Florida - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Elizabeth

Risotto with Truffle and Parmesan

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Truffles, Parmesan, risotto...what can be wrong? Answer, nothing! This was awesome! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Henderson

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I made these the other day and we loved them. Made as written except I added some Thai basil because I have too much of it growing in garden. It added a nice flavor to the dish. I will make these again soon. Definitely a keeper here. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

Winter White Sangria

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I used an inexpensive pinot, cut out the brandy entirely (I'm just not a fan), and added some plums and pears to the party. OUTSTANDING summer punch :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Henderson

Grilled Chipotle Skirt Steak

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This was very good. I added a bit of Sazon and it made the flavors really come together. I also added cilantro and a jalapeno. It was really good. I used a skirt steak. I marinated it with my vacuum sealer all day and the flavors really penetrated and were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

Fast English Muffin Pizzas

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Why stop there? English Muffin: Reuben Sandwiches, BLT's, Sliders of every variety, mini Eggplant Parmesan or Fried Zucchini bites or a 'Bubba Gump' Shrimp variety of stacks on English Muffins? LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chez Robe-Air

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endicott, New York, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mashed Potatoes with Fried Mushroom, Bacon, and Onion

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Amazing! Used Russet potatoes and ended up adding about 1/2c (maybe more) of 1% milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

Chipotle Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This recipe is quite good. However, there was way to much hot so I would half chipolte. The combination of hot/sweet was a big hit. I also cooked it in my cast iron skillet instead of a grill and this worked just as well. Just make sure you sear all sides of the tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmlvy75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner

Tuna Mac

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I wanted to make this tonight as a surprise for my husband because it was the first thing he cooked for me 25 years ago when we first met and started dating. He thinks this is what "sealed the deal" so to speak! lol I let him think that ;-) This casserole is in the oven as I am writing this. I stole a little bit before I put it in the oven and it is AWESOME! OF course my husband's version is very straight forward. Blue box Kraft Mac and Cheese, 1 can tuna, a slice of Kraft Singles on the top (cut diagonally, because he's fancy) hahahaha Then baked. PERFECTION! lol Just between us though... This one is MUCH better! I did swap out the mushrooms for peas just because I was in the mood for peas, I also added in a little Dijon mustard, but that's it. Oh, and I still got Kraft Mac and cheese, but the fancier one that has the cheese sauce in it,( because I'M fancy! lol) unlike the orange powder (what IS that stuff anyway? )lol I love it and can't wait for my husband to get home so he can have it tonight. Thanks Melissa Loudy for posting this :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I did what others suggested and used 1/2 shortening 1/2 real butter (no margarine in this house!) and 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar. So soft and chewy. Next time I will use different flavored chips, maybe mint chips for the holidays. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jswentor11

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Decatur, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Carrot Chips

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Used sweet organic carrots and sliced thinly with a mandolin. There’s a fine line between not being crisp enough and over browned (yeah, I had a few), so watch them closely. On the positive side, even the over browned ones were incredibly sweet. The carrot slices shrink substantially, so keep that in mind when you’re thinking about number of servings. For us, this recipe would equate to 2 servings, not 4. They may not be pretty, but trust me, you won’t be able to eat just one, they are surprisingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Freckle Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This recipe has been in our family for years too! it's a super easy cake that everyone raves about. We top it with powdered sugar...it's never failed me....I highly recommend trying this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cuban Smoked Sausage with Chickpeas

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Very, very good recipe! I read the comments about it being too spicy, but that's a matter of taste. My husband likes spicy food, this will be one of his favorite dishes. I prefer less spicy, but I didn't find the flavor overwhelming. I made a couple changes... I substituted a can of black beans for half of the garbanzo. I also rinsed and drained the beans and used 15 ounces of tomato sauce instead. I like juices! I had no adobo seasoning so I substituted 1 tablespoon of Franks hot sauce, and bumped the garlic powder to 1 teaspoon. I do think cooking time needs to be at least 1 hour to blend the flavors. Serve this over hot cooked rice and it is amazing. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Dora, Florida, USA

Flourless Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I've made this using canola oil in place of coconut oil. They came out really nice, but more cake-like than I prefer in a brownie. But really, it's the taste that matters. Hide the empty cans and no one will know. I sprung them on my nephew, who will not eat any beans at all (it's a texture thing) and he loved them. I did 'fess up, and he didn't believe me until I showed him the cans. They're not quite as good as Outback's Chocolate Thunder From Down Under (google the recipe) but they're darn good. And the beans bring added protein and fiber, a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

Jalapeno Chicken II

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Wonderful!! Followed the recipe exactly (as I always do- because if you DONT, then how can you really rate it, since changes it creates a whole different recipe? That's a hint for all you bad reviewers that give less stars, when after you add all YOUR changes, it miraculously tastes like .) But I digress... I was surprised at the juiciness of these! The perfect amount of kick!! Perfect BBQ dish. Thanks for the great review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Copycat Panera® Broccoli Cheddar Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
It was good, but something was off. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I added about a cup more broccoli. I will try it again with mild cheddar instead of sharp, maybe that'll take away the weird flavor that it developed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

Mushroom Orzo

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
We all loved it the first night we had it but it didn't taste as good leftover. If I make it again I will cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Georgia peaches soon will be gone, so I thought I'd make my "annual" fresh peach pie. Seriously, I think this is the best peach pie I've ever made. The only thing different that I did was add a couple Tbsp of Minute Tapioca because my peaches were very ripe, and I didn't want a runny filling. Simply.the.BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Pumpkin Gingerbread

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Very moist and very simple. I used whole wheat flour and fresh, frozen pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillypoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Very very good! For the sauce I did: 1 tsp sesame oil, 2 T soy, 2 T rice vinegar, 1 T sriracha. I left out the water chestnuts and used ground ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Searoll
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States