Florida - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Fruity Pebbles™ the Drink

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I tripled the recipe for a party I was hosting. It was a bit to sweet for my taste and I found it to be a bit to thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YINMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooksville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Big hit at a party I had. I added more buffalo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YINMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooksville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

Barbequed Cabbage

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This was just ok for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YINMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooksville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

Grilled Jalapeno Tuna Steaks

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This was my first time ever having a tuna steak before. (and my picky husband) The only thing I changed is that I used coconut oil instead of olive oil. This is a fantastic recipe that I will make again. I didn't tell my husband what it was until he ate a bite and he loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YINMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooksville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This smelled the house up so nicely. I used thinner pork chops and reduced the cooking time. The flavor was very good but the pork chops were dry. Will try this again but with thicker chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YINMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooksville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA
Photo by Mollie

Chef John's Falafel

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Absolutely delicious! I pretty much stuck to the recipe. I did add a tiny bit more flour to my mixture & I pan fried in veggie oil. In my opinion you can't use canned chickpeas, the mixture would be too moist & the falafel would fall apart in the oil while frying. Please use dry beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

No Knead Beer Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Easy and super delicious! Since I generally like a touch more salt in my bread, I upped the yeast and salt both to 2 teaspoons each. I also only add 3 1/2 to 3 3/4 cups of flour into the sponge, reserving the rest for shaping the loaf, or to add to texture as needed. I find that using all four cups of flour can result in a drier, denser loaf than I like. Try making it with an oatmeal stout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HalfBaked

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hobo Beans

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Excellent beans but it makes a lot! I did change a couple of things but I think the original recipe would be delicious! I used a 28oz can of Bushes baked beans, 1 can of chili beans, and 1 can of navy beans. I did use the full cup of sugar and catsup. I sprinkled a good amount of dried onions instead of using diced. I also only used 1/2 lb ground beef and no bacon (trying to lower the calories). Let cook for about 4 hours on low, then 1 hour on high without the lid.. thickened right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This soup is amazing! I thought it would be boring and bland but I couldn't get enough. Used Chicken broth instead of vegetable. I tasted it after adding the green onions but before the sour cream and loved it so much I skipped the sour cream altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gary's Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
These are delicious. I sautéed the garlic and chopped stem pieces in the butter then added it to the crab(canned, not surimi)/stuffing mixture. I drizzled a scant amount of melted butter on top and sprinkled with good parmesan cheese before baking....yummmm. I only made 1/2 the recipe because I only had 1/2 dozen enormous white mushrooms that we bought from a local farm. I stuffed those bad boys to within an inch of their lives : ) and had just the right amount of stuffing. This almost never happens : ) Thanks for a great recipe. This ones a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindalou66

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey-Lime Enchiladas

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I LOVE this recipe. I can't get green enchilada sauce at my store so I just grab some green salsa and run it through the blender. This may give it more of a kick as opposed to the green enchilada sauce. Either way, this dish is incredibly delicious! Thank you so much for sharing. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuirkyScorpio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I made about 30 meatballs with this recipe. Delicious. I started by attempting to fry them. When I saw that they were too delicate for that (yes, I only used 1 cup of ricotta), I transferred them to a lined cookie sheet and baked them at 375 degrees for about 30 minutes. They were nicely browned. I put them in a pot and added 2 jars of marinara, simmering for about 45 minutes. Very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

Shrimp Francesca

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I've made this recipe several times and each time it has turned out great. I made it again last night and brought some leftovers for my friend. She loved it so much she asked me for the recipe. The last few times I used canned baby artichokes, drained and then as the recipe instructs gently squeeze the juice out with paper towels. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddy33774

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Simple Strawberry Salsa

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Breakfast today was this salsa served with cinnamon-sugar baked tortilla chips. If you need a recipe for the tortilla chips, see Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips on this site. I had fresh pineapple, so I used that instead of canned, and the orange, strawberries, and kiwi were perfectly ripe, so I didn't need the sugar. Just simple, fresh fruit flavor at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Crunchy Pineapple Smoothie

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This was a great before a workout smoothie, light and refreshing with just the right natural sweetness and tartness from fresh fruit. You don't taste the green tea at all, but benefit from the extra boost of energy and not to mention health benefits green tea has. If you are looking for a filling breakfast smoothie to hold you over until lunch, I'd toss in a banana or handful of oatmeal. If you like sweet smoothies add some honey or agave nectar. I did hold off adding the whole cup of tea, and liked the consistency of the smoothie at a little less than 3/4 cup. I'm not sure why it is called crunchy, unless you add ice, mine was pretty smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by *Sherri*

Crunchy Pineapple Smoothie

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This was a great before a workout smoothie, light and refreshing with just the right natural sweetness and tartness from fresh fruit. You don't taste the green tea at all, but benefit from the extra boost of energy and not to mention health benefits green tea has. If you are looking for a filling breakfast smoothie to hold you over until lunch, I'd toss in a banana or handful of oatmeal. If you like sweet smoothies add some honey or agave nectar. I did hold off adding the whole cup of tea, and liked the consistency of the smoothie at a little less than 3/4 cup. I'm not sure why it is called crunchy, unless you add ice, mine was pretty smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Hobo Beans

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This is a really good combination of beans, ground beef, and bacon, and the taste is similar to a traditional Calico Beans. I knew 1 cup of brown sugar would be way too sweet for our tastes, so I cut that in half, and we were happy with the level of sweetness. Enjoyed this with some mini jalapeño corn muffins. Thanks for sharing, this one's easy and gets a thumbs up in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
This a really nice recipe. I used different colored peppers of added color and subbed in a bit of Greek yogurt to help cut down some of the fat. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

Roasted Chicken Rub

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Delicious, used on thighs and legs and roasted them. Just what I like!! Thanks so much for the recipe. Oh, only thing I didn't have celery flakes so I used celery salt and didn't add the kosher salt. Otherwise, followed the recipe and it was terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Grinch Kabobs

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I did this recipe for a large gathering two years ago. When I didn't show up with them this past Christmas Eve, everyone was so disappointed. Not only are they great to look at, but they are delicious! A winner of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States