Warwick, Rhode Island - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Gingerbread Boys

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
I really like this recipe - but have quite a few alterations so I'm giving it 4-stars, but these are tweaks, this is my go-to gingerbread recipe every year. My changes: half white sugar/half brown sugar, molasses instead of corn syrup, double the ginger and double the cloves (we like ours with a kick!). This dough rolls like a dream. Just don't try to roll the whole thing at once! When you take the dough from the mixer (a stand mixer really is best here - my Kitchen-Aid has no problem with it), portion the dough, wrap in Saran Wrap & pop in the frig. One trick I like when rolling dough is to use a 50/50 mix of flour and confectioner's sugar. The dough doesn't get as tough when you re-roll it. I like to brush the cookies before baking with a bit of water and sprinkle with coarse sparkling sugar. I cut them a little thicker, so they are softer and a bit chewy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GALA62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Crinkles II

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Requested every Chistmas! One cookie that is super easy to ship (very sturdy). A few minor suggestions. For those that are complaining about weak flavor - you must use great quality cocoa. Cheap store brand won't cut it here. Also, try looking for instant espresso and adding 1/2 - 1 tsp. It deepens the chocolate flavor. And to top it off, I add 1 cup of mini chocolate chips for a perfect chocolately cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GALA62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
A good base recipe, but I made some changes: no chili powder and no brazil nuts. I cut back on the oil to about 2/3 cup and also added 2-3 TBS fresh lemon juice. To me, the lemon perks up the flavor much better than chili, but to each their own! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GALA62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Buttermilk Coffeecake

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Really great coffeecake! Moist, flavorful, with plenty of blueberries (although I added a cup more!). The topping for me is perfect. Some reviewers didn't like the streusel sinking a bit into the cake. This was the part I loved - it distributed that yummy topping into the middle of parts of the cake...mmmm. Only changes I made (besides the extra blueberries): brown sugar instead of white for the topping and added 1 tsp cinnamon to the topping mix. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GALA62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Cornish Game Hens

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Try it on the Panni Press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

Chef John's Calabrian Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Try it on the Panni Press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

Chef John's Grilled Game Hens

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Try on the Panni Press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

Ravioli with Cherry Tomatoes and Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Try It
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

Beef Au Jus

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

Clams Italiano

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

Clams Casino

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

Best Cioppino

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

Italian Cioppino

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

Cioppino

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

Cioppino

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

Linguine with Seafood and Sundried Tomatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

Dani's Butt Kickin' Bloody Mary Mix

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

Classic Canadian Caesar

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

Linguine Pescadoro

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

Zuppa Di Pesce Fra Di Avolo

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States