Boca Raton - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Suzy's Mashed Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Really good! I may not use regular potatoes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Adair

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeff Adair

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Turned out really well. I added sautéed mushrooms. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Adair

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I made these Ricotta Meatballs today and they were delicious. I followed the recipe exact, except i mixed fresh Basil & Parsley together to make 1/4 cup. Since I like larger meatballs, I made each one about 2 1/2 inches, which gave me 13 and baked them on 375* for about 20 minutes turning a few times. I finished off in the pan as the recipe calls. For my hubby who loves pasta, a chopped the meatballs and put on top of the pasta. Myself just ate them as is. This is a recipe that I will definitely make again. Served this with Chef John's Stacked Tomato & Burrata Salad also on this site, and a crusty garlic french bread. Thank you Chef John for all of your wonderful recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Taco Filling

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Surprised this was so good. I am constantly looking for creative ways to cook chicken because it is cheaper and healthier than red meat. I used to large chicken breasts and cooked on high for 3.5 hours. I was worried that it would be soggy as some other reviewers commented but it wasn't at all after mashing/shredding. Gave it 4 stars because I added onion and then garlic half way through the cooking time. Going on the regular dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Luscious Spinach Artichoke Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Loved this. Made it for a small gathering and it was eaten right up. Had out some whole grain crackers as well as some celery and carrot sticks to dip with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

Chef John's Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Fantastic stuffed peppers. I was looking for a good recipe for these as the couple I tried out fell short. I got some lovely large green bells and the stuffing mixture and sauce was just perfect. Didn't change a thing. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I didn't change anything. This is a nice recipe to have on hand to toss in the slow cooker and let do its own thing on a busy day. I prefer my mom's, but this is serviceable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I used this recipe many times for both chicken and turkey. Last time I roasted a chicken I used a very popular roasted chicken recipe on this site and I wish I used this one! I always sub out the Rosemary for the different types of Italian seasoning I have laying around. It's delicious under the skin either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Sweet Cornbread

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Perfect! Family loved it. This is a recipe to always keep on hand. I didn't change a thing, made it as is, in a cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Photo by Robin M Berman

Pumpkin Bread Pudding

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I used whole milk instead of soy milk, and milk chocolate chips not raisins, and added icing on top after it was baked. Icing was made with vanilla, confectioners sugar and milk. I cooked it in a 9 by 13" glass dish for one hour. When I made it and put it into the fridge I was worried it was too mushy, but it came out perfect. Delicious and it was very easy to make. I used one day old French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin M Berman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin M Berman

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Came out great. I followed the recipe almost exactly only used a short cut instead of real bacon I used packaged real bacon bits from Oscar Meyer, I mixed it into the sweet onions and garlic which I sautéed in butter. I liked the way it came out with the onions and bacon and I didn't have any issues with the cheese sauce or making the sauce in the pot (cooking the milk mixture) and no issues with floury taste as others have stated. I am sure maybe you could add more cheddar cheese to the main mix but it was good the way it was IMO. I did add a little bit of salt before putting it in the casserole dish. I will see how my fiancé likes it when he comes home from work later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin M Berman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Melted Witch

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Fun little Halloween cocktail. Actually why limit it to Halloween, it's great any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

Candy-Coated Chocolates Cookie Mix In A Jar

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
These were quite tasty. Tested the recipe before giving. I don't get the disgusting and inedible comments. They were far from that. And you need to pack the flour first or it WILL settle, just as others have suggested. Thanks for sharing this one, it makes a very cute gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

Caramelized Butternut Squash Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Absolutely delicious. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

On Wisconsin Beer Brats

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Delicious! They weren't soggy or mushy at all. I didn't leave them in for a full 5 hours though, and made up the kraut separately. As others have mentioned, prick the brats all over with a fork and grill them just a bit before putting them in the bath, makes them even that much better. The pricking prevents the mushiness and expansion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

"Pantry Raid" Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Excellent flavor and a good quick meal to have on hand for weekdays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

Chef John's Pumpkin Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I made these today exactly as stated. I have to say that they were excellent. Very light and fluffily. You definitely have to whip up the flour mixture for the said two minutes. I really feel that this is the clue to making these pancakes so fantastic. I will for sure be making these time and time again. This recipe is a keeper. Thank you Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Really great meatballs. I didn't add the hot sauce and added about half the red pepper (a packet from the pizza hut package)and it gave it flavor without the spicy punch. Otherwise cooked exactly as is (I double the recipe or else it would be gone immediately) and everyone goes crazy over it. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parker's Famous Margaritas

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Not horrible, but not my favorite margarita. I use all fresh limes and lime juice, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

Steak Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Excellent. When we grill steak we always do extra to have steak salad the next day. I marinate the leftover steak in red wine then build my salad. The dressing is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States