Newark, Delaware - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Crispy Pork Carnitas

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This method is spot on. The pork was so tender! I'm not sure the cinnamon works here. I found that with the five spice powder the cinnamon was just a little over the top. When I make this again (and I will) I think I'll omit the cinnamon and maybe add 1/4 tsp of cayenne instead to balance the flavor of the five spice. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

Lentils with Tomatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I made this using dark horse merlot. Taste test in the beginning seemed a little bland so I added more fresh sea salt and pepper, then added Indian spice. Instead of paprika I used red ground chili pepper. I was a little worried with my first time making lentils but it came out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dellalita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Creamy Potato Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Raves from the family. I did take ideas from the others. Writing this down so I can remember what I did for next time. Sauted onion and celery in butter, then added chopped ham (two ham steaks). Then added frozen diced potatoes and covered with with just enough chicken broth to cover, along with some minced garlic. Used one can cheddar cheese soup and one can of cream of chicken with 1 1/2 cups milk-nice and thick. Didn't need the extra salt, but generously added black pepper and added some poultry seasoning (I forgot it said dill). DELICIOUS. Family said this was better than my other potato soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I just made these. I know they are not in any way authentic, but they were good! I had leftover Costco rotisserie chicken, so I used that. I did not have the cheese in the ingredient list, so I just used a shredded Mexican blend and added 1 tbsp of Philly cream cheese to the mixture when it was in the pan and stirred to melt it. These came together very quickly and were simple, delicious comfort food. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

Country Sausage Gravy

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Easily the best sausage gravy I've ever made. The red pepper makes it a tad spicy for my tastes, so I'll be sure to use less next time around. I've made it twice now for house guests and it's always a hit. The leftovers are spectacular as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelCee1987

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Townsend, Delaware, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Tried this using beefy onion soup mix, ranch dressing mix, and brown gravy. The flavor was awesome!!! I will say however that the cooking time was way off for me. My slow cooker may run hot on the low setting, but 2 3/4 lb roast only took about 5 hrs on low and at that point was overdone. Will make this again, but will watch the roast a little more closely to avoid over cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mashed Potatoes with Fried Mushroom, Bacon, and Onion

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Excellent recipe! I prefer to use the bacon fat as others suggested for the saute of the mushrooms and onion. I think if people are finding the potatoes dry they may be using a different type of potato, Yukon Gold potatoes don't need as much liquid as, say, russsets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

Low-Carb Fauxtato Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I LOVE this fauxtato salad! Not only is it lower in carbs it is also EASIER and FASTER to make than potato salad! Cauliflower cooks and cools so much faster than potatoes, and you'll never ever miss the taters. I've been making this once a week! Hubby loves it too! Tastes better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

Spinach Brownies

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I made this as written except used cheddar and shredded parmesan cheese since that's what I had. If you used part-skimmed mozzarella the butter amount is probably fine, but since I used hard cheeses, the "brownies" were a little bit greasy on the top. I really feel that the butter is unnecessary with the addition of cheese, but I will probably try it with half next time. . .and there WILL be a next time! This tastes like an easy substitute for spanakopita! This was an awesome addition to our Super Bowl spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA
Photo by TARAB1

Curried Cauliflower Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Amazing and easy! Used green curry paste, a tablespoon of curry powder, sautéed the onion first. Blended it up in my vitamix but left some chunks in the soup. Delish! Made a ton so will freeze some too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

Cindi's Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Excellent recipe! I broke my own cardinal rule about only rating a recipe that I've made exactly as written, I did leave out peppers. I personally don't think of peppers when I think of egg rolls. I was spot on with the rest of the recipe though, except I pan sauteed them to brown instead of deep frying. Delicious filling, this recipe is now in my recipe box for a go-to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Awesome shepherd's pie!! Shepherd's pie is supposed to be lamb, (shepherd. . .sheep) So many people use beef and call it shepherd's pie but a beef pie is a "cottage pie", so right away I was interested. Kudos for using the Guinness! The only thing I did different was to add the flour to the meat mixture and stir and cook for a couple minutes then add the broth directly. This is the method I use for sausage gravy, it saves a step and a pan and you never have any lumps. This Irish girl approves darklordlarry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Really good! I've made this a few times for Thanksgiving and everybody loves it. It works well with both fresh sweet potatoes and canned sweet potatoes if you don't have as much time! It is rather sweet though, which is something to keep in mind if you plan on making a lot of desserts with it too (like at Thanksgiving or Christmas or something).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie I.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Camp Pendleton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Great Pumpkin Dessert

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I've made this a few times for parties and everybody loves it! Even people who are not the biggest fan of pumpkin enjoy it. Perfect dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie I.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Camp Pendleton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Brittle

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
When I made this, it didn't harden correctly and was very sticky/wet. Not a fan personally
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie I.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Camp Pendleton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herb-Glazed Roasted Turkey

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I used this glaze recipe for the first time I ever made turkey - it came out perfect! It's very nice and sweet, my parents and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie I.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Camp Pendleton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
So I was looking for a new soup recipe and stumbled across this one - and I'm so glad I did!!!! I followed the recipe , the only difference was I accidently picked chicken broth instead of beef, but it still came your tasting fantastic! I used my rasp grater and grated some Asiago cheese on top. Talk about heavenly!!!!!! Wonderful recipe thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Style Turkey Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This recipe is delicious as written! I personally like to add a shredded zucchini to the mix as well, this adds moisture and healthy veggies to the loaf. Sneak those veggies into your kiddos! Make a double batch and use the left overs for "meatball" sandwiches, grill the slices on a skillet, top with provolone until melted and serve with marinara on a sub roll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

Wiener Winks

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I've eaten Weiner Winks since I was in elementary school in the 1960's, I still remember the menu for weiner wink day, "wiener winks, buttered corn, tomato juice, apple crisp". It's a shame the schools don't serve those good old lunches! I've been making these ever since! I seldom use butter, the bread toasts just fine without it (although the buttery taste is certainly numma!) I put the hot dog diagonally then prop them against each other in a cake pan with sides so I don't use toothpicks either! I've read reviews where people say to use biscuit dough, but those are called "pigs in a blanket". If you wanna make weiner winks, it's gotta be bread and cheese!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

American Lasagna

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is a great base recipe for lasagna when made as written. I prefer a less dry lasagna so I added an additional can of tomatoes to the sauce, you can add water if it cooks down too thick. I also prefer to use a mix of mozzarella and provolone cheeses and I use fresh shredded parmasan. I used to boil the noodles, but now my go-to brand is Barilla and their very thin flat no-cook lasagna noodles are so easy, if you make your sauce in advance you can put this together in 10 minutes and bake in 60-75 minutes, which makes this something I can make on a weeknight. And yes, occasionally I used jarred sauce for this very reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States