Florida - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
While this was simple to put together and it baked up just fine, I thought the flavor was just "OK."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Pumpkin Cheesecake

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
These were very popular at a neighborhood party we hosted last week. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Fried Catfish

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I always eliminate the buttermilk stage, never thought it added a thing to the taste. But the seasoning of the cornmeal and flour is spot on. If you are having trouble getting the batter to stick, place prepared catfish in the freezer for 15-20 min. Then go directly to the hot oil. At 375 degrees the fish will be crispy brown in about 7-8 min, turning once. If you want to pump up the golden color of the fish, add 1/4 tea of turmeric to the cornmeal mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I made this for the first time today and I don't have a bundt pan so I used my Angel Food Cake Pan. It smelt like it was burning, so I had to take it out after one hour and scrape off some of the edges. Looks ok. Just hope inside is done and ok and taste good. I stuck butter knife into a couple places and it came out clean, so I an hoping. I tasted the glaze & it was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Sargent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rutherfordton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Rosemary Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe! I use rosemary quite a bit but never thought to pair it with mustard. I found all of the flavors balanced and delicious. Thans,Semigourmet. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Cheddar Apple Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Followed the recipe to the letter, tasted, and thought the flavor was just a little weak and wanted the texture a little thicker. I added more cheese, a little salt, and thickened with additional flour (all may just be personal preference). This has a nice cheesy flavor, but then that layer of apple flavor follows and, finally, a little zing from the dash of the hot sauce is in the background. This would be a nice to serve as an appetizer soup for Thanksgiving. chrisdwilliams, we enjoyed your recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Presidential Debate Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This chili is OK as a starting point. I had to add a whole bunch more spices for our taste. If you like mild chili then you will really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor

Slow Cooker Apples with Cinnamon and Brown Sugar

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I wanted to fix it in a way that I knew my family would most enjoy - I cut up my apples and put them in the crock pot, then topped with the mixture, and then poured the apple juice over it all. Cooked on low for almost three hours - Perfect! We served them with some delicious vanilla ice cream - Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

Jambalasta

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Made this for a family gathering over the weekend. The only thing I changed was using Andouille instead of Keilbasa and penne instead of linguini. The flavors were amazing and the leftovers even tastier the next day. This is definitely a keeper and in the monthly rotation at my house! Thank you raesive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ironton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort White, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by a.granados

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This was great! I followed the recipe exactly, but I did use about 8-9 chicken thighs (this makes a lot of sauce). My chicken wasn't salty at all and had a nice slightly sweet flavor.. Best of all, this is so easy to make. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Soup Without Cream

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I like to stick to the recipe the first time and then make changes. So glad I did, this was so good and so easy. I didn't have the "optional" leeks but hope next time to add them. I had organic chicken broth and for the mushrooms, I used 1/2lb baby bellas and 1-1/2lb white buttons. At the end I did use a hand mixer to smooth out about half of it. I thought this was very flavorful. Didn't even have to add the rice mix as noted in the footnotes as a possible addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Boiled Potatoes with Chives

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Chives is good, so is parsley. I find Rosemary a little strong, but I really like Thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris in FL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Nut Bread I

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I cooked this yesterday for a family dinner. There is hardly any left. I also cut the sugar by 1/2 cup and used brown and white. Wanted to use 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter, but was out of shortening so used all butter. Did not have any buttermilk so did the cider vinegar thing and was afraid the vinegar was going to overpower everything, but it turned out ok. I saw that someone else said theirs also collapsed in the center, does this always happen? How do I prevent it from happening in the future? I also made cream cheese frosting for the top. Will definitely make it again, but hope to prevent it from sinking in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLDeb
Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Photo by Zully at FoodieZoolee.com

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
These were pretty good. They were very fluffy. So thick, I had to add another 1/4 cup of milk to the mixture... And it was still fluffy! I only could eat two of these 3 inch diameter waffles. I only added 1 tbsp of sugar because, let's face it - it's made up with syrup and toppings later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zully at FoodieZoolee.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Goulash

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This is NOT supposed to be "Hungarian" Goulash! It is an Americanized version as plainly stated in the recipe description.It is also the way I make mine, and it is very good! There are plenty of recipes on here for Hungarian Goulash if that is what you want. Sue...please don't review a recipe unless you have made it and tried it. If you have not done so, then your review is meaningless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sprtsracer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Daytona Beach Shores, Florida, USA

Mexican Blackened Corn

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I made this last night for a family dinner. Everyone loved it. Using a couple suggestions from others, it turned out great. I used a cast iron skillet and mexican 4 cheese and can corn instead of fresh. Turned out great. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLDeb
Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

Mexican Blackened Corn

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I made this last night for a family dinner. Everyone loved it. Using a couple suggestions from others, it turned out great. I used a cast iron skillet and mexican 4 cheese and can corn instead of fresh. Turned out great. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLDeb
Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

Grilled Cheese De Mayo

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I think the lure to this recipe is the fact that mayonnaise is slathered on the bread instead of soft butter, doesn't really matter what you put inside. Although we made with American cheese and jalapeno pepper-jack as directed, which is a very nice combo. I was amazed how the mayo gave an even browning with a nice crispy crunch without the greasy sogginess that butter can give. You don't taste mayonnaise at all and both my husband and I agree this was a very tasty grilled cheese. The other thing is the mayo didn't burn as fast as the butter does, so we were able to leave the bread on each side long enough for the cheese to melt inside. For us ease is another factor since we live in a hot climate we must store our butter in the fridge, so no more waiting for our butter to soften or brushing on melted butter. Give this one a try, you won't be disappointed, just use your favorite mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Skillet-Braised Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This was good and glad I tried it. Followed the recipe except for Step 2. I just browned the Brussels sprouts and garlic in the oven instead of sauteing them on top of the stove. Thanks Kyle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Camarones al Ajillo (Garlic Shrimp)

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I have to say that I didn't have high hopes for this recipe but was intrigued by all the ingredients and how the flavors would meld together. I'm happy to report that it was DELICIOUS! Followed the recipe exactly except I used red bell pepper instead of the green (don't like!). Served it on top of those mini bowties pasta and it was perfection. Thank you, LatinaCook for such a great recipe. Those that try it is in for a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States