Daytona Beach - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Easy. Just take one step at a time. I did run out of honey and subbed sugar for more than half of the honey. I made 3 large loaf and 3 mini loaves and adjusted the baking time a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma VanDoren's White Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Actually really easy with a KitchenAide. I follow the recipe exactly but for baking only had mini loaf pans. Made 4mini loaves, a pan of cinnamon rolls and froze enough dough to make 3 more mini loaves later out of 1 recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Refrigerator Lemon Margarita Pie

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This pie is amazingly easy and amazingly delicious! I made it for our RiverHouse Cheeseburger in Paradise Party today, and it will be a huge HIT along with the Live Music of Donnie playing his amazing guitar!! People will be dancing in the pool while others are nibbling on this PIE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Exceeded my expectations! I had three half loaves of white italian / wheat italian / bakery white bread, threw them un the toaster and/or in the oven to toast up before mixing them in. I think I may have used more than the 10 slices but my mixture was heavily moist but not soupy when I put it in the pans. I used 2 8x8 disposable brownie pans, fit perfectly. Baked in 1 hr and didn't cover. Also didn't have a cup of raisins so threw in a handful of craisins. Equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I make a bunny cake every Easter ( a tradition in the family) Thought I would make a carrot cake from scratch this year and came across this recipe. This will be a keeper!! I followed the recipe and only changed the walnut ingredient to pecans ( I had a big bag in the freezer) The cake turned out moist and the frosting was perfect and easy to work with. Next time I make this cake I might add a little more spice, with this being said the cake is perfect as is with the 2 tsp of cinnamon if you like a lightly spiced cake. I like the chunky texture of the nuts, coconut, and pineapple. I am adding this to my recipe box now. Thank you Marc for the yummy recipe! By the way, this recipe makes two perfect 9 inch round cakes. I only needed one for my bunny and froze the other one, with the left over frosting. Can't wait to see how it taste after freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayakjoan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tequesta, Florida, USA

Golden Sweet Cornbread

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This recipe is excellent. I only had one thing different with mine...I used raw, unfiltered Maine wild flower honey. It's sweeter than regular honey but made it very moist. Mine did not crumble at all (as GSTAR has stated). I think if yours did, it was over cooked just a tad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawnnaaa90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I thought this recipe was okay. If I didn't take suggestions from other members on seasoning the steak beforehand it would've been tasteless. I seasoned a top sirloin roast with salt (plenty of it), fresh ground black pepper, garlic and thyme. I used a Scottish Ale but could have used a Guiness instead. I should have left the strings on the meat while it was cooking because when it was done it shredded to bits, which I could work with but I was looking forward to the "shaved" style more. I also added Worcestershire sauce to it. Without those add ons, it would have been 1 star. Sorry! Hope this helped some of you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawnnaaa90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
As much as I loved the flavor of the chicken and how easy it was to put together, it's really better for pizza or a wrap. It was way too messy for sandwiches. The only change I made was to do a nice "gloop" of ranch dressing in with the buff sauce to add more moisture. My chicken came out so juicy and not dried out at all and it shredded beautifully. Also, to anyone who had the issue of dried up chicken, make sure your crock pot isn't malfunctioning. Check your user manual to see what the temp should be for "low" setting and use a thermometer to check it. If it's off then that's why your chicken dried out (it cooked too fast). Hope this helped someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawnnaaa90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Bean Dip

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Easy as stated. We added Frank's Red Hot to it when we served it. Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pepperoni Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I use the Kroger frozen bread, turns out great. Instead of the separate spices I just sprinkle Italian Seasoning to make it easier. Do seal up the seams so cheese doesn't ooze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
These are better than the bakery! Super easy. I don't like as much sugar mixture on the top so I half it and it's still abundant. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Chicken Piccata

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Very tasty, my wife loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rehj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

Apple Butter Pork Loin

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Kids and husband love AppleButter Pork night. Easy enough to do on school night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Delicious. I go ahead and boil the noodles the regular way and don't try to shave time off there. Too much time invested to have half done noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spanish Rice II

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I make it with regular brown rice (with normal cooking time of 45 mins) and it's fantastic as well. Just let it cook that extra 15 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Chips

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Like others have said, spray the plate with pam then spray the top of the slices, then microwave. I soaked my slices for 10 minutes in cold water then rinsed and dried really well prior to cooking. Awesomeness in every single batch so far :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
If you like rice pudding you will love this recipe. I made it a few day's ago and did not change a thing. I made it again tonight and only used half the raisins called for and added about 1 tsp. in the rice pudding while it was cooking then sprinkled some on the top after I poured it into a dish. Great recipe for left over rice. All the ingredients I had on hand.....how easy is that!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayakjoan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tequesta, Florida, USA

Dave's Low Country Boil

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I have been looking for a seafood boil recipe and found it. This is a good one and I will be making this again. The only changes were that I used Spiny lobster tails (I catch them myself, lucky me) instead of crab and throw in a bag of seafood seasoning along with the Old Bay Seasoning as recommended (cuts down on the mess and adds more flavor) The seafood bags can be found at your local market next to the Old Bay Seasoning. The reviewers suggested a lemon sliced in half, squeeze in the pot, then add the lemon to the pot. I did this also. Great recipe and easy! Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayakjoan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tequesta, Florida, USA

Aussie Omelet

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Delicious! I only used two eggs--single serving--and made ALL the filling with extra shrimp and a handful of fresh spinach, then refrigerated half the filling so I can enjoy for lunch with some pasta or rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

Puerto Rican Breakfast Custard

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Maiezena, oh my, I ate this all the time growing up, made it for my girls as well....filling and tasty luv it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chichi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States