Spring Hill, Florida - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Avocado Aioli

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Very good! I ate it on toast for breakfast. I used a little less garlic. This is going into the rotation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Yellow Squash

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was simple to make and very tasty! Cooked it for 5 minutes on the George Foreman grill, turning and brushing it halfway through. It really makes the taste of the squash shine. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Barr's Airy Fluffy Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
A very light and fluffy cheesecake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I jumped on the bandwagon and made a couple changes. I used Progresso Pot Stew added to the hamburger, and I did not add mushrooms. Other than that, I followed everything else and everyone loved it. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Very tasty, however, I did do a couple tweaks to it. I added the 2 cans of mushroom soup, and addded another can of cream of celery. It still was a little bit dry, so next time I may add some milk to it. I loved the taste, so I will be making this again. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Japanese Tamago Egg

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Very tasty! I substituted chicken stock with a little fish sauce for the dashi, and served it on top of sushi rice patties with a strip of nori around each piece. This one is going into my recipe notebook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
A Wonderful recipe, I don't give out a lot of 5s so don't feel bad it was great. I wonder what this would be like with buttermilk?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamNinja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Daiquiri

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I went over my best friend's house just to return his clothes because he had to stay at my house because his parents went on a cruise. He gave me this cause he probably thought i was thirsty. OMG!!! this is a really yummy drink. then i asked him for the recipe since he used it for his culinary project and showed me this recipe. i had some left and i gave it to my mom when i came home and she loved it too. If u are throwing a party with people under 21, or hosting a barbecue make this drink. It is a fantastic drink for the summer because of it looks like a slurpee from 711.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pokechef14

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Blondies

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
recipe worked well. since white chocolate is not real chocolate i suggest you find the best you can or add about 1/4 cup of heavy cream to what ever you melt. it will make it melt better. I used butterscotch chips. i did not melt the butter with the chips. i added it after the chocolate. then folded in the flour mix and then the additional chips. Its best to fold in the flour and chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Swedish Meatballs

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Perfect!!! I have been searching for a recipe for Swedish meatballs for some time now, and this is A KEEPER! Its printed and in my recipe binder already. I love everything that comes from Chef John! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I prepared this recipe only to have cream cheese for stead of sour cream. On top of that, about 3 5min into cooking phase, the butter got left in the microwave so, there was no butter or fat content in the mix as well, i added a 4th egg because mine were very small. I could not stand the melted butter just to get put back into the fridge so, i rued a 1/4 cup of cocoa, about 5 oz of strawberry preserves and a half cup sugar for a topping. I included the rest of the cream cheese left over which was about 3 oz. I set in sauce pan on med heat long enough to DE-crystalise the sugar and melt down the cream cheese. I topped both now cakes once they were cooled enough and it was actually very good and no ingredients were wasted. i never made a banana bread without some fat content be it oil or butter and i have to tell you that the sponginess and moistness was quite impressive despite my mistake of not adding the butter. My apologies if in any way i took away from the original author's recipe by sharing my mistake. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Orange Loaf

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
i took the advise of another viewer and used crasins soaked in the orange juice that i heated on the stove. i also melted the butter. This made it a bit easier to mix by hand. And added another egg. I baked at 350 for 50 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Raisin Bread I

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The planets must have lined up! This turned out so well. Soft and tasty. i do melt the butter in the milk on the stove but no need to boil milk just heat enough to melt butter. let it cool to 110 degrees. It just makes it a bit easier when pouring all the ingredients in the bowl to mix. 2 tsp vanilla. I add 2 tbs "vital wheat gluten" to this recipe and all my breads for that matter. it helps dough rise. I used half bread and half all purpose flours. I begin in the mixer adding only 4 cups of flour on med high with paddle attachment for about 2 minutes. Gets the gluten going. Change to hook and add as much flour as the mixer can handle then kneed in the rest by hand. Then knead the raisins in last. Damp towel over buttered bowl in oven with light on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggnog Quick Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
i loved it with most of the changes i made. For each loaf i melted the butter and added 3TB veg oil. upped the rum to 2TB and added 1/2t baking soda. So all the wet into a bowl (except for the eggnog) sifted all dry in another. Beat the wet for a minute. then alternated the flour mix with the eggnog. I had a double batch so 2 9x5 pans about 47-50 mins @ 350. I then melted 1/4C butter in a saucepan and added 1/2C sugar and 1/4C both OJ and triple sec. When bread was finished let them cool for 5 mins then i poured this over the TWO breads while still in the pans. I did poke some holes in the breads too. Let it cool for about 30 mins and turned them out. That will keep em moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Manicotti Shells

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This recipe makes 18 1/4 cup crapes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Applesauce Cake III

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
it turned out great in two 9" loaf pans. 40 mins @ 350. Watch that it does not over cook. It does not mention but i believe the applesauce is unsweetened. I soaked the raisins in two tbsp of brandy over low heat for 5 mins. discard the remaining liquid before adding. They look and smell great. rose up pretty good in the pans too. I did not beat the flour just folded it in. Same with the apple sauce. It curdles with the butter mixture so i folded it in by hand as well. If it does turn out a bit over cooked you can poke some holes and make a glaze with butter and rum and no one will know (or remember) the difference. I am adding a cinnamon glaze. 1 cup powdered sugar 2 tbsp butter, softened 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon 1-2 tbsp milk 1/2 tsp vanilla extract pour over cooled cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Cut off the big fat then cover the corn beef with beef broth Add peppercorns, bay leaf and onions to spice packet. Before adding the spice packet, you first bring the meat to a boil and skim the foamy stuff off the top of the water.. cook meat @ 50 min. per lb Take the corned beef out and while the cabbage carrots and pot's are cooking in the liquid, Add some Caraway seeds when you add the cabbage. Glaze for brisket Put the brisket in the oven for 30 minutes with this sauce that I combine on the stove until smooth. 1/3 cup of brown sugar,2 tblsp of butter tlbs. of prepared mustard, 1/3 cup of ketchup, and 3 tblsp of apple cider vinegar. I combine these ingredients till smooth, then pour over the brisket while the veggies are cooking. 30 to 40 mins. at 350 will do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I had cubed beef. With 2 pots I mixed flour, salt n pepper in a bag and shook meat until coated. I seared in a few tbls of oil and set aside. Added 4 cups of broth to pot, scraped bits off and added beef. cook for 60 mins, add barley, bay n 1c water and cooked for 45 mins. Sauteed veggies in another pot like in step 2. followed recipe using only 2 cups of broth. when veggies were cooked i added 1tsp parsley, basil, and oregano with beef barley mixture. Simmer, covered for 15 mins. The meat stayed together yet cut easily with my spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Turkey Sausage Patties

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Tried it for the first time this weekend. It was really good! I added an egg yolk and a handful of breadcrumbs, although I'm not really sure I needed to. I love that you can go either way with this recipe. Add maple for sweetness or make it more savory. Thanks for the recipe, I will certainly be making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hustisford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Onion Soup Recipe : Tyler Florence : Recipes : Food Network

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
not that great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States