Vermont - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I made this as written, except I used quinoa instead of rice. It was delicious! It was just enough spice and the sauce is great! I also topped it with cheddar cheese. Mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Canja

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
very good BUT 3 pounds of chicken for just 6 servings is way toooooo much. that is almost double a normal portion of meat; and this doesn't even include the ham. I used about 1.5 pounds of chicken; when I added this recipe to DietPower using the revised amount of chicken the calories dropped by almost 200. My other change was using cilantro instead of parsley--only because it was what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soccer Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Loved it. My only changes were I cut back on the oil (just our family preference) and I didn't use as much sugar. To the person that gave "the most helpful review" Um, first people do realize that if they want more veggies they can add them; that is NOT a review. Also, when you make the all the changes you said to make you basically have a different salad. Don't bother reviewing because you are not review the original recipe. We've had this with steak and chicken (grilled both times). I had roasted veggies but wanted some thing cook and crisp too. this fit the bill perfectly. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hungarian Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
it was too sweet for us and that was even with cutting back on the ketchup. Also, I'm not sure why the person is calling this Hungarian Pork chops. my In-Laws are Hungarian--like born and raised there--and mother-in-law never made anything like this. Went to several different relatives places for meals and pork was rarely served....maybe this is a 'newer' dish in Hungary. Also, that is not much paprika for a Hungarian dish. I'd say this is more of a Russian dish (or Ukraine etc). JMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Pie Cake I

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This is a tasty, delicious, and flexible recipe. I didn't have a 29 oz can of pumpkin, so I used a 21 oz can of pumpkin pie mix, added a bit more cinnamon, clove and ginger, didn't add salt or sugar, and figured it was close enough. I only had a 15 oz box of cake mix, too. But it didn't matter - it tastes like pumpkin heaven and I ate it till I didn't feel good anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elissa Johnsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Lobster Bisque

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I made this for New Years Eve and my guests were gushing and couldn't get enough. I have never made a bisque before and it was very simple. I doubled the recipe, used heavy cream, and more broth then it called for. When I simmered the carrots and celery I added the lobster shells to give it more flavor. I then put all the ingredients, besides the lobster chunks of meat that I reserved, in a blender, and blended it. I chilled the blended bisque right in the blender and an hour before my party I put it in my crockpot, added the lobster chunks, and corn. I served it with a Caesar and a baguette just like the recipe called for and it became an empty crockpot pretty quickly. My friends all want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Wasn't the most amazing pulled pork ever, but it was good. I did a spice rub on the pork first, though, and next time, I'll sear the meat before putting it into the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Scones

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I use this recipe as my base and then add fruit, nuts, flavors,... Because they are such a hit I pre-shred frozen butter a pound at a time, bagging each stick separately and storing in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaLeah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatiest Vegetarian Chili From Your Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Best veggie chili recipe I've ever tried.Thank you for sharing this recipe. The only change I make is to pan fry the bite-size tofu chunks a bit before adding to pot. Every time I make this I am blown away by the flavor! SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Newton Pause

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairlee, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wilder, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Easy, tasty and VERY filling. Made with no changes and served with homemade garlic toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wingslady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

SMOTHERED BEEF LIVER

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I tried this last night. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrisville, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Crumb Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is a great Pumpkin recipe, have made in the past good for crowds, made some changes from other reviewers notes,came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Kochanek Fitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rehoboth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Newport, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I cannot argue that they are superb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fadano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Microwaved Potatoes Lyonnaise

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
loved it, and it's easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fadano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herbed Chicken Nuggets

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
to reviewer under "MOST HELPFUL" where does it claim these are gourmet chicken nuggets? your comment is not a review! I used everything except for the red chili pepper flakes and I added garlic powder. I had a recipe for a fried chicken salad and I used this recipe in place of the fried chicken and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Omg!!! This is fab!! I'm a low carber and hesitant to try this.....I don't like cauliflower normally. But I needed something different to go with prime rib, and I am thrilled. The only change/addition I made was extra cream cheese and melted butter. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Grand Isle, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This came out really good, more tomatoey than I expected. I served it over brown rice but will definitely do it with pasta next time. Great, rich flavor with the balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Szechwan Shrimp

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
very good! I cut back on the crushed red pepper flakes ONLY because I've not tolerated spicy food lately. Will keep this on the shrimp rotation. and people who put up there own recipe and give the existing recipe low ratings--here's a clue. I DO NOT care what your recipe calls for or that you do this because your 2 year old doesn't like 3/4 of the ingredients! you skew the rating by doing this. If you want people to know about YOUR recipe put it up on the site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Mushrooms, and Onions

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
people quit reviewing when you haven't freaking made the darn recipe! you skew the rating when you do this. frankly, I don't care that YOU think there is too much bacon in the recipe. If I (or anyone else) wants to add a pull pound of bacon I can. My only addition was to add a bit of fresh thyme to the cabbage as it cooked. I like thyme with sauted mushrooms and we both thought it was good with the cabbage. I served mashed red potatoes--reminded me a variation on Colcannon which we love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Make-Ahead Garlic Toast

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This recipe is awesome. Only change was I used bottled minced garlic instead of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wingslady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States