Brandon, Florida - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Marinated Tuna Steak

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This marinade is too salty! I'll either cut the soy sauce in half next time or find an alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I have also altered this recipe a little. I also added the Worcester sauce, italian seasoned bread crumbs, a green pepper finely chopped, and a packet of French onion soup mix. Omg amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Hart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Squirrel's Great Beef Steak

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
My family loves this recipe. We have used it many times and always want more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELALO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Florida, USA
Living In: Wimauma, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori

Pressure Cooker Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I used my new Elite 10Qt Pressure Cooker. This turned out fantastic! I used boneless skinless breasts. My pressure cooker automatically sets the time and it cooked frozen breasts in 8 minutes and they were moist and tender. It seems some may have cooked theirs too long and thus the dryness. After spooning out the breasts, used some of the leftover broth to cook rice in the pressure cooker. Served with stir fry veggies! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

Mystery Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This cake was just so-so to me. It was moist and I loved the idea of using beets, but I was looking for more chocolate flavor. I paired it with a fudge frosting and that helped some, but I think next time I'll try a beet cake that uses baking chocolate. If you're looking for a nice, moist cake with mild chocolate flavor, this might be for you. If you're like me and want lots of chocolate flavor, you might want to try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smaakmaker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Beef I

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Save your steak for something else! I made it the way it was written and it was a thick gooey mess even before adding the broccoli. There was nothing to steam the broccoli in so I added more broth...and more broth...to finally cook the broccoli. Needed more Soy and pretty much everything else to add flavor. It was just a sweet gooey mess of bland flour, meat and broccoli. Went to suggestions here and added more flavor before serving. Still not a winner in my house and a waste of expensive meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I was debating what to give my kids for dinner and thought about something quick...pancakes!!! We devoured those cakes and they we're GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vibzmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Great easy meal! I took 9 frozen chicken breasts (4 hungry guys and me, so 2 each and 1 for me) and defrosted in the microwave for about 15 minutes with a few glugs of Olive Oil, salt, pepper and minced Garlic (I cheated and added it from the jar) and some butter to make it stick. (You can leave the kitchen, or in my case, the house for 30 minutes and work out during this time!) Breasts all coated well and thawed, dip into mixture as stated but also added 1 cup of crushed Corn Flakes to give it more crunch and a dash of Cayenne Pepper and Garlic Salt. Chopped fresh Basil, because I have it in my garden and love it! Okay for you people that HATE when someone changes the recipe; there wouldn't be any comments if no one changed it to their liking! :) Topped with some Mozzarella cheese the last 10 minutes and turned up to 375. DON'T OVERCOOK! It was moist and delicious! Served with Seasoned Broccoli and Garlic Parmesan Mashed Potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA
Photo by Lori

Tater Tot Casserole II

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Yum! You gotta try subbing Cheddar Cheese or Nacho Cheese Soup instead of one of the other soups! Amazing! I did add some chopped onion and garlic while browning the meat and added a layer of frozen mixed vegetables and instead cooked on 400 degrees for 30 minutes and the taters browned nice and crispy. I didn't understand why it needed to cook for 1 hour when the only thing that needed to cook were the Tater Tots? Tossed a handful of shredded mexican cheese on top! I let everyone season with a seasoned salt & pepper blend at the table for their own taste. I added a photo of the glorious outcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Wow! This was superb! I made this in less than 30 minutes after work and it tasted like it took hours. I read many of the reviews and took some hints from each. I did not have Sherry so I substituted Pinot Grigio. I used about 3 cups of mushrooms that I had on hand before they went bad and it was perfect. Added a Tablespoon of minced garlic and about 3 Tablespoons of Corn Starch and some said to add cream but I didn't have any so .... I used a couple of splashes of Sugar Free Italian Sweet Cream Cofeemate and that made it awesome! Not too sweet, not too bold. This is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

Classic Meatloaf

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
The time is correct but you must put it in an open pan and shape as he does in the video. If you are making it in a loaf pan it has to cook longer. I cooked as he did in video and it was right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apfire8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brandon, Florida, USA

Barbecued Bulgur and Beef

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
My whole family really liked this recipe, even my daughter who doesn't care for "sloppy joe" type dishes. I followed the recipe but did add a little smoked paprika,Worcestershire sauce and garlic powder since I know we like a lot of flavor. It was great, we loved the texture and it was very filling. It was a little sweet for us so next time I'll cut back on the sugar a bit and maybe add some more spices. I'm always looking for new ways to add whole grains and fiber to our diet and this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smaakmaker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cuban Goulash

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I was looking for something "different" and decided to try this. I had all the ingredients but after reading ALL the reviews, I decided to embellish. I am amazed that some would add water and then claim no flavor! Really? Duh!! Added to the recipe as posted...Cumin, Sazon and Italian seasonings and went ahead and salt and peppered. Added 2 cups Italian diced tomatoes and 1 can mild Rotel and a couple of splashes of V-8 juice. Diced up a sweet potato I had as well for added sweetness. I threw in some Elbow Macaroni and a handful of Quinoa and cooked it right in the same huge covered skillet which soaked up the juice nicely. No need to cook noodles separate and dirty up more pots! The pasta and quinoa is so much more flavorful cooked right in with the recipe! This was FANTASTIC on our 1st 2013 COLD Florida day (32 degrees) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

Tiramisu II

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was an easy recipe to follow and it was delicious! Even better than the Tiramisu from our favorite restaurant. Next time I'll take the time to brew extra strong coffee so the coffee flavor really shines through. Thanks for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lovely Linguine

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Great dish, no reason to change anything. I've been a fire house cook for 24 years. This is an excellent dish. If people change ingredients then create your own recipe and post. And for Naples comment, there is nothing wrong with adding olive oil to your boiling noodles when the dish is oil based with olive oil or butter. Your misconception comes from pasta dishes where you don't want oil in the noodle water as it causes the sauce to repel from the noodle on the plate. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apfire8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brandon, Florida, USA

Jamie's Cranberry Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I love this salad! Over the years this recipe, and the recipe for Strawberry Spinach Salad have become my go-to salad recipes. They never fail to impress and are delicious! I keep this dressing, and the dressing for the Strawberry Spinach Salad mixed up at all times in mason jars in my fridge, I make them that much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Cake III

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I look forward to fall every year just so I can make this cake! It's so moist and flavorful. Foolproof recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
If I could give these 10 stars I would! PERFECT, and the best pancakes I've ever had! I sub half whole wheat flour, and they are still light and fluffy and delicious! We have been making these every Saturday for the last few years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I boil and shred my own chicken breasts, but other than that, follow the recipe exactly. It's a dip that I crave, and make whenever we have a football game on or a casual get together with friends. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This is perfect exactly as written, and whenever I make I am always asked for the recipe! Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States