Florida - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Squirrel's Great Beef Steak

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
My family loves this recipe. We have used it many times and always want more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELALO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Florida, USA
Living In: Wimauma, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
The best I have ever made and quite possible tasted. Rich and creamy. I added some minced garlic this last time and it was fabulous!! I will be using this recipe from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skillet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Winter Garden, Florida, USA

Fajita Marinade I

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I have used this 5 or 6 times now and it is awesome for chicken and beef fajitas. I didn't add the water ,like several suggest, and now almost double the cayenne for a little more zip. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skillet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Winter Garden, Florida, USA

Cola-Brined Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I was making over 60 wings for a party and I tried three different recipes from Allreicipies.com. This one was the hands down favorite. They went so fast that I never even got to eat any from this batch. Next time I will be sure and try em myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skillet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Winter Garden, Florida, USA

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is a delicious recipe when you want something meatless. It's fattening though so I can only make it on occasion. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nana's Squash Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I didn't change anything in the recipe. It's a lot like my nana's cornbread dressing that she used to make every Thanksgiving. I am in love with this recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Creamy Tomato Soup (No Cream)

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I cut back on the brown sugar a bit (personal preference) and since I wanted a thicker soup, probably used about 20% less chicken broth than recipe specified. The bread cubes do a nice job on thickening the soup, and I used my immersion blender instead of processing in a blender. Made for lunch today and was quite happy with the flavor that came from canned tomatoes rather than making it totally from scratch. Tomato soup has been one of my favs since childhood, and I'll be making this one again. Thanks geode for a nice new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Southern Fried Chicken Livers

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I used my electric fry pan that has a lid and fried at 375 degrees. The garlic really makes a difference and I always put hot sauce (Franks) in my milk dredge. Served over rice with peppermill gravy. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Made twice; once following recipe exactly and once with a few changes; following recipe was great, just a little too gooey. Changes I made were subbing one cup of the white sugar for brown sugar and sprinkled a little sugar/cinnamon on top too. And cooked at 325. I only gave 4 stars because only a "no change needed" recipes gets a 5:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Eggs

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Delicious! I saved a piece of pizza just to make this recipe. I cut the entire slice up into small pieces (except the hard crust) and because of the size of my slice I made the recipe using 2 eggs and used my judgment on the rest of the ingredients and didn't have to make a side of toast. It is really good! Thanks Stephanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

MMMMM... Brownies

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made these for my husband this past weekend. He considers himself somewhat of a brownie connoisseur. I made the recipe exactly as stated but did add some chopped walnuts and they turned out perfect! Moist, fudgy, and oh so rich. My husband raved about these brownies. I will never buy another box mix again. Cicada77 thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ironton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort White, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan-Fried Asparagus

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I prepared one package of asparagus, snapping off the ends to trim down. I followed all directions as written and at the end, when they were bright green and just firm/soft I turned the heat up for a minute to high to brown them. Don't turn your back if you do this! They will burn very quickly. When serving, I sprinkled them with shaved fresh parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NonnaWickwire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Viera, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Rum Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
My preference is to substitute the vegetable oil with coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I make these all the time. Use chopped walnuts and 1/2 cup (Evan Williams) bourbon and soak in a (very clean, old spaghetti jar) for at least 3 days-I do a week, but I love the bourbon flavor. Throw out jar and drain nuts from excess moisture on paper towels. Use 2 1/2 cups sifted powdered sugar (more or less) just until you get a soft dough.You want whopper candy-sized balls or smaller -just enough so you can pop in your mouth-you don't want to bite it. Freeze at least 30 mins. Work in batches! 2 cups of dark or semi-sweet chocolate chips and 2 tbsp shortening melted for coating. Use toothpick to pierce center, dip quickly and at a slight angle and place. Have a slotted spoon ready-you will drop a few. Cover hole after a batch with more chocolate using toothpick and make fancy point on top. Don't stick a whole nut on top. After they are firm, keep in a plastic container w/lid in fridge for snacking up to a month. **It is excellent with dark chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Schumacher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Korean BBQ Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
4-Star, as I save 5-star ratings when my socks are blown off... this recipe didn't so much. I like oriental, and this marinade/sauce was very good...the end didn't look like the picture, as mine was thicker (too much corn starch maybe?), was pretty sweet and salty (I added more vinegar to cut down the sweetness, and next time will use low-sodium soy sauce). One tbsp of Sriracha was just right, as I like heat, maybe next time add a tad of chili-garlic paste to up the ante. Marinaded sliced pork sausage and veggies, skewered them, and grilled the works....was quite tasty. I based the kabobs as they grilled and warmed a small bowl of marinade as a dipping sauce. Doing all of this, the flavor wasn't overpowering. Next time, I'll make the adjustments as mentioned above. If you enjoy oriental food, try this sauce ... a nice base to venture on to be creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JohnRascal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Split Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Great recipe and easy to prepare. I put the chicken on a low rack in the baking dish to "crisp" all sides rather than under the broiler which tends to dry the meat. Also, I often cube in large cuts a potato or two with the same ingredients as the chicken (just increase the measurements). Throw them alongside the chicken in the same dish. Makes everything simple, and you have a complete meal, adding a salad or steamed veggies. A tasty recipe with ingredients every good cook should already have in his/her pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JohnRascal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Dill New Potatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Perfect dish! Changed nothing, because it's unnecessary! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crumb Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
We loved this pie. It's very sweet but isn't that what pie is supposed to be? Anyway, I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This was a great success but I didn't follow it to a T. I didn't have dijon so I used some spicy brown mustard. I, too, added about 1/4 - 1/3 cup of white wine and it made it just perfect. I think it needs some salt too, so I'd add that next time. I'll make it again with my tweaks and love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Pesto Stuffed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Watch your time on this, mine were perfectly cooked at 28 minutes; when served, it was 145 degrees F, just pink in the center of the meat. If I were to do anything differently, I'd add the balsamic a little sooner and allow the balsamic to glaze more, since that particular flavor is important to this recipe. Wanted to put the chops in a honey-brine marinade earlier in the day which would have helped tenderize the chop, but time got away from me. They were a little chewy, but still full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States