Delaware - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easter Eggs

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and the eggs turned out fantastic!! Just like my grandmothers. I mixed the batter by hand, which was much easier. I also made 1 1/2 times the amount and divided the batter into thirds, 1/3 left alone for buttercream, 1/3 peanut butter, 1/3 coconut. I found the easiest way to coat the eggs in chocolate was to skewer them with a fondue fork and dip them. Once on the wax paper it wasn't difficult to hide the skewer hole with melted chocolate. I will absolutely use this recipe every Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kickin' Collard Greens

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I thought these were a little salty, but otherwise good. I would omit the extra salt since the bacon, chicken broth and red pepper flakes give it enough seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Pie II

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I had high hopes for this. It wasn't bad, but I'd prefer just strawberries and cream. It's also not especially attractive, although if you added red food coloring it might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies IV

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Made as written except I doubled the cinnamon, and they were good but not outstanding. They need something more. These are like chocolate chip cookies without the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA

Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Excellent, whole family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Gap, Pennsylvania, USA

My Best Clam Chowder

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Very Good !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Gap, Pennsylvania, USA

Cowgirl Stew

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This was just great! I used cannellini beans and put a bag of mixed frozen veggies in (corn, green beans, peas). It makes a ton, so I froze the rest. It is a very versatile stew, so I can imagine you can use whatever veggies you have on hand. I'm sure it would be good with ground turkey too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Tried this recipe tonight after reading a number of reviews and loved it! Taking the advice of several reviewers, I left the fat on, rinsed and dried the meat, brushed the exterior with Gravy Master, then seasoned with salt, fresh ground pepper and garlic powder. Baked uncovered fat side up on a grill in a roasting pan at 500 degrees for 24 minutes for a three pound eye roast, then turned oven off for 2-1/2 hours. When I opened the oven afterward, it was cold (as mentioned by another reviewer, I don't think gas ovens hold the heat as well). I made a judgment call and put it back in the oven for 20 minutes on 350 degrees. Took out and let rest for another 20 minutes, then sliced to a beautiful assortment of medium and medium well done (more pink slices than red). I and my guests enjoyed it tremendously, taking seconds as well. I cannot believe the ease of cooking this way. I added water to a small amount of drippings to make a small amount of gravy. Can't wait to make it again now that I know it really works. The finished product looked like a professional chef cooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Tried this recipe tonight after reading a number of reviews and loved it! Taking the advice of several reviewers, I left the fat on, rinsed and dried the meat, brushed the exterior with Gravy Master, then seasoned with salt, fresh ground pepper and garlic powder. Baked uncovered fat side up on a grill in a roasting pan at 500 degrees for 24 minutes for a three pound eye roast, then turned oven off for 2-1/2 hours. When I opened the oven afterward, it was cold (as mentioned by another reviewer, I don't think gas ovens hold the heat as well). I made a judgment call and put it back in the oven for 20 minutes on 350 degrees. Took out and let rest for another 20 minutes, then sliced to a beautiful assortment of medium and medium well done (more pink slices than red). I and my guests enjoyed it tremendously, taking seconds as well. I cannot believe the ease of cooking this way. I added water to a small amount of drippings to make a small amount of gravy. Can't wait to make it again now that I know it really works. The finished product looked like a professional chef cooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

Bacon Cheddar Patty Cakes

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
A great base recipe to adjust to your own liking. I used 5 slices of precooked bacon because I had leftover grease in the freezer and it was faster. Only one egg and no salt. Also used a little garlic powder. As others have said, I needed to add some flour. Definitely dredge the patties in flour for a nice crisp crust. Also they're much easier to turn if they're really crispy. A new way to serve leftovers. My family loved them! Next time I'm going to add some diced jalapeno peppers ( from a jar ) to add a little unexpected kick. Maybe even top with some sour cream and sliced green onions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet N Sour Beans

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I have made this recipe for tailgating several times and it's always a hit! Perfect on a cold day when you want something hearty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
My husband loves his mother's broccoli salad, so I attempted this recipe with the hopes of matching it. I succeeded and exceeded as he said it was better than his mother's recipe! I do recommend that you eat it within two days, because after that the ingredients are too soggy and melded to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Grandma's Shoo-Fly Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made this recipe and the Shoofly Pie V from this site on the same day to compare. The Grandma's pie was more traditional, but I liked the Shoofly Pie V recipe better. However, since there are so many wonderful desserts out there that I love, I most likely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TVCHICK

Rich Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is the perfect chocolate frosting. I have used it to top several cake & cupcake recipes, including "David's Yellow Cake" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

David's Yellow Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
My father-in-law's favorite cake is yellow cake with chocolate frosting, so I made this and topped it with the "Rich Chocolate Frosting" from this site. The cake was amazing. Very moist and so much better than a box mix! This is now my go-to yellow cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Donut Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
These are the perfect breakfast travel snack. I make them for camping or early morning tailgating gatherings and they don't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I've made this bread twice in the past couple months. I love that the recipe makes two loaves because I bring one to work and the other is devoured at home. It's a great recipe as is, but I am thinking of adding chocolate chips next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I made it in a covered roasting pan. 400 for 15 min., then 325 for 3 hrs. or so. Excellent, except there wasn't enough gravy for us. Will double the gravy ingredients next time and maybe add some extra veggies. I'll definitely be making this again. Nice change from the traditional brown gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cherry Snowball Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
My son and his girlfriend loved them. I thought they were just OK. The texture of the coconut was weird for me and the taste of the cherries was too much. Two against one, so 5 stars it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Key West Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
O.K. Read other reviews and changed it up. Decreased soy to 1 tbsp., honey increased to 3 tbsp., juice of one lime instead of a tsp., zest of half a lime, 1/2 tsp. sesame oil, left out the garlic. It was fantastic. I know I really changed it up, but it was a great base recipe which was what I was looking for. I used chicken tenderloins. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States