Ocala - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Funnel Cakes I

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Having lived in the Amish community I can tell you that, with the addition of a bit of nutmeg, this recipe is spot on. No need to add the vanilla & sugar (unless you REALLY like sweet stuff -- remember you're going to dust the funnel cakes with powdered sugar after they're fried).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Loved the recipe, but there is a much easier method to making it. Be sure to do all prep work before beginning, because cooking goes fast. First: combine the 2 T. cornstarch & 1/4 c. water in a 4-cup glass measure. Then add all the other sauce ingredients & stir. (I also start my rice too.) Cook the pork in Wok, push to side when almost done and add the veggies. When they are almost tender, mix the pork & veggies then pour in the sauce mixture. Cook & stir until thickened. Good stuff. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Spinach-Cheese Swirls

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I read the reviews and thought to myself, "Hmm... this recipe has some potential." I love Greek food, especially Spanikopita to I tweaked the recipe. I substituted feta cheese for the Muenster, etc., and 2 T. finely chopped yellow onion for the green onion. Then added more garlic powder than called for along with dillweed, to taste. Proceeded as directed by rolling pastry. Then chilled 30 minutes before cutting it. Turned out to be pretty good stuff. Not bland at all with the changes. I rated the recipe for the potential, not for the actual taste as written. No matter what recipe you're making, play with your food, and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This was even beter the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Verrico

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Lassie's Liver and Onions

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
For folks who say the liver was a bit tough, be sure you are using calve's liver that has been skinnex & deveined. There are a lot of tough, thick livers in the meat cases these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Kentucky Biscuits

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I almost followed the recipe "to a T," but added a wee bit more salt than just a dash to balance out the sweetness of the dough. It made for some very light and flavorful biscits. I definitely would not substitute "homemade" for the real deal when it comes to using buttermilk. I was questioning the math beforehand about how many biscuits the recipe would make. And I was correct. The recipe, patted into an exact 6x6-inch square made just 4 large (3-inch) biscuits). I used a pizza cutter. I can't imagine the tiny biscuits that cutting the dough into 12 would make. If I could, I would give the recipe a 5-star rating for ease & taste, and just 3 stars for math/# servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Photo by Beadanurse

The Big Easy Jambalaya

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This dish was delicious. I put the sausage in with the vegetables, at the beginning. I found the consistency was just right -- not to thick or watery. Also added a boneless chicken breast, cut-up & tossed with cajun seasoning - then added to the dish & cooked a bit before adding the tomatoes. This dish is definitely be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Jambalaya

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I "kinda sorta" followed the recipe. I used all ingredients per quantities but did it a bit easier. I sauteed the vegetables, then added the sausage & chicken (with the Cajun seasoning). When chicken was cooked, I added the remaining ingredients, brought it to a boil, then reduced heat, covered & simmered until rice was done & liquid was absorbed. It was delicious and so much easier than following the directions as written. Also, at the end, I stirred in 1/2-lb cooked shrimp & heated through. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Enchilada Bean Dip with Corn

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This was tasty, but a little too wet even with draining the one can of tomatoes. Rotels were a great enhancement and I believe the sour cream and green onions were a perfect topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Raye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Placid, Florida, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Glazed Meatloaf II

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I've been making a very similiar recipe for years, but this one is even better. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Photo by lilygirl

Pumpkin Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This cake was awesome!! I used canola oil instead of peanut, only 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract instead of 2, toasted pecans instead of walnuts, and didn't put any lemon juice in the frosting. Absolutely will make again. A very dense, heavy, moist cake. Turned out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Loved it! I did brown the meatballs first. No other changes and it was very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMOSIEUR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Antipasto Squares

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I am rating this as per recipe! First time I made it, followed exactly, love it. The other times I have made~one in oven now~I add red pepper flakes to the egg mixture. I have used monterey Jack cheese this time, as I have no provolone in house. It is only my husband and I so I only use one crescent package and tear in half and use an 8x8 pan. Great for any occasion, especially football season :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Springs, Florida, USA

Janine's Best Banana Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This banana bread turned out very good! After reading the reviews about it being dry I did what was suggested and used 2 eggs instead of 1 and 4 bananas instead of 3 and added a tsp. of vanillia. It was very moist and delish and I am a very picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curry Pumpkin Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Pie from EAGLE BRAND®

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
A 40 oz can of "Bruce's Sweet Potatoes" netted me only 24 oz of potato by weight, the rest was water. Since I DOUBLED the recipe I needed a small can also. Btw if you cook much a small digital scale isn't very costly. I use mine often. I warmed potatoes, (minus the water of course from the can) for about 90 seconds in the microwave & mixed room temp butter with mixer until smooth. Then mixed the other ingredients. I made the filing just before bed, refrigerated in covered mixing bowl & baked it in pie shells the next morning. For those asking measurement for pound of potato I would guess its about 2 1/4 cup per pound. Using the can potato makes this a really simple pie anyone can make. Never substitute can milk for condensed milk cuz you will surely miss the sugar. I added 1/4 tea of cream of tarter cuz I just can't leave well enough alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Panna Cotta

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Loved this. I doubled the recipe and it worked out fine. I took strawberries that I had sliced with sugar, put about 6-7 raspberry on top of that & finished with whip cream. I made them in dessert glasses. My only regret was adjusting the recipe by adding vanilla bean. The bean mostly settled in the bottom of each dessert glass. I will stick to the recipe as written. I did put the pot in ice water while cooling it down, stirring the whole time. Only took a few minutes to cool this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken In Sour Cream

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I very much enjoy this dish! I, like alot of others do not add any salt, Onion soup mix has plenty. I brown my thighs in butter, then deglaze the pan with a little white wine and add that to the mushroom/sour cream mix. Place in some carrots and potato's to the dish pour mix over all of it....complete meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Springs, Florida, USA

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I added the 1/2 teaspoon of cream of tarter as someone suggested . These are now my favorite after 35 years of making various chocolate chip recipes. Took 13 min in my electric oven. Thanks so much for sharing! The 2nd time I made these I added 3/4 c of white chocolate chips instead of nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Seven-Minute Frosting

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I'm writing a review because they're so many versions of this recipe & I don't want to lose which was my favorite. This is the frosting I use when making coconut cake. I've tried a dozen from here & Food Network & like this best. I use my kitchen aid mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States