Ocala - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Rich Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Incredible. The only thing I changed was the milk ingredient. I used Baileys White Chocolate liquor instead. I used the same amount 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Wow super tasty and pretty darn easy! I also used half the butter and a liberal splash of Extra Virgin Olive Oil. Used 4 tb fresh minced garlic and an additional 3 tsp garlic powder. Didn't do the dried herbs at all, just let the cheese and garlic stand on their own. I also sprinkled breadcrumbs in a thin layer in my baking dish and added chicken on top as another reviewer mentioned, breadcrumbs moist but not soggy. My 14mo devoured hers and asked for more, fiance taking the leftovers to work to eat cold. :) Def a keeper with endless possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli with Poppy Seed Butter and Parmesan Cheese

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I won't make this again as its low on flavor. My husband didn't care for it either. We ate it & it was ok, but I was happy I didn't serve it to guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I couldn't find a recipe exactly like I wanted, so I adjusted this one. I used half Mayo & half sour cream, & added a thinly sliced sweet onion. I also salted sliced cukes a couple hours & drained/rinsed before making. This is best if made at least a few hours before serving. Fresh dill is always best but dried worked ok in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Vegetable Orzo

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Loved it! I made the whole box of Orzo as directed, doubled both squash, added red & orange bell pepper, & more onions. I increased the oil because of the additional veggies used. I added Tbs of butter & approx 6 oz of feta cheese after draining pasta. Further I used salt free broth instead of water, in addition to the bouillion. I added about 8 chopped basil leaves & equal amount of parsley to the oil before tossing the veggies. Everyone loved this dish! Keep in mind, never use cooking wine, it will make any dish taste nasty. Buy wine you drink for cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Peppers for Two

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Pretty darn good! Thanks for the suggestion of putting a hole in the bottom of peppers so hamburger grease could drain, worked awesome! I upped the chopped onion and cheese as well as added some italian seasoings. tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Potato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very good and I'm not a fan of squash much. Used chix broth and half the cream cheese, added a swirl of sour cream right before serving, delish! Had ham and cheese pretzel bread bagel sandwiches with, perfect for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mulberry Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
not very sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Party Mix

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I make a similar mix every Christmas (we also refer to it as "White Trash" lol) however, mine has Rice Krispies & Peanut Butter Captain Crunch cereals rather than Chex, Pecans rather than peanuts & mini marshmallows. The PB Captain Crunch adds a good flavor. Never thought of adding the M&M's, would add color, but the white chocolate covers everything anyway. Mine calls for: 1 1/2 lbs or 2 (12 oz) bags white chocolate, 2 cups Rice Krispies, 2 cups PB Captain Crunch, 2 cups mini marshmallows & 2 cups pecans (you can use peanuts, but I think pecans are better). Mix together in bowl; heat chocolate (I do in micro) & pour over mix. Stir well & spoon out onto wax paper. Allow to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Garlic

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Don't forget roasted garlic is good in home made vinegar & oil type salad dressings. Mixed in hummus or probably 1000 other dishes. It's mild when roasted & you can use the whole head easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Foil Wrapped Veggies

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Great! I add cubed butternut squash & carrots or whatever is in season. I've made it in the oven & on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Summer Corn Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I make this often for parties & it's always a hit. I've only made it with fresh corn. This is one of those recipes you gotta try. Never a kernel left over! Update: I wondered why some didn't rate this as high. I found the trick to this salad is to make sure your corn is sweet. This winter I made it with corn that was bland. I will taste the raw corn b4 I buy it now. When it's sweet this is great. I've also now tried can & frozen, nothing beats fresh sweet corn. When the corn is right this is one of my favorite side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Crackers

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Love these & make often. I add a teaspoon of chili powder (give or take) per cup of brown sugar to give it a little spark. Try various crackers. Do use parchment paper otherwise these will stick if you don't get them out fast. Great appetizers to serve but you will need a lot of them, they go fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Frosty Mochas

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I freeze left over coffee in ice trays & use it to make these often. I also add a handful of ice & blend in my ninja machine. Top with whip topping. Cocoa powder works if you can't have sugar. I make these like a slushy. Love love love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Onion Rings

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Great! I've made these numerous times & folks claim I make the best they have ever eaten, thanks to this recipe. I fry mine in deep oil at 345 degrees as I find this temp keeps the onion from pulling out of the coating when you bite into the ring. I do add various seasons to the batter depending on my mood. I discovered it's not a bad coating for fish in a pinch, cut the fish smaller pieces & dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crazy Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Made this for a football party & everyone loved it. I made mine in a bowl & poured it into a greased pan. Made a cooked chocolate frosting & poured it over while cake & frosting both were still warm. It is heavier/different than the average cake & very moist. This is a keeper, thank you very much. Highly recommend you try this for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I've been making this for years. Although sometimes I just make it with 2 cans soup (mix of of celery, mushroom, chicken, onion, celery, potato, etc) & leave out the wine & sour cream. Can also be made in crockpot. Put chicken in on low setting w/ seasoning, & some (3/4 cup ish) broth, water or wine. Cook on low for 6 +/- hours. 30-40 min before serving stir in soups. Also good w/stew meat(gets very tender in crockpot) I add Onion soup mix w/ water or a can of French Onion Soup & no liquid with meat, cook on low for 7+/- hours. You'd probably want to use 2 lbs of stew meat, & 3 cans "cream of" soup. I use 1 lb stew meat & 2 cans soup, but im only feeding my husband. I always make enough to freeze for another meal though. So, it depends on your family size or how many you're feeding. Add soups (& sour cream & sliced mushrooms if desired) 30-40 min before serving. Serve over rice, noodles or mashed potatoes. Mix soups depending on what you have or your taste, could also try cheddar cheese with chicken. Experiment! My husband is patient lol. But my experiments have rarely been yucky (never inedible, knock on wood lol) & I've discovered some family faves that way! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lazy Day Lasagna

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was good, however I missed the Ricotta in lasagna. Next time I will add (probably a 15 or 16 oz container) of Ricotta cheese mixed with some parsley & layer it in. I think it would be much better :-) I also sprinkled Parmesean cheese on top of the sauce (top) layer before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potluck Spareribs

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Made it exactly as directed for a family potluck dinner, and it was a hit. 7 lbs. of ribs and no leftovers :) Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States