Ocala - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
After reading through the reviews, I decided to bake mine in 2 cast iron skillets. I believe the key to not having burnt onions it to bake this in a dish, and not on a baking pan, and being sure to place the onions UNDER the chicken. I put a heavy layer of onions on the bottom (I think I used almost 3 onions.) Drizzled them with a little olive oil & seasoned with salt & pepper before continuing. Then after everything was in the frying pans, I filled in the spaces between the chicken with cut up red potatoes. Baked, covered, at 400 degrees for about 45 minutes then removed the foil and baked a few minutes longer to get that golden color. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Photo by Beadanurse

Sloppy Joes II

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I tried this, and it was just missing something. I doubled the sauce (otherwise I felt it was too dry)but only used a total of 4 T. brown sugar. Also added chopped celery, and a healthy splash of red wine vinegar. That was the "something" it needed. With the changes it is pretty good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Tyler's Raspberry Thumbprints with White Chocolate Glaze

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Good start to a terrific cookie. After reading all of the reviews, and having many people say they tasted bland I made the following changes: Omitted the chopped white chocolate chips, added 1 t. almond extract to the dough, chilled dough before placing on Silpat lined cookie sheets. Baked for 12 minutes. Delicious. They turned out very nicely. It sounds from the reviews that the almond extract was really needed. The other changes were just my preferences. Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Pat's Baked Beans

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Normally I despise any baked bean recipe that starts with baked beans. Seems a bit odd to me. However, I needed something for a crowd in a big hurry and gave this recipe a try. I did not follow the recipe's directions. I like quick & easy in certain circumstances -- and this was one of them. I simply tossed EVERYTHING into a large mixing bowl (finely diced garlic, onions & diced bacon -- and tossed in uncooked). Omitted Worcestershire and added 2 teaspoons liquid smoke. Added the beans (using whatever I had in the cabinet), but I did drain two cans. Otherwise I believe there would have been way too much liquid. (I deducted a star for lack of clarification in the recipe as to whether the beans needed to be drained or not. But GLAD I did drain 2.) Baked in the oven, uncovered, at 400 degrees F for 1 hour. Turned out nicely done. The pan was wiped out. I will use this recipe again in a pinch -- but add a bit more liquid smoke to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I was disappointed with the recipe. I cut the dough in half, making one 9-inch round pan of sticky buns, and one of cinnamon rolls. The bake time is woefully too long, resulting in a burned sugar mess on the bottom of the sticky bun pan. I will try again, making the following changes: Use a bread machine to make the dough. Add a bit of nutmeg to the dough. Spread softened butter over dough & then sprinkle with cinnamon & brown sugar for the filling. Use thread or dental floss to cut the rolls. Add 2-4 T. cream or milk to the "ooey gooey" topping in the bottom of the pan. (And I may just cube cold butter & sprinkle in the bottom of the pan with the brown sugar rather than melting together.) Change from metal to glass pans in an effort to prevent burning. Bake at 350 degrees for 18 minutes -- and start checking at 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

MMMMM... Brownies

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I added an indeterminate amount of walnuts to the batter and on top just prior to baking. Also, I hand stirred with a whisk, adding the eggs one at a time. If you're baking in a darker pan, either lower the temperature 25 degrees, or bake for less time. These are amazing, and very chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Potato Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Tastes just like the salad my mother made when I was a child. I used to love eating it while it was still warm. She used evaporated milk and added strained pickle relish, which I think I'll do next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Easy Black Bottom Cupcakes

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made it with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Basmati Rice

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This is a great recipe for boring white rice! I am rating this recipe as written! The second time I made it (right now)I used regular long grain white rice and used an orange instead of lemon. Added some chopped jalapeno's as well :) Went great with my Spiced Orange Pork Chops. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Springs, Florida, USA

Stuffed Green Peppers I

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Awesome! I boil my peppers for 5 minutes before I stuff them. Makes them more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Tried it a couple of years ago, made some changes as per other reviewers and my company loved it. Making it again this week to carry to a potluck Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I rated this recipe a 4 and the ONLY reason I did was one MAIN thing and then just something simple. PLEASE don't use canned enchilada sauce on this AMAZING recipe! This recipe is fantastic and deserves a homemade sauce! The only other thing I did different was used 1 cup of homemade chicken stock in place of the water and used thigh meat instead of breast meant, my preference :) Thanks MomSavedbyGrace for an amazing recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Springs, Florida, USA

Toscana Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Since trying this recipe, we have made it dozens of times this year. Being from the South, I use chopped collard greens in place of the kale. (The frozen collards are perfect in a pinch). This is a simply terrific soup. Great for a chilly day, even better for leftovers, if you can get lucky enough to have some left over. Thanks for the recipe, it is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
These are simply delicious! Perfect twist on a picnic staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Coated Pecans

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I used vanilla in place of some of the water, and added some brown sugar to the mix. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stir-Fried Chicken With Pineapple and Peppers

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I love stir-fry and this recipe is a good start. However, I would not add pineapple as suggested in the recipe. Strain the pineapples and use the juice, but don't add the pineapple until the end. Better yet, use FRESH pineapple. It makes a world of difference. Buit still don't add it until the end. I try not to keep a bunch of specialty ingredients for recipes cluttering my cabinets, so I just used white vinegar and white wine instead of the specialty stuff. It worked fine. Also added a bit of red pepper flakes to kick it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Classic CRISCO® Pie Crust

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Crisco's pastry has been my "go to" recipe for years. So, I just looked this up as a reminder of the ingredients & amounts since I'm traveling & don't have my cookbook with me. That being said, this recipe on Allrecipes is missing some important details. It jumps from just having made the dough & dividing in -- to placing the rolled dough into the pie plate. It totally skips over how thick to roll the dough for pie crust. BTW: I never make this by hand. I use the food processor and "pulse" in the ingredients, in order, until I get a nice dough ball. Then roll out to 1/8-inch thick. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Best Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Worst bread machine recipe I've ever made -- and this wasn't my first rodeo. Followed directions and didn't change a thing. Bread fell flat and was dense in the middle. Won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Jennie's Heavenly Slow Cooker Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Has been a favorite of mine for years. Double the recipe and cut boneless breasts into large bite size pieces and it's great for 8-10. Serve over pasta or rice. The wine offers a gourmet touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I bake a lot of bread, and I've made a lot of pizzas in my time. This was absolutely the best tasting, and easiest pizza dough ever. I added some oregano, thyme & garlic to the crust. I didn't have any beer on hand, so I just used water. Can't wait to try it with the beer. Recipe was perfect for one large pizza. This will now be my "go to" recipe for pizza dough. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States