Ocala - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Butternut Squash Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very good and I'm not a fan of squash much. Used chix broth and half the cream cheese, added a swirl of sour cream right before serving, delish! Had ham and cheese pretzel bread bagel sandwiches with, perfect for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mulberry Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
not very sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Party Mix

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I make a similar mix every Christmas (we also refer to it as "White Trash" lol) however, mine has Rice Krispies & Peanut Butter Captain Crunch cereals rather than Chex, Pecans rather than peanuts & mini marshmallows. The PB Captain Crunch adds a good flavor. Never thought of adding the M&M's, would add color, but the white chocolate covers everything anyway. Mine calls for: 1 1/2 lbs or 2 (12 oz) bags white chocolate, 2 cups Rice Krispies, 2 cups PB Captain Crunch, 2 cups mini marshmallows & 2 cups pecans (you can use peanuts, but I think pecans are better). Mix together in bowl; heat chocolate (I do in micro) & pour over mix. Stir well & spoon out onto wax paper. Allow to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Garlic

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Don't forget roasted garlic is good in home made vinegar & oil type salad dressings. Mixed in hummus or probably 1000 other dishes. It's mild when roasted & you can use the whole head easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Foil Wrapped Veggies

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Great! I add cubed butternut squash & carrots or whatever is in season. I've made it in the oven & on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Summer Corn Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I make this often for parties & it's always a hit. I've only made it with fresh corn. This is one of those recipes you gotta try. Never a kernel left over! Update: I wondered why some didn't rate this as high. I found the trick to this salad is to make sure your corn is sweet. This winter I made it with corn that was bland. I will taste the raw corn b4 I buy it now. When it's sweet this is great. I've also now tried can & frozen, nothing beats fresh sweet corn. When the corn is right this is one of my favorite side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Crackers

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Love these & make often. I add a teaspoon of chili powder (give or take) per cup of brown sugar to give it a little spark. Try various crackers. Do use parchment paper otherwise these will stick if you don't get them out fast. Great appetizers to serve but you will need a lot of them, they go fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Frosty Mochas

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I freeze left over coffee in ice trays & use it to make these often. I also add a handful of ice & blend in my ninja machine. Top with whip topping. Cocoa powder works if you can't have sugar. I make these like a slushy. Love love love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Onion Rings

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Great! I've made these numerous times & folks claim I make the best they have ever eaten, thanks to this recipe. I fry mine in deep oil at 345 degrees as I find this temp keeps the onion from pulling out of the coating when you bite into the ring. I do add various seasons to the batter depending on my mood. I discovered it's not a bad coating for fish in a pinch, cut the fish smaller pieces & dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crazy Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Made this for a football party & everyone loved it. I made mine in a bowl & poured it into a greased pan. Made a cooked chocolate frosting & poured it over while cake & frosting both were still warm. It is heavier/different than the average cake & very moist. This is a keeper, thank you very much. Highly recommend you try this for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I've been making this for years. Although sometimes I just make it with 2 cans soup (mix of of celery, mushroom, chicken, onion, celery, potato, etc) & leave out the wine & sour cream. Can also be made in crockpot. Put chicken in on low setting w/ seasoning, & some (3/4 cup ish) broth, water or wine. Cook on low for 6 +/- hours. 30-40 min before serving stir in soups. Also good w/stew meat(gets very tender in crockpot) I add Onion soup mix w/ water or a can of French Onion Soup & no liquid with meat, cook on low for 7+/- hours. You'd probably want to use 2 lbs of stew meat, & 3 cans "cream of" soup. I use 1 lb stew meat & 2 cans soup, but im only feeding my husband. I always make enough to freeze for another meal though. So, it depends on your family size or how many you're feeding. Add soups (& sour cream & sliced mushrooms if desired) 30-40 min before serving. Serve over rice, noodles or mashed potatoes. Mix soups depending on what you have or your taste, could also try cheddar cheese with chicken. Experiment! My husband is patient lol. But my experiments have rarely been yucky (never inedible, knock on wood lol) & I've discovered some family faves that way! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lazy Day Lasagna

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was good, however I missed the Ricotta in lasagna. Next time I will add (probably a 15 or 16 oz container) of Ricotta cheese mixed with some parsley & layer it in. I think it would be much better :-) I also sprinkled Parmesean cheese on top of the sauce (top) layer before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potluck Spareribs

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Made it exactly as directed for a family potluck dinner, and it was a hit. 7 lbs. of ribs and no leftovers :) Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Shrimp I

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Very tasty! Takes a little bit of time for prep, but worth the effort! We dipped ours in LaChoy duck sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMOSIEUR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Beef Wellington

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Absolutely devine! The only "mess up" was on the puff pastry. My husband picked up the puff shells, so as you can imagine I had a time trying to get the meat wrapped. My store did not have regular liver pate so I used Mushroom/liver pate instead. And a bit of advise, if ones are looking for more of a cordon bleu recipe I'm sure there are plenty on this site. This is an ellagant recipe and it is what it states, Beef Wellington ;) Thank you for the wonderful recipe. Will definalty make again ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Springs, Florida, USA

Broccoli Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
this recipe was great. I added some cooked chicken breast to this dish and my family just went crazy over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Maker Doughnuts

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Pretty good recipe. I added a smidgen of nutmeg for flavor. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Beef and Irish Stout Stew

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I am giving this recipe 4 stars because is a great concept. Now, I didn't realize I HATED Guiness beer as much as I do! LOL..as other reviewers had done, I tried to take out the bitterness of it by adding brown sugar..then I added worcheshire..some beef broth..more tomato paste, cooked it longer. This helped some, but this stew is not to MY likiing. If you like Guiness beer, make this dish! If not, don't waste your money. I may try again one day using a different beer. But again, I am not giving it a bad review, this is just MY personal preference. And don't forget, some say it was too bland, this is where step 3 comes in, taste and adjust seasoning. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Springs, Florida, USA

Mom's Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This was sooooo yummy!!! Must make for Thanksgiving! I followed the directions but added a little more cheddar cheese and used Panko bread crumbs instead of regular bread crumbs. Absolutely perfect! I also made sure my milk was warm before adding it to the flour mixture and constantly stirred it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Family loved it! I followed suggestions to bake first, then broiled for 5 minutes on each side. I halved the butter, and used lower sodium soy sauce, with no skin thighs. Will make again soon, doubleing the recipe, to serve the leftovers on top of salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAVEWOMAN884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendship, New York, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States