Fort Myers - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
How can this not be anything but DELICIOUS with all those wonderful ingredients! All kinds of smiley faces on this one! :) :) :) etc. Thanks Cindy for a dessert recipe that is a real treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Avocado Salad with Bacon and Sour Cream

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
YUM! I'm a avocado lover anyway and this is just another delicious way to prepare it. Goes great with Slow Cooker Carnitas from this site. Thanks TXGIRL for giving my taste buds a real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This is delicious! I had never heard of carnitas before so it was fun to try something different and it did not disappoint. I only had a 2# pork roast but I kept the spices the amount of the spices the same. Cooked on low for around 6 hours and then browned in the oven for 15 min. and it was perfect! Thanks Erin Parker for submitting such a easy and great tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68

Almost No Fat Banana Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This was very good considering it was so low fat. One thing I did, which I always do with banana bread, was to wrap it in foil and leave it overnight. Banana bread always tastes better to me after doing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
good sauce.... i marinated thick bone-in chops..good grade of pork, and i thought they would be soo tender. WRONG! tuff, over cooked. i have a hard time w / pork. an hour was way too long. maybe 40 minutes tops. the sauce was tasty tho..may try again. and test after 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pulaski, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68

Jimmbo's Garlic Knots

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Very good! I think I'll buy the Publix fresh pizza dough next time, the canned breads always have a strange taste to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by Victoria68

Seattle Cream Cheese Dogs

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
My husband grew up just outside of Seattle and I can't believe he held out on me about these for so many years!!! He casually mentioned them a couple of weeks ago and I said "OMG, cream cheese on a hot dog...yes please!". Funny how something so simple can turn out to be so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Pork Chops with Apples, Sweet Potatoes, and Sauerkraut

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Not a favorite. The flavor just wasn't there. I'll tweek it a bit to fit my family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Excellent recipe for Au Gratin potatoes. DH doesn't like onion but I like the flavor it adds so I grate 1/2 a small onion fine and sauté it in the butter till soft and then proceed with making the sauce as instructed. No large pieces of onion are in the dish which makes him happy but it adds wonderful flavor that makes me happy. I like to use a couple types of cheese such as Cheddar, Havarti, and American. Wonderful recipe. Thanks Cathy for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Warm Hug

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Oh Yum!! I made this for an after dinner treat tonight and loved it! I made an Italian hot chocolate from scratch - Cioccolata Calda (Hot Chocolate Italian-Style) that wasn't too sweet and loved the addition of Bailey's and Crème De Cacao. Topped my cup with some whipped cream and it was a divine drinkable dessert. Good recipe ellie, one I'm sure to be enjoying a lot this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Coffee Nudge

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This is sooooo goooood! Made enough just for me reducing the ingredients down to 1 serving with the exception of using a full ounce of crème de cocoa because I like the chocolaty flavor of it. This is the ideal after dinner coffee because it's like coffee and dessert rolled up into one. Nice blend of ingredients MADAMMOCHA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Roasted Cauliflower 'Steaks'

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Oh My! Where have you been hiding all these years!!! For being so simple and easy it is really, really good. I went for the garlic powder option and at the last minute decided to sprinkle on some Mrs. Dash Original seasoning. I think this added a lot to the flavor. Thank you SPetrocelly for sharing this recipe. It's my new best way to fix cauliflower. Next time I will add the Parmesan cheese as suggested by Marilyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I did not deviate from the original recipe even though I was tempted!!! Mine turned out tasty, but just a little dry. Wasn't as moist as I had hoped for. So next time...and there will be a next time...I am going to take some of the other reviewers advice and see what happens. I really like this recipe and have high hopes it will meet my expectations the next time around. Thanks Laurie Bennett for this recipe and hopefully I will get it right!!! I will change my rating if it does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cioccolata Calda (Hot Chocolate Italian-Style)

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
O.M.G.! Now this is hot chocolate! Not real sweet and a nice deep chocolate flavor that is heavenly creamy. I used 2% milk that yielded a just right consistency and another time with full fat milk which made a slightly thicker consistency that I loved too, neither time though did it get "pudding" thick. I top my mug of hot chocolate with whipped cream and would opt for this anytime over many desserts it was that good. Nice proportion of ingredients nikwit, thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Dutch Babies II

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
So Good! I never had a Dutch Baby and wanted to try one and picked this recipe. Very good and so easy to make. It's light and somewhat custardy and just absolutely delicious. Great Grandmother knew what she was doing and I'm happy you shared her recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Scented Applesauce-Cinnamon Ornaments

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I had to work a lot more cinnamon into the mix to get the dough to hold. Not sure how much because I made 1/3 of the recipe and just kept shaking more cinnamon into the bowl till I got a dough that was dry enough to work with. I also found that adding some white glue into the mix helped to keep it together. It smells amazing and 1/3 of the recipe yielded 8 (4") snowflake cutouts at 1/4 " thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Shorecook's Cashew Brittle

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Wonderful and indulgent recipe. The softness of the cashews are a nice contrast to the crunchy brittle and the saltiness balances the sweetness ideally. I used a combination of whole and coarsely chopped cashews and a generous 1.5 cup measure so there were lots of cashews in every bite. Very nice for holiday gift giving and a nice change from using peanuts. Using the microwave was really easy too. Just make sure you use a bowl big enough to accommodate "bubbling" when cooking and one with a handle (if you can) because the bowl does get hot and having a handle makes it easier to hold. (recipe made for *RECIPE GROUP*) Thanks SHORECOOK for sharing this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Vegetables With Thyme and Maple Syrup

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This dish was not only easy to make but tasted fabulous! In that I was not using fresh thyme I simply sprinkled with dry using my judgment. I love the hint of sweetness the maple syrup gives which is just enough. Ideal subtle combination of savory and sweet while still being able to taste the wholesome goodness of the vegetables. (recipe made for *RECIPE GROUP*). Another winning recipe by Don!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Baked Oatmeal II

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
mmmMMM, mmmMMM good! Love baked oatmeal, it's like a soft oatmeal muffin in a pan but made with all oats (no flour or fillers). I usually have this for breakfast so I cut way back on the brown sugar and use only 1/4 c. and find it sweet enough. The nice thing about this type of recipe is that it's "tweekable" to preferences. My favorite is to omit the dried cranberries and use cocoa nibs and unsweetened flaked coconut instead and I often add chopped walnuts. I also use coconut oil instead of butter. The recipe is great as written and I enjoy being able to customize it to taste and still have it turn out well. I like it thicker too and bake it in an 8x8 square pan and find 30 minutes enough time. While it's still warm I scoop out a serving and drizzle it with cream. Thanks BLANCHL for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Really good. However, prep time is quite a bit longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hubbard Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States