Florida - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Robin M Berman

Orange Tilapia

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Used hog fish, 3 fillets. Used about 3 cloves of garlic and added orange zest to the topping mixture. Salted fish before adding topping. Really liked it, had to broil at end for about 5 or 6 minutes to brown. The oj in the baking pan turned into a sauce. Tried making a sauce with the marinade but ruined it with too much cornstarch which became lumpy. Great recipe, nice orange buttery crunchy flavor. My 10yo son ate all his fish, he liked it, so that means it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin M Berman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*

Scott's Grilled Salmon

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
This fish was so easy and so amazingly good. I had three 8.5 oz. fillets, so I just mixed up the marinade in a measuring cup and poured a little bit onto each fish while in sitting on their sheet of foil. I then sprinkled the Old Bay, salt and ground pepper, some minced garlic, and the teaspoon of capers, topping each with two lemon slices and a sprig of garden fresh rosemary. I then sealed all edges well into a pocket leaving room for the steam to expand. I also let the fish marinate in the foil packets for 30 minutes before cooking. I only made half the sauce since I could only get a tablespoon of lemon zest from my two lemons, but it was plenty for us. I just added about a teaspoon of minced rosemary and teaspoon of olive oil, a tablespoon seemed a bit much for our taste. I wasn't sure I'd like the sauce, but boy it sure was wonderful on the fish. I really wouldn't want to smother the fish with it since the fish was so refreshing even without it. We cooked on gas grill at 400° for 16 minutes and ate them right in the foil packets. This is going on our summer grilling rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by Amanda

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Brownies

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
These were so good! The texture was really smooth and the peanut butter flavor was very prevalent! My family loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by Amanda

Grits, Sausage, and Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
This is such a delicious way to make grits! All of the ingredients are perfectly balanced! I did add a touch of salt while cooking the grits and saved a bit of cheese to top the casserole. Baked perfectly in 45 minutes for me. Will be making this again! Would be great for company and brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by *Sherri*

Savory Spanish Potato Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I could not find small sized red potatoes, so I just cut up one pound of red potatoes into bite sized pieces and boiled them about ten minutes. I know it isn't as pretty but it sure did taste wonderful, and was very easy to prepare. I did use white wine vinegar since my potatoes were cut already. We all loved this and such a nice refreshing change from the mayo potato salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Creamiest Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I had rice pudding soup. Sorry! Tasted good but there is something wrong with the liquid part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

Cream of Chicken and Gnocchi Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
This was my first time with Gnocchi and it wasn't bad. When I go to OG, I have to admit I eat a different soup, so I really can't compare. If you like Gnocchi, I would say it is wonderful because a great flavor was there. I myself think Gnocchi is a little more doughy then what I prefer, so next time I might cut them in half. I did have one small sub, just that I used half-n-half for the milk also. I did listen to some comments about boiling the Gnocchi before hand, but I have to admit, I don't think it was necessary. I had some leftover rotisserie chicken so that saved a step for me and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I've been making this recipe for years! The only thing different I do is use chicken broth instead of water to fill the crock pot. (Or I just add some bouillon cubes to the mix.)Sometimes I'll add frozen peas and carrots as well. Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Based on other reviews, I cut the maple syrup in half and it came out wonderful. Definitely would have been too sweet if I used the full 1/2 cup as in the recipe. Overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

Bleu Cheese Macaroni

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
As other reviewers stated, I cut back on the flour and doubled the cream, but the sauce was still too thick to me and my husband. The flavor overall was amazing. I will just add a lot more cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Photo by Courtney Wilcox

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This dish was just ok in my humble opion... I wasn't bad at all, it just wasn't anything to rave over. Normally, any dish Chef John makes he could throw on the floor and I'd still eat it.( Like I know him) But on this dish, I think I would pass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Wilcox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by MAXBASS

Grape and Avocado Salsa

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
The recipe is excellent. The amount of effort chopping the grapes was my primary issue. I made the recipe exact. In the future, I'll add at least 1/2 of a fresh jalapeno for some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAXBASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by samantha

Pound Cake III

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Love this pound cake! I added lemon extract (1 tsp) and a homemade buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by samantha

Butter Cream Frosting II

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I made this recipe as is and omg, this was absolutely the best buttercream I've ever tasted. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salt and Pepper Skillet Fries

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Made these in our cast iron skillet while camping, nice and tasty and easy for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Original Irish Cream

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
First, for those that are thinking "Bailey's"... forget it. This is not a copy-cat recipe. I say that because I had been hoping that it would be something akin to Bailey's and I was disappointed. Now, having said that, it's not too bad for a cream-liquor drink and I will probably make it again (with some modifications). I followed the recipe exactly except that I doubled everything in order to fill one of my 1/2 gallon growlers. Doubling everything makes a little more than a 1/2 gallon. Also, I used an entire 750ml (25 oz) bottle of Jameson Irish Whiskey so 1 2/3 C of whiskey was off just a small amount (.0975oz). As written, this recipe is 3-stars (OK). When I make it again, I will be cutting the amount of chocolate syrup in half. I'm not a huge chocolate milk fan and this recipe was too much like chocolate milk for my liking. Other than that, I will keep everything else the same. Unlike many, I didn't find the almond extract overpowering nor the amount of whiskey too strong; but to each his/her own. I would suggest trying it as written first... then decide on what adjustments need to be implemented. Don't assume that because someone else says that "... its too strong..." that you will find it to be true for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tietjen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Chicken with Basil Stir Fry

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I added more mushrooms. This dish is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Mann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Liked this combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Alba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA

Spinach Brownies

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I followed the recipe. I was just about to declare "bleh" when my 7 year old Official Taster started begging for more "brownies". I didn't think they were anything special but my Big Boy loved them. I'm not a proponent of making a good recipe low-fat, but as previous reviewers indicate, butter can definitely be reduced. They're almost too greasy with the full amount. Im also wondering if a slightly smaller pan would work better to make them not as thin...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aesj22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

Red Lentil Taco Soup - Connoisseurus Veg

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Very tasty. In order to make it soupy, I had to add another 4 cups of vegetable broth. So next time I'm only going to use half the called for amount of red lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Reed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States