Ocala - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

California Smoothie

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Excellent smoothie. Since my strawberries were not very sweet I used about a TBS of raw, unprocessed, local honey to sweeten. I figured if I was going to have something healthy such as a smoothie, I would use honey as a sweetener. Much better option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

King Cake in a Bread Machine

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Good base recipe. Very easy. However, I agree, it was missing something. Next time I'll add 1-teaspoon nutmeg and 1 t-teaspoon lemon zest to the batter when making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Black Bean Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This soup came out good, and I am a terrible cook. I used 3 cans of veggie stock after reading that in several reviews. I accidentally added 2 cans of tomatoes instead of one but it was delicious. Added a bunch of chopped jalepenos because I prefer spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Annie's Lobster Bisque

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Wonderful Bisque! I have made this recipe several times. Followed directions exactly, came out perfect and have varied a little and came out perfect. Some of my variations: I used fish stock once instead of Chicken both, butter instead of olive oil and used shrimp and crab meat instead of lobster. I have a pot of this on my stove as I type :) Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Springs, Florida, USA

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
After reading all the positive reviews I was very disappointed. I followed the recipe exactlt and they were way over-the-top sweet.They were also very flat. I'm trying to decide if I should try "tweaking" the recipe. Or just move on to a better one. If I tweak -- these are the changes I'd make: Use butter flavor shortening in lieu of at least 1/2 the butter and not refrigerate or flatten before baking. Would also cut back at least 1/2-cup on the sugar. Then we might have something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Classic Goulash

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Very good. Didn't have soy sauce or italian seasoning so used worchestershire (per another reviewer's advice) and about 1 1/2 cups bloody mary mix to supplement the fact i used homemade canned tomatoes and no tomato sauce. Cooked pasta separately so didn't add the water. my 16 month old devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Had to beef this up to make it the main dish, added steamed broccoli and sweet smoked bacon crumbles served with green salad on the side. Following some of the reviewers' advice, I added a tbs extra butter to the roux and whisked briskly throughout the milk adding and boiling process. Used 4oz velveeta cubed and 1 cup sharp cheddar, no breadcrumbs for my fam so just grated more cheese on top. Baked covered at 350 for about 30 minutes. Absolutely fabulous! I took spoonfuls of the cold mac the next day, rolled them in flour and fried the flattened patties in a little veggie oil and served with warm horseradish for me and applesauce for my 16mo, very tasty~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheddar Onion Drop Biscuits

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Followed the recipe with the exception of adding a tablesoon of dried chives. Oh it did take little extra buttermilk. I baked them on buttered pizza stone, which took only a couple minutes longer. I made them small out of preference. I've made many different biscuits this one rocks. I was surprised the dried minced onions worked so well. I plan to use this recipe for appetizers soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cottage Meatloaf

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whisky Tea

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
LOVE this recipe. I am currently really sick with bronchitis and over the counter meds have stopped giving me relief. I took one sip of this and it was better than any Nyquil, Mucinex, or Theraflu I have ever had. Now I might be able to sleep tonight! Thanks! P.S. Your description was very sweet:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Glazed Ham

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Excellent! Made this for our Thanksgiving dinner and everybody loved it. Bought an 11 lb. spiral ham. I also used 1/4 c. brown sugar instead of syrup and added 1 T. lemon juice. Instead of lining the pan with foil, I used an oven bag and carefully turned the ham over every 15 minutes. Came out so juicy...this will become a family favorite. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Dunbar, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Chicken Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Awesome and easy! Perfect, had dinner on table in 30 minutes and still had time to play with the kid while cooking as you don't have to stand right over the skillet the whole time. Recipe is going into my rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Ordinary Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Brilliant! Love this recipe, thank you! I like a little spice so I omited the bell pepper and added jalepeno. The only thing my Husband could say after the first bite was "Mmmmmmmm". Thanks again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Springs, Florida, USA

Chicken Parmigiana

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Firstly I made my own sauce from garden canned tomatoes with 3 gloves garlic, fresh minced basil and oregano and half a small sweet onion minced in EV olive oil. Drain juice from canned tomatoes and add to pan, boil 5 minutes then reduce heat to simmer uncovered 1-3 hours, stirring every so often. I doubled recipe to use 4 breasts that I cut into 3 fat strips each. I coat my chicken in flour first then egg then italian seasoned breadcrumbs/parmesan cheese mixture. Used parmesan slices as what I had on hand. Super tasty recipe. Great potential to play :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Autumn Spice Ham Steak

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Very tasty and easy way to use up leftover ham and the abundance of juicy apples we get every fall in wisconsin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Dip

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Cant believe the people who go on about remembering the reason for the season and then proceed to trash someone for "not reading a recipe" or "not measuring" or having common sense, etc. How hypocritical... Thanks for the recipe & the tips. Worked great with the can of whole cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Style Thanksgiving Green Beans

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I make these with Pole beans. Unfortunately, they are only available part of the year. I always make them for the holidays. They are great, sometimes at Thanksgiving if I don't shop early I have to go to a few stores to find them . I use chicken broth instead of water and I leave out the vinegar. The ham hock is kinda gross, but its a must for great flavor. This recipe has been on my family's table for as long as I can remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was ok, however, I didn't think it was worth the hassle. My husband and I both agreed that the regular recipe I use (with canned pumpkin & Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust) is just as good. And a recipe I make with canned pumpkin, cream cheese & a premade graham cracker crust is even better. If you enjoy spending hours in the kitchen & have time, go for it - otherwise, don't waste your time. Not that impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guilt-Free Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Served this for health minded friends at a dinner I had last night. When I told them no fat was added they could not believe it. Serveral asked the the recipe. I did add about 2/3 cup of mini semi sweet chocolate morsels to the batter before baking. An instant favorite! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Shelley!!! Laughing.....thanks ALOT! Now instead of doing 30 mins on my eliptical machine now I have to do 60 mins!! And is worth every second! Love this recipe....my husband is doing his exercises right now!!! All kidding aside...I followed as written excluding almonds, didnt have them...WONDERFUl and so easy! This I will make again and again....that eliptical machine will be worn completely out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States