Georgia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Teriyaki Salmon

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Good, tasty, but could have used a little more flavor -- maybe I'll increase the marinading time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennBechtel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milton, Georgia, USA

Tangy Potato, Green Bean and Bacon Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I followed the directions. I had one bite before wrapping up for easter dinner tomorrow. my moose came home and found it...she ate it all. so according to my moose's stomach and just one taste from me...5 stars. hide this better then I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by SugarPlum♥

Guacamole

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Loved this! I used fresh parsley in place of cilantro but everything else I followed the recipe. Super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

BLT Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I have made this several times, and I broke the cardinal rule and changed the recipe over time. The trick to this is to use really crisp bacon, and crumble very finely. I use the precooked bacon and almost overcook. I use a garlic Mayo (2 tsp roasted minced garlic and then stir into the Mayo). I also add shredded cheddar cheese, approx 1/2 cup, 1 tsp of coarse ground black pepper, and 1/2 to 1 cup of shredded lettuce. Based on prior reviews, I double the tomato, drain and squeeze the tomato and add it 4-6 hours in advance. I add the shredded lettuce last. This dip is incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I just made these today and I too added 1 tsp vanilla, sprinkled cinnamon sugar on top before baking and they are very good. They really aren't as sweet as I thought they would be. I also added more strawberries to really get that flavor. I didn't have a large muffin tin so I made 12 small ones. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimnan
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blue Cheese Herb Spread

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Took it as written to a tennis match & to an early Easter dinner for extended family this week as a dipper app. I don't choose blue chz dressing on my salads, but I couldn't stop eating this and neither could anyone else. Lots of compliments and it was such an unsuspecting change from Ranch or Onion. Used plain old Club crackers. Will def make it again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Photo by SugarPlum♥

Banana Pudding I

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I was looking for a banana pudding recipe made from scratch and I came across this one. I read some of the reviews ahead of time and saw quite a few people had problems with it being too runny. I made sure that I stirred it constantly while it was cooking on the until it was very thick before I removed it from the heat. I crushed the vanilla wafers and layered some on the bottom of the dish followed by a layer of sliced bananas. I sprinkled the top with more crushed vanilla wafers. I ended up using four bananas instead of two. It came out fantastic. My son said it was the best banana pudding he had ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

Favorite Barbecue Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
My husband really liked this! Instead of dipping chicken in sauce first, I put the chicken on my foreman grill about 5-7 mins, then into sauce snd back to grill another 10 and finally back in the skillet. To make it an Asian bbq all u need is fresh ginger and red pepper flakes, yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimnan
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

King's Hawaiian Cranberry Macadamia Nut Stuffing

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This was REALLY good. I love King’s Hawaiian bread so I had to try it. I used slivered almonds in place of the macadamias just because I was trying to keep costs down and macadamias are very expensive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

Watergate Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I have eaten this for years. It's always delicious and everyone loves it. FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is a great recipe and i usually make it about once a month at the least. Its really not to fattening, and sometimes i cut up the 97 % fat free Hebrew National hot dogs in it ( at 45 calories a piece) and its like having a very fattening, indulgent comfort meal without blowing your whole day on calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan-Roasted Chicken with Lemon-Garlic Brussels Sprouts and Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I love this dressing. I have made this both ways with the chicken ( boneless) and without Just veggies) I liked the dressing on the chicken. it reminded me of some of the dishes at the local Greek restaurant.. my husband though prefers his chicken without the dressing, but we both agree the lemon dressing on potatoes tastes like the ones the Greek rest. serves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ground Beef Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Very good basic recipe. easy to switch up to make it your own. also a good way to use up leftover veggies and hamburgers. ( especially hambugers cooked on the grill) to make it easier i will just use the frozen bag of mixed vegetables and usually instead of plain tomatoes i will use ro-tel. also great to use macaroni noodles to bulk it up a bit and make it a little heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Onion Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is a very good and delicious recipe. My husband loves it every time i make it. The pork chops always come out tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I love this recipe and would give it 5 stars with the exception of having trouble keeping the patties together when searing them. I may take others recipe and either broil the tops and then pour gravy over, or just not pan-sear first. also i prefer using the Lipton onion soup/ cream of mushroom soup gravy. One plus is I can buy the ingredients in bulk/family pack and make ahead lots of patties and freeze. Since its only myself and my husband it makes it easy to have a nice meal without having to prepare from scratch every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This recipe is very easy to prepare. I chose to sub ground pork just for my preference. It makes a very nice presentation on the table, and i would serve it to company or friends in a heartbeat. It is so fresh and delicious as good or better than some of the restaurants I've eaten them at. I served it with the Ramen cabbage salad also on allrecipes. The vinegar and crunch of the ramen salad complimented the asian wraps nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker White Chili

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Really, really good! Instead of using cooked chicken, I put a couple raw chicken breasts in with the broth and lime juice and cooked on low for about 5 hours. I then shredded it and added the rest of the ingredients (added some sliced zucchini) for about 1.5 hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rrkalina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marshmallow Fondant

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My very first try with this fondant didn't go over great, but it was my fault. I used drop color instead of gel, which I think added too much moisture to it. When I made it the second time, I bought the Wilton brand color and BOOM! This was amazing! It took the color wonderfully, was so very easy to use, and it was very easy to "paste" fondant decorations on the cake I made using just a drop of water. I used powdered sugar instead of cornstarch or flour when rolling. I have a bakery friend who has asked for my recipe because of the ease and the wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My very first try with this fondant didn't go over great, but it was my fault. I used drop color instead of gel, which I think added too much moisture to it. When I made it the second time, I bought the Wilton brand color and BOOM! This was amazing! It took the color wonderfully, was so very easy to use, and it was very easy to "paste" fondant decorations on the cake I made using just a drop of water. I used powdered sugar instead of cornstarch or flour when rolling. I have a bakery friend who has asked for my recipe because of the ease and the wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States