Florida - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by lutzflcat

Sweet Potato Hummus

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I don't use tahini often enough to keep it on hand; have bought it in the past and ended up throwing it away (a waste of $$$). The folks at the local Asian market told me that a good sub for tahini is a little peanut butter and sesame oil, so that's what I use. When you drain your garbanzo beans, reserve your liquid, as I ended up adding quite a bit of water to reach a creamy & smooth consistency in the food processor, and that bean liquid would have added flavor to the hummus. Also, doubtful you'll need to microwave your sweet potatoes for 15 minutes, mine were on the smaller side but were done in 4. This hummus has a mellow/mild flavor with the subtle sweet potato flavor in the background. The recipe doesn't say what size potatoes to use, so if you use large ones, the sweet potato flavor may be more pronounced (that would be a good thing). Garnished with a drizzle of olive oil and some chopped macadamia nuts and sea salt pita chips as dippers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Easy Coleslaw Dressing

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I was in need of a basic coleslaw dressing and this fit the bill perfectly. I added a tiny amount of celery seed and some garlic powder but otherwise, stuck to the recipe. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Fluffy White Frosting

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Exactly what I wanted. White fluffy frosting that isn't super sweet/rich like buttercream. Holds up well at room temperature or in fridge. Loved it, an old school classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Diane Ridout

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Valentine's Day French Toast

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I used 2 eggs and a little more milk than indicated, and this turned out fine. This was good, but this recipe is pretty much the way I've made french toast all of my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Spicy Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
excellent sandwich which coupled with rich roasted tomato soup made from our garden tomatoes was delicious. Only changes I made was to use mayo instead of butter on bread for a nice brown crisp crust and used onion rings and jalapeño thin slices that don't fall out when sandwich is flipped. This grilled cheese sandwich cries out for the wonder bread white bread style that is so tasteless in anything but a grilled sandwich… Grew up with that as a child and can't mess with success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Indialantic, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Brownies

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Tried this on a whim. Surprisingly very light! Really good taste! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellsworth, Maine, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Summer Squash Puffs

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
This was fantastic! I did change a few things. I didn't have any squash so I used zucchini. I used coconut oil and added a little garlic salt and cayenne pepper. I also added some white cheddar cheese. Oh yeah, and I added about a tsp of chipotle pepper sauce. YUMMY My 4yr old love them dipped in honey mustard. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YINMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooksville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

Ginger Sekanjabin

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Shut the front door! And the back door! Then lock em both cuz I'm not sharing this! Because I had frozen ginger, I added a quite bit more than called for. Don't be me. Man, is it spicy! It tones down a good deal when added to sparkling water, though. Such a weird and wonderful recipe! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Zucchini Herb Casserole

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I was pleasantly surprised. Of course I read the reviews, added dill weed, less oil, yellow onion instead of green, and much less cheddar on top. I wanted something light to go with a steak for two & there was a zucchini I wanted to incorporate into a meal. I liked it! Husband came back for seconds- always a good indicator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inthe kitchen247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arcadia, Florida, USA

Angel Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I've been making this recipe for years! The only thing I do different is use chicken broth in place of the white wine and it is always a hit no matter who I am cooking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

Savory Chicken and Stuffing Bake

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I have made this recipe many times and it is very good. I do add more paprika, other than that follow the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANGOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Roquefort Pear Salad

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I now understand why this recipe has had so many 5-star reviews. It's simply divine, and one of the best salads I've had in a long, long time! Followed the recipe to the letter except for using Dijon mustard, instead of the regular yellow prepared mustard. You get layer upon layer of fresh and bright flavor, every single ingredient complements the other (without one dominating), the dressing on its own is awesome, and those caramelized pecans just take it over the top. The next time this salad makes a repeat performance in this house it'll have grilled & chilled shrimp, perfect for a summer main course salad. This one's heading into my Favorites folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This was excellent!! Picky hubs thought it was better than the take out place close to us. I will definitely be making this again. The only thing I will do different is use less vinegar in the sauce. It was just a bit to "zingy" for us. Mine thickened up perfectly. I did saute a red and yellow bell pepper and then proceeded with the sauce in the same pan. I used a 20 oz can of pineapple in its own juice and used it all. This does make a good bit of sauce so I'm going to freeze it and have it ready for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Tater Tot Taco Casserole

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
My kids liked the tater tots. I didn't use enchilada sauce, but instead replaced it with 8 oz of tomato sauce. I also baked the tots first until nice and crispy. I added a can of diced chilies. I put the beef and veggie mixture at the bottom of the casserole dish. I covered that with the cooked tots and sprinkled the Mexican cheese on top. I then placed the dish in a preheated oven (375 degrees) until cheese was nice and melted. It's a nice quick meal for busy days, but not amazing or anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Baked Mini Doughnuts

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I used a mini-doughnut pan, and the piping bag really is the way to go (if you have one). My doughnuts were cooked at 9 minutes, so start checking early. I know oven temps vary, but these are small, and it wouldn't take much for them to overbake and dry out. I wondered if the sugar mixture would stick, since many other recipes call for you to first dip them in melted butter...well, it did! I would think coating them while the muffins are still warm is key, since they still have a little moisture on the outside, still steaming a bit. Thanks, authenticnut, we enjoyed your mini doughnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Crescent Dogs

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I just subsituted in Johnsonville breakfast links to change this up a little and served on a Sunday morning. You can get 2 links in each roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Pina Colada Smoothie

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
My blender really struggled blending the frozen fruit (maybe it's time I invested in a Vitamix?), so I had to add more milk which, unfortunately, diluted the flavor a bit. Yogurt doesn't come in 8-oz containers anymore, so I used just one of the 5.3 oz containers of Chobani® coconut Greek yogurt (couldn't find toasted coconut vanilla yogurt) and a good dollop of Cabot® vanilla Greek yogurt which added quite a bit of tang. I liked this smoothie, but didn't think it really was too close to a pina colada flavor (admittedly, that could have been a result of having to add more milk). Toasted a little coconut which was a nice garnish and added some needed coconut flavor to the smoothie. Next time, I will try only one frozen fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Easy Creamy Caesar Salad Dressing

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I used 1 egg instead of egg beaters and olive oil. Because I was out of anchovy paste and had only tins of anchovies (didn't want to pop a tin for 2 anchovies), I worried about insufficient umami flavor. The anchovy wasn't missed at all, the Worcestershire sauce provided a good savory note. Either would do fine on it's own. What was missing was acid. With only 2 teaspoons of mustard to brighten ? cup oil, the flavor was quite muddy and flat. After adding 1 tablespoon lemon juice, it was considerably improved. With that modification, 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Mango Pineapple Salsa

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
This was good with toasted sea salt pita chips for Cinco de Mayo, but tomorrow, what's left will be served over grilled chicken (would be great on fish, as well). Good balance of sweetness from the mango and pineapple, offset well by the heat of the jalapeños. Welcome change from traditional tomato salsa. Thanks, henesy, for a new salsa recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Mango Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I always put the oats in first on an oatmeal smoothie, grind them to a powder (simply because I like that texture better than pieces of oatmeal), and I used vanilla Greek yogurt instead of plain. My mango was not frozen, so I did add some crushed ice to reach that perfectly chilled, creamy, thick texture. Enjoyed today as an afternoon snack. Very nice smoothie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States