Florida - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by lutzflcat

Onions in Raisin Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Used frozen pearl onions, golden raisins, and fresh thyme. Made exactly as written, tasted, and then added a good squeeze of a fresh orange wedge which gave it a nice hint of citrus and toned down the tomato-y flavor. A very nice "outside-the-box" side dish, and I couldn't be happier with the way this turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Carrot and Raisin Bars

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I wouldn't say that these taste like carrot cake, but I will say that they taste good. Nice blend of spices, the carrots & raisins bring some moisture to the somewhat dense bars, and the OJ brightens the flavor just a little. After taking the photo, I drizzled Yogurt Glaze from this site over the bars, and that brought them up to a 5-star recipe IMO. Enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Yogurt Glaze

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Used vanilla Greek yogurt and drizzled over Carrot and Raisin Bars from this site. The vanilla yogurt brought a nice sweetness to the glaze. Very nice non-sugar glaze, my husband said 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Coconut Oatmeal Cookies I

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I am not a great fan of coconut, but wow! These are great. I can understand why these were the first to go at Grandma's. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahBananna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Easy, savory, and the way I enjoy my roast...slow-cooked! Next time I might add more veggies. The gravy/seasoning was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahBananna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
For the first time in my life I used white pepper and Dijon mustard in a recipe and I have to say they both were great add-ins! I think next time I will use about 14 oz. of macaroni or increase the liquid component a bit...I like it a little bit more creamy. I am going to use white pepper in more of my pasta dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahBananna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Banana Milkshake

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Used skim milk and made this in the blender. If you choose to use the blender, just don't over blend to be sure you get a milkshake consistency rather than a smoothie consistency. I have to admit this was surprisingly good. Next time, I'll try this with some frozen strawberries, raspberries, or blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

The Ultimate Burger Topping

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
This was okay. I think that next time I will try adding a little diced sun-dried tomatoes though. Also, if you have left-overs make sure that you take it out of the fridge well in advance of serving... I didn't do this and figured that I'd microwave it for 20 seconds in order to "soften it up" enough to spread. Essentially, that ruined it. If I do this again, I'll make sure that I don't have left-overs. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tietjen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Pimento Cheese

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Just made this and already I'm a fan! I did add in the dry mustard and the Worcestershire sauce. It is so good! I can't wait to see how it tastes tomorrow after it has the chance to set for a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

Easy Indian Style Okra

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Really good! I love Indian food and I needed a new recipe for my bumper crop of okra. This was perfect. I will definitely make this again. I did toss the okra in vinegar first to cut the slime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

"Light as a Feather" Scones

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
These are great! I made them as directed, except I used Honey Greek yogurt, and didn't brush any milk on the tops, as I am plum out of that, but anyway, they turned out light and fluffy, a real treat for the kids and me on a fall afternoon! Thanks for the delicious and quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzybaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea Maria

Stacked Fajita Vegetable Enchilada Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I followed this recipe mostly. I had to switch out a few things due to allergies to Gluten. I used Corn tortillas instead of flour, gluten free all purpose flour instead of white flour. I used olive oil instead of butter. I made the sauce but not sure I would make it again because I didn't like the way it smelled when I was cooking it and I'm really weird about my food smelling funny and then eating it anyways. I didn't hate the sauce... but will be looking for a different cheese sauce in the future. One preferably i don't have to myself to cut time. It took me alot longer then 30 minutes to prep this recipe. Regardless of all that I loved the dish in itself especially with topping it off with Jalapenos and sour cream. Next time I will be adding more vegetables I didn't feel like it had enough. As a vegetarian/gluten free eater I love my veggies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Maria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Safety Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I halved the recipe and used ground beef instead of lamb. I'm sure it's even better with the lamb. My husband, who is a picky eater, really enjoyed this dish. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pork Roast

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was delish! The meat just fell apart! I didn't have whole berry cranberry sauce, so I used the jellied! LOL But it worked. So juicy and tender! Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Spaghetti Sandwich

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I made this last week, but with a few variations. I used slices of bread instead of hoagie rolls. I actually toasted my bread in the toaster first, then buttered it and sprinkled on garlic powder to taste. Then I built the sandwich on top of the garlic sides, then buttered the outside and finished it off on the griddle. So it was twice-toasted, making the sandwich extra crispy and extra good! I used provolone slices and freshly grated Parmesan, but I think it would also be amazing with fresh mozzarella. I also chopped up the spaghetti into more bite size pieces before putting it on the sandwich. And I used bolognese or meat sauce. Oh, and unless you like cold spaghetti straight from the fridge, be sure to heat it up first. My first attempt yielded a hot, crispy sandwich with melted cheese, but a cold filling. It is SO much better with hot spaghetti. Once you try this, you may find yourself doubling your spaghetti recipe, just to make sure you have plenty of leftovers! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ziti IV

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I made this for a church potluck. I used 1 red onion and 1 bell pepper. I also increased the garlic, just a tad more. I used ricotta cheese instead of the sour cream/cottage cheese mix. Instead of riti I used rigatoni because it has ridges. Turned out awesome! I will use this recipe for the next potluck as well. Oh and I used ground pork instead of the sausage because the sausage tends to be a little bit too spicy for some of the more sensitive folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Savage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chow Chow I

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Chow Chow has cabbage as the main ingredient. I dont see any cabbage here. This is tomato relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghenghis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Cheesy Scrambled Eggs with Basil

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
That photo looks more like fried chicken than eggs. As another guy mentioned, the sour cream goes in toward the end of the cooking process. These eggs will benefit from a dash of Lea & Perrins also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghenghis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
What can I say, this soup is AMAZING! I followed some reviews hints. I made my own chicken stock - so easy! And along with throwing some chicken in there, I added a small can of button mushrooms, a handful of small egg noodles and some parsley for taste. It's great the first day.. but holy cow! The second day is better. This is a keeper. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerri lyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Highland Mills, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I had 4 ears of corn to use up and stumbled on to this recipe last month. I used bottled roasted red peppers & since I only found the recipes 4 or 5 hours before supper, the dressing did not marinate as long as Chef John recommends. Dried basil, no fresh herbs hereabouts. But it was still very yummy. It will go into my hot as heck summer sides rotation. Thanks again to Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inthe kitchen247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arcadia, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States