Ocala - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Classic CRISCO® Pie Crust

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Crisco's pastry has been my "go to" recipe for years. So, I just looked this up as a reminder of the ingredients & amounts since I'm traveling & don't have my cookbook with me. That being said, this recipe on Allrecipes is missing some important details. It jumps from just having made the dough & dividing in -- to placing the rolled dough into the pie plate. It totally skips over how thick to roll the dough for pie crust. BTW: I never make this by hand. I use the food processor and "pulse" in the ingredients, in order, until I get a nice dough ball. Then roll out to 1/8-inch thick. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Best Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Worst bread machine recipe I've ever made -- and this wasn't my first rodeo. Followed directions and didn't change a thing. Bread fell flat and was dense in the middle. Won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Jennie's Heavenly Slow Cooker Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Has been a favorite of mine for years. Double the recipe and cut boneless breasts into large bite size pieces and it's great for 8-10. Serve over pasta or rice. The wine offers a gourmet touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I bake a lot of bread, and I've made a lot of pizzas in my time. This was absolutely the best tasting, and easiest pizza dough ever. I added some oregano, thyme & garlic to the crust. I didn't have any beer on hand, so I just used water. Can't wait to try it with the beer. Recipe was perfect for one large pizza. This will now be my "go to" recipe for pizza dough. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Sangria! Sangria!

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Served this for my husband's birthday party. Fruity and intense. We did not dilute with carbonated anything and served over ice. WOW! Folks are still talking about the Sangria served and it's been 2 years since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I made this cake for our Easter dinner. I was a little disappointed after reading all of the reviews. This may be a good starting point for a great carrot cake recipe, but it's not quite there yet. It was over-the-top way too sweet (and I LOVE sweets), and the carrot flavor got lost in translation. After some of the following tweaks it may be pretty darned awesome: decrease sugar by about 25%, increase carrots & pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Plain Cake Doughnuts

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I am always amazed, and frequently shake my head at some peoples' reviews. One lady said she "scaled the recipe" and "instead of adding 1/3 of an egg, I added a whole egg." Then she went on to rant about how sticky the dough was!!! Of course, she also tore up the recipe when she critiqued it. But she wasn't really reviewing the original recipe, she was tearing up her own creation. Some people! This recipe, as written, is pretty good. I subtracted a star because I did add extra nutmeg & cinnamon to get a nicer flavor. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Funnel Cakes I

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Having lived in the Amish community I can tell you that, with the addition of a bit of nutmeg, this recipe is spot on. No need to add the vanilla & sugar (unless you REALLY like sweet stuff -- remember you're going to dust the funnel cakes with powdered sugar after they're fried).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Loved the recipe, but there is a much easier method to making it. Be sure to do all prep work before beginning, because cooking goes fast. First: combine the 2 T. cornstarch & 1/4 c. water in a 4-cup glass measure. Then add all the other sauce ingredients & stir. (I also start my rice too.) Cook the pork in Wok, push to side when almost done and add the veggies. When they are almost tender, mix the pork & veggies then pour in the sauce mixture. Cook & stir until thickened. Good stuff. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Spinach-Cheese Swirls

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I read the reviews and thought to myself, "Hmm... this recipe has some potential." I love Greek food, especially Spanikopita to I tweaked the recipe. I substituted feta cheese for the Muenster, etc., and 2 T. finely chopped yellow onion for the green onion. Then added more garlic powder than called for along with dillweed, to taste. Proceeded as directed by rolling pastry. Then chilled 30 minutes before cutting it. Turned out to be pretty good stuff. Not bland at all with the changes. I rated the recipe for the potential, not for the actual taste as written. No matter what recipe you're making, play with your food, and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This was even beter the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Verrico

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Lassie's Liver and Onions

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
For folks who say the liver was a bit tough, be sure you are using calve's liver that has been skinnex & deveined. There are a lot of tough, thick livers in the meat cases these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Kentucky Biscuits

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I almost followed the recipe "to a T," but added a wee bit more salt than just a dash to balance out the sweetness of the dough. It made for some very light and flavorful biscits. I definitely would not substitute "homemade" for the real deal when it comes to using buttermilk. I was questioning the math beforehand about how many biscuits the recipe would make. And I was correct. The recipe, patted into an exact 6x6-inch square made just 4 large (3-inch) biscuits). I used a pizza cutter. I can't imagine the tiny biscuits that cutting the dough into 12 would make. If I could, I would give the recipe a 5-star rating for ease & taste, and just 3 stars for math/# servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Photo by Beadanurse

The Big Easy Jambalaya

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This dish was delicious. I put the sausage in with the vegetables, at the beginning. I found the consistency was just right -- not to thick or watery. Also added a boneless chicken breast, cut-up & tossed with cajun seasoning - then added to the dish & cooked a bit before adding the tomatoes. This dish is definitely be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Jambalaya

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I "kinda sorta" followed the recipe. I used all ingredients per quantities but did it a bit easier. I sauteed the vegetables, then added the sausage & chicken (with the Cajun seasoning). When chicken was cooked, I added the remaining ingredients, brought it to a boil, then reduced heat, covered & simmered until rice was done & liquid was absorbed. It was delicious and so much easier than following the directions as written. Also, at the end, I stirred in 1/2-lb cooked shrimp & heated through. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Enchilada Bean Dip with Corn

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This was tasty, but a little too wet even with draining the one can of tomatoes. Rotels were a great enhancement and I believe the sour cream and green onions were a perfect topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Raye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Placid, Florida, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Glazed Meatloaf II

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I've been making a very similiar recipe for years, but this one is even better. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Photo by lilygirl

Pumpkin Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This cake was awesome!! I used canola oil instead of peanut, only 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract instead of 2, toasted pecans instead of walnuts, and didn't put any lemon juice in the frosting. Absolutely will make again. A very dense, heavy, moist cake. Turned out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Loved it! I did brown the meatballs first. No other changes and it was very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMOSIEUR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Antipasto Squares

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I am rating this as per recipe! First time I made it, followed exactly, love it. The other times I have made~one in oven now~I add red pepper flakes to the egg mixture. I have used monterey Jack cheese this time, as I have no provolone in house. It is only my husband and I so I only use one crescent package and tear in half and use an 8x8 pan. Great for any occasion, especially football season :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States