Atlantic South - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Whole Grain Linguine with Roasted Peppers

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This was ok but will not be a repeat. I had no issues with roasting the peppers or putting the recipe together in general. I did use gf spaghetti instead of linguine. My issue is the flavor or more so lack of flavor. It was hints of garlic and roasted pepper but the primary flavor was the pasta. With some tweaking this could be perfect but as is it needs some help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Very good, followed the recipe. Took tips of other reviewers on how to cut the squash. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Oven-Ready Lasagna with Meat Sauce and Bechamel

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
My kids enjoyed this dish but my husband and I weren't as impressed. The bechamel sauce was great - I plan on incorporating that into our regular lasagna recipe in the future. But the rest reminded us too much of the pre-made lasagna you purchase from the store. I added some cooked ground beef to this (per reviews here) and I'm glad I did, else I'm not sure we'd have liked it at all. For the baking dish size, I couldn't quit fit in 5 layers (I'm chalking that up to the meat.) The dish seemed like it needed a lot more tomato sauce as well in comparison to how much bechamel sauce there was. I also had to cook it for an additional 20 minutes and believe another 10 wouldn't have hurt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA

Yellow Squash Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
The is the best Yellow Squash casserole dish all of times........ KUDOS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Mouton-James

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Celebration, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Healthy "Italian Mac and Cheese" with Carrot Puree

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
My family loved this mac and cheese! I made the recipe as written except I used gluten free macaroni and it turned out perfect. There was a hint of carrots but my family had no clue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Nan May's Snowballs

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I hate to be Debbie Downer here but this was awful...I followed the recipe exactly and the cooked mixture was too soupy and would not roll into a ball to roll into the coconut - threw the whole mess into the garbage - I lived in Argentia, Newfoundland back in '64 and was excited to make this but no way...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Snickerdoodle Sandwich Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Possibly THE BEST Snickerdoodle tecipe I have ever made! These cookies are soft and tender. I grated fresh nutmeg so I believe that adds some to the amazing flavor...this will be a staple recipe in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonya

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dirty Bedtime Story

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I loved this! It's just what I needed after a long, stressful day at work. No changes needed and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Photo by tiffany t

Strawberry Cake II

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Delicious! Made this for my wife for her birthday and she loved it. The best strawberry cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany t

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Culpeper, Virginia, USA
Photo by Becky1234

The Ultimate Macaroni, Cheese and Peas

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I used up the last of my Penn and Macaroni boxes, and started a new box of Shell Pastas to make this, and also used 3 types of (full fat) cheeses I wanted to use up. It was a bit challenging to get the Pastas cooked right, but it all turned out great! I even used up the last of a bag of frozen peas I had in the freezer. I only had 1% milk, besides those things I followed the recipe as written and was very happy with it. It is not a real gooey-cheesey recipe which is one reason I wanted to try it. I'd like to make it again as written to make it more guilt-free (if any Mac & Cheese can be considered guilt free? Sometimes you just have to have it!!) I posted a Pic, Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

Coconut Pecan Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This was fun to make and even more fun to eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Pendleton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clewiston, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

Phoenician's Key Lime Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This was an absolute suprise on the first bite. It had enough kick for my sour taste buds and not too much for my wifes. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Pendleton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clewiston, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

Easy Caramelized Onion Pork Chops

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This was so very easy and my goodness, what flavor and so very ternder and moist. I didn't have the chicken broth so I used milk. Outstanding dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Medders

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Alfred, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fully Loaded Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
My family and guests all loved these. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcfish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Orange Loaf

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
For starters I didn't know whether to use my electric mixer, whisk or stir. I did end up using the electric mixer to blend all the ingredients. The batter was really thick. I thought to add more liquid to it, was afraid it would be dry. The batter filled a 7 15/16inch x 5 7/16 inches x 1 13/16inch pan. It baked up in 28 minutes. It was a little dry but with great flavor. I will make again but will have to add a little milk or water to the batter-2tsp. Also I would add a little extract to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Becky1234

Busy Day Barbeque Brisket

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I had a 2.25 lb Beef Brisket so I didn't need to use all the Rub. However, I found that 1/2 TSP of Liquid Smoke only covered 1/2 the Meat, so I used another 1/2 TSP on the other side. Also, the only BBQ Sauce I had is a North Carolina Sauce which is thinner and has more Spice and Vinegar than most common varieties. I only had about 3/4 cup so I used that. The Roast sat on top of the sauce in the Slow Cooker (I used my Ninja) and it worked out fine, there was plenty of sauce and moisture when it was done. The Brisket easily shredded apart with 2 forks and I shredded it into the sauce to serve. The flavor is wonderful and it carries quite a kick... That could be due to the BBQ Sauce I used. Check out my pics! I have dinner rolls to serve it on, but was craving it on a soft Flour Tortilla with some chopped lettuce to cool it down a bit. It is divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
These are pretty good. But I have another recipe that I've used for years that handles better, and is definitely delicious even before icing. I am not going to switch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Orange Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
These were perfectly yummy! An excellent addition to the Christmas cookie collection. I went a little heavy on the orange zest and took the advice of another reviewer of cooking them at 350° rather than 375°. At 375, they were starting to brown but were undercooked in the middle. At 350, they came out perfect at 12 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

Cheesy Baked Grits

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
We LOVED this. I had to adapt a bit -- was almost out of milk so cooked the grits in half chicken stock, half milk, rather than all milk. Reduced the amount of butter a bit, and went a little heavy on the cheese. Came out wonderfully, with a rich creamy flavor, and all that wonderful crispy Parmesan crust on the top -- decadent! Served it with chicken creole and the family went back for seconds ...and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Jenkins McFadden

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Celery

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I added garlic powder/ onion powder/ salt & pepper and other herbs to spice it up...liked the walnuts and the green olive combo...will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina lafreniere

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States