Burlington, Vermont - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
The family really liked these. I doubled everything and baked them in a 9X13 pan. Think I baked them 25-30 mins. I used Penzeys natural high fat cocoa. Really rich chocolate. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Death by Chocolate Mousse

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
WOW! I am not a big chocolate fan...the rest of the family is so I made this for them. It is VERY rich and it only takes a sliver to satisfy. The recipe is straight forward and quite easy. I used the boiling cream into the food processor method simple and efficient. The melted chocolate mixture cooled to room temp. quickly this way. The hardest part is allowing it to cool 6 hrs. I don't always plan that far ahead. All in all... a delicious and elegant dessert. Would serve on special occasions too! Enjoy! Thanks DEME for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Garlic Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I have making a variation of these for several years. My camping go to. Potatoes, onion, garlic, salt, pepper, jalapenos and green chilies in olive oil! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars II

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Easy gluten-free recipe. It's made me a popular mom at playgroup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3LKM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Samosas

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
delicious...loved them and so did my bf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookiemonster25
Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fryeburg, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Easy enough and tasted fine. Didn't blow my socks off or anything, but pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Rum Balls I

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
So I gave it 3 because I changed the recipe around a lot. Instead of rum (because I don't like rum), I used bourbon. And instead of walnuts, I used toasted pecans. I added a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/8 tsp nutmeg, 1/8 tsp allspice. I also cut down on the amount of sugar in the "rum" balls. I like them just fine-- They certainly are boozy, though. I'll be interested in tasting them in a few days, after the flavors have a chance to meld and the booziness mellows. If not, then I'm sure I'd make these again, but I might put in 1/4 cup of booze rather than 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Instead of chicken breasts, I use skinless boneless chicken thighs instead-- it's more flavorful (just sear in a pan first). I add a diced sweet potato into the mix too. And instead of using canned soup (very high in salt and just... well, gross), I use chicken stock, 1/4 cup of apple cidar vinegar, and a few dashes of worcester sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peppernotter (Scandinavian Christmas Cookies)

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I make these for Xmas every year, along with other types of cookie. I usually add more pepper and more sugar-- to make them more sweet and more peppery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jam Filled Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Make these every year for Xmas. My husband is originally from England where he says they're called jammy dodgers. I like to use apricot jam bc of the tartness, but strawberry & raspberry works too. I've even tried it with orange marmalade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Russian Tea Cakes I

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I make these every year for Xmas. My mom used to make these using black walnuts, which was awesome too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crumb Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Needed a easy, no fuss dessert to use up all the local apples we had picked. This came out very tasty. With some good quality vanilla ice cream its even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Dog Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
A big hit with adults, children and grandchildren! I sliced the hotdogs and added them after I mixed the cornbread. Baked in a greased pan. I cut it into squares for ease in serving. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nan Hahn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Selma, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Baked Beans

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I used soldier beans and pure VT maple syrup as the sweetener. I love the crock pot deal...no watching a bean pot for hours on end. My only complaint would be that the beans sort of turn mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buster Bar Dessert

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Everyone gave it rave reviews! I used Bryer's ice cream because it had the least ingredients and when you are eating something this decadent you have to watch all of those ingreds! ;) Should have made homemade whipped cream if I was truly concerned. All that aside... it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Fudge

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This recipe is delicious - but difficult. I've had it not set, had it carmelize, had it turn to rocks, you name it. I started using a bigger pot to avoid boil-over. Takes me roughly 12 mins to get the ingredients to reach a boil, then another 15 mins to reach 132 degrees, then another 40 mins to get down to 110. I then threw it all in a mixer and mixed on low/medium for five minutes. Not sure it really lost it's gloss but it did thicken. Hopefully this'll work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

Morning Glory Muffins I

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
so delicious moist and perfect!!!!! The only thing i changed was that i didnt use walnuts cause im allergic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookiemonster25
Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fryeburg, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Dense, dark chocolate was soft and moist. An edit: Instead of water for the syrup, I used strong coffee with a tsp of vanilla extract. It didn't impart a coffee flavor to the cake, just enhanced the chocolatey taste. Because the cake is SO dark and rich, it really needs something creamy to serve with it, and some acid to cut the richness. I decided to top my cake with whipped cream and balsamic-macerated strawberries. (Toss cut, fresh strawberries with 1/3 cup of sugar and a healthy splash of balsamic vinegar. Allow to macerate for an hour. Pour 4oz of heavy cream in a stand mixer and whip until soft peaks form. Add macerated strawberries & their juices. Finish whipping cream until stiff peaks form. You can either spread the whipped topping over the cake itself & decorate with thin slivers of strawberry, or simply serve it on the side. Tasty either way)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raspberry Walnut Torte

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Came out great. I followed the recipe pretty closely. I substituted strawberry jam for raspberry (because that's what I had on hand) and used ground almonds instead of walnuts. Cake was firm but surprisingly moist and very flavorful. I think I actually liked the cake even better than the frosting (which isn't normally the case for me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Pie Bars

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I did as others suggested and doubled the filling. A little sweet in my estimation could cut the sugar a little. Also, liked these better the next day! Really would rate a 3 1/2 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States