the juiciness of the berries. No points off. ;D The extra egg & additional flour thicken it more than the other. It tastes egg-thickened. ;Not a bad thing, just different. This has a very, very slight cheese cake flavor from the sour cream. If you can get the streusel to crunch, I'm sure it's a very pretty pie, kind of marbled-looking. Glad I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Apple Pancake

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
We cut the sugar and butter in half as others suggested (the part that goes into the pan not the batter) and used bananas (we had no apples). It was really good and extremely easy to make in my cast iron pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

My Best Clam Chowder

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Tasty clam chowder recipe! The red-wine vinegar that I used must have been really strong, as I thought it was a bit too over powering. Will cut it back next time - probably to 1 tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Stunning! My new husband loved it! Like most of our cooks, I tweaked it a little, adding 2 cloves fresh garlic (as we are garlic lovers) and using dried herbs instead of fresh because that's what I had on hand. I did have some fresh basil growing in a window pot, so I chiffonaded some and sprinkled it on top of each serving - Pretty and yummy! This is a very good recipe and is very forgiving if you have to substitute as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrenrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States