Saint Petersburg - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Roasted Loin of Pork with Pan Gravy

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Excellent recipe. Only changes were not using as much cayenne pepper, per previous reviews, and used fresh thyme. Oh and I used a bone-in pork loin. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aCookInLaQuintaCA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Sangria

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
People go wild for this stuff. It's my go-to recipe for entertaining--and it's so good you'll see your guests' eyes roll to the backs of their heads on the first swirl. I have made it many times now, various ways. I use Pinot Grigio for the white wine version, and it works equally well with red wine such as Pinot noir. Experimenting with other variations, I have skipped the cognac, doubled the peach schnapz, used Splenda instead of sugar, and made the ginger ale optional (just because I'm not supposed to drink carbonation). I have also used sugar free 7-up instead. I recommend fresh mango plus sliced peaches when in season, and feel free to add other fruits as well such as apple and orange slices when mango is out of season. You really can't mess up this recipe--it's so good. Thank you for a big keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cream Corn Like No Other

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Next time I would not add any sugar, it was good but almost dessert like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
The whole family loves these. I use a regular pan and put them in for 30 total minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Orange Cracker Apricot Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Changing the cracker crumbs to panko breading was a great suggestion. I had lemon juice and peel on hand so I used that instead of orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNYB75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Another extraordinary recipe from Chef John. Thank you!! Shrimp Étouffée is one of my very favorite dishes, and this is the first time I've made it, thanks to your easy instructions. It was VERY filling, so it was okay that we only had a pound and a half shrimp. That easily feeds 6 or more. I actually had good-quality shrimp (which was a surprise) rather than water-logged, which meant I should not have drained and patted them dry. There was hardly any shrimp broth at the bottom to add back in, so I would have liked to know how to make stock with the shells instead of throwing them away (will research for next time). This was YUMMY! And my family loved it! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
We LOVED this chicken. We used fresh herbs from the garden (3 times what the recipe called for in dry herbs) and white balsamic vinegar. When it was done cooking, we folded in angel hair pasta, letting it sit to absorb the juices before serving. OUTSTANDING dish, of the sort you might have in a nice restaurant. Distinctive flavor, moist chicken. Wonderful. We will make this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Broiled Lobster Tails

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Our lobsters were small and took 5 minutes, but glad to know that 10 oz. takes 10 minutes and 1 pound lobsters take 20. We made these for Father's Day and tested one first. Then we made the rest--in a pyrex dish, which exploded all over the kitchen. Father's Day meal was ruined, but the one lobster we did try ahead of time was FANTASTIC! Note to self: Never broil in pyrex!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Kabobs

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
We added 1/4 t black pepper, several dashes of Sriracha sauce and soy sauce. People raved at the family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
There was way too much thyme (and mustard) in this dish. I used fresh thyme at 3x the amount as dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Chef John's Pasta Primavera

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
What a surprise! Delicious! I admit I was hesitant looking at all these green vegetables chopped up thinking there was no way my family was going to like this. My husband was skeptical, too. Also, at first it seemed like way too many vegetables for the pasta. Then I was chopping jalapeño thinking this is going to be hot. And then cutting the huge bouquet of basil from the garden thinking this was going to be wayyyyy too much basil flavor. The odds were stacked against it all in my mind, but I trusted the reviews, and Chef John has never steered me wrong. Glad we did! Everyone was surprised and LOVED this dish! It doesn't taste anything like what you think it will based on the individual ingredients. It comes together magically flavorful and filling. Even if you don't like one of the ingredients, you probably won't notice. My step-daughter said, "I don't like zucchini, but I like this 'cause there's hardly any zucchini in there"--to which my husband replied, "Keep believing that." Haha. What a great way to "get your vegetables."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Dessert Quesadillas with Peanut Butter, Chocolate, and Marshmallow

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherylynn Booth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

Corn Fritters

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
They turned out with a light and airy crust - very good! Did add a little buttermilk to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherylynn Booth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

Pickled Eggs (Beet)

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherylynn Booth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

Fajita Seasoning

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
So good!! Excellent! I made steak with onions and peppers. After it was all done, I put some butter in the pan and scrambled an egg - very delish! I could not find my cayenne and tried to do it with cajun seasoning and white pepper but it was just missing something. I found my cayenne and made it right! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherylynn Booth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Mom's Raised Doughnuts

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
My first donuts and they turned out wonderful! I used mostly bread and whole wheat flours and butter as that was all I had. They were tender inside and tasty! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherylynn Booth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

Mom's Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
My family loved it. I thought it was bland and tasted floury, but I did put some Sriracha sauce in it, and next time will add more. I also put crushed Ritz crackers with melted margarine on top. Next time will dust with parsley and paprika on top. I would expect this to be fabulous for the calorie trade-off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Beef Samosas

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
It's ok. Nothing to talk about and definitely not something I would make again. Dry and bland once the potato was added (had to double after cooking it all and tasting it). I am going to see if I can make it into a gravy to try and salvage the rest of what is in the pan. I did try some as a stuffing with cheese in a biscuit, again nothing to talk about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherylynn Booth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

Southwestern Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I was going to pass this by but felt led to give it a shot. Now I am kicking myself in the caboose for only making half the recipe :) Very good, didn't even need dip! Only thing I added was shallots and garlic. Didn't freeze it either. Thanks Lord for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherylynn Booth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

Spy Thai Beef

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherylynn Booth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States