Delaware - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I was really dissappointed with the lack of flavor in this dish. I thought between the wine, shallots and garlic it would have a lot. As someone else suggested, I added some capers to the leftover sauce and it made the biggest difference.That, was a great idea. I'll make it again adding the capers and will use onions the next time because the shallots are expensive and didn't add anything to the flavor. Also, if you expect the garlic flavor to come through, you may want to add more or put the one clove through a garlic press instead of mincing. I'd also venture to say that if you didn't have wine on hand, you could just substitute with more chicken broth. This was very easy and quick to make and used only one pan. That's always a bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peach Cake II

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Made this Saturday and it was so moist and delicious.. I had six overripe peaches which when chopped, added up to about three cups, and used them all.. I also added a tsp of vanilla.. Otherwise, followed recipe precisely.. My 9 x 13 cake was perfectly baked in 40 min.. It's my go-to peach cake recipe from now on.. In fact, I'm making it again right now.. I neeeeeeed it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

Spinach Dip I

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Took this to a party, made it exactly as written. YUM! Rave reviews from the party goers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jewish Apple Cake from Bubba's Recipe Box

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
I was looking for the recipe I used to make in the early 70's but this one was drier, although the taste was good. I added some chopped walnuts to the apples just because I could. I would make it again but substitute applesauce for half or all of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I had to use red enchilada sauce since I couldn't find the green. Added extra chili powder and cumin, and added a couple packets of cilanto-tomato sazon goya seasoning since I forgot to buy cilatro. Black beans instead of pinto, and crumbled tortilla chips. Restaurant quality right here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Dijon Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
I never would have thought of putting Dijon mustard on chicken, but I slathered it on and hoped for the best. It was very good and the family loved it. The Panko breadcrumbs gave it a really nice crispness.I originally saved the recipe to try because it's stuff I always have on hand and it sounded easy.Glad I tried it! Thanks Don for a budget friendly and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
Making this now, and not only was it super easy to get ready to bake, but it smells HEAVENLY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Lunt-Schulze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Half Time Hoisin Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I used all the same ingredients but changed the cooking method. It was too hot to turn the oven on so I grilled the wings. When cooked through, I tossed them in the sauce and then grilled them for a few more minutes, turning a few times,with the lid open. They looked beautiful, just like the picture. The flavor was lacking something though, just can't put my finger on it. Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Chip Dip

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I found it's easier to dip if served room temperature in a shallow dish as the recipe states. If you try mixing the jelly into it, the jelly gets runny. We like it with Rice Crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Onion Bruschetta

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I used Cooking White Wine because that's all I had and it was very good. What would have taken it over the top would be one of the wines listed in the ingredients. I know I've seen Cooking Sherry and Cooking Marsala in the past which could be used if you don't drink wine. It netted 12 servings for me. I wouldn't hesitate to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pistachio Cake III

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I made this a month ago and it turned out beautifully. This Tim it collapsed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Bars

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
These were incredibly easy and tasty! Hubby loves granola bars and we've just gone gluten free, making our own bars is a no-brainer. I did a simple substitution of agave in place of the corn syrup. I added dried cherries and cranberries in place of raisins and I tossed in some crisp rice cereal for lightness and crunch. I was heavy handed with the coconut and sunflower seeds, adding a bit more than the recipe. I'll be using this recipe again, I'm planning on using some almond butter and cinnamon next time! And maybe add pumpkin seeds! Or dried apples, craisins and cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

Sugar Glazed Walnuts

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
These were great for a quick recipe, the coating became sort of crystalized on mine, which is fine, I'm using them for an ice cream topping, I was hoping for a more glazed type nut which I think would need the addition of milk. I'm thinking of trying this same recipe with milk instead of water next time. I cooked for 1 minute then stirred every 30 seconds, they were done in my 1000 watt microwave in 3 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

Walnut Pie I

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Made this exactly as written, using a refrigerated pie crust (didn't have time to make my own). Easy and delicious! And it keeps remarkably well. Wonderful served warm with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA

Mexican Bean Salad

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
My family really enjoyed this salad. I used Stevia instead of sugar. I used all fresh juices. I did not add cilantro because I don't like the taste of it. But besides that, it was really tasty. And good for you too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dagsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Buffalo Wings

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I've made these so many times. I bake them, without the butter and Franks, until done and crispy and then toss them with my own version of wing sauce (hot sauce/butter/liquid smoke/water/cornstarch) before serving. This method replaced my old one, which was grilling. It took lots of baby sittting and I burned them more than once. This method is basically fool proof. You can also adjust the seasoning to your own liking. Using parchment paper makes clean up much easier. I love this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cornell Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I always wondered what the marinade was on the chicken we buy on the side of the road from a Moose or Elks Lodge (or something like that). This is it. Now I make it myself. Tastes good after the four hours, but even better if marinaded overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Friendship Bread II

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Friendship Bread Starter

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I used it to make Amish Friendship Bread II. Delicious. It was worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Pork Carnitas

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This method is spot on. The pork was so tender! I'm not sure the cinnamon works here. I found that with the five spice powder the cinnamon was just a little over the top. When I make this again (and I will) I think I'll omit the cinnamon and maybe add 1/4 tsp of cayenne instead to balance the flavor of the five spice. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States