Warwick, Rhode Island - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by NancyLou

Mary's Salted Caramel-Pecan Bars

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Made these for an ornament party. Big hit!! As suggested, I doubled the pecans. Next time I will chop them a little smaller...I think that will help in the spreading of the mixture. So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by NancyLou

Soft Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Easy and delicious. I used lutzflcat's review and made in the KitchenAid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by NancyLou

Inca Red Quinoa Salad with Sweet Apple Chicken Sausage

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I normally don't review when I've really changed a recipe...it's not fair to the original...so this review is for the vinaigrette. It's delicious!! I did add 2 T Dijon as well. For the rest of the recipe, I was cleaning out the frig so I used a rotissiere chicken, celery, orange sections and zest, and a peeled, chopped pear along with the red quinoa...all made wonderful because of the vinaigrette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
J
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NancyLou

Baked Pumpkin Custard from EAGLE BRAND®

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Very good and very easy, but not quite pumpkin pie for me, which I didn't expect it to be but also not a custard. I suppose I discovered from this that I'm a purist on both counts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by NancyLou

Coconut-Cranberry Bars with Pecans

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I use fat-free sweetened condensed milk and low sugar dried cranberries with great results. Parchment paper is key. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

Apple Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This great recipe gives you a lightly sweet pie where you can actually taste the apples! The lemon adds a nice little zing. I made a very few minor modifications: substituted 1/4 of the white sugar with 1/4 cup brown sugar for a bit for depth of flavor. I brushed the top crust with half & half and then sprinkled with coarse sugar. Baked at 425 for only 20 minutes. Then at 350 for approximately 35-40 mins. One last thing- You don't need to do the layering step of the sugar & spices and apples. Just toss all these ingredients in a bowl to coat and dump into your shell. Pies are very forgiving that way! Oh, I think my pie pan is 10", so 7 apples was fine, any smaller pan and you certainly would run into trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GALA62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NancyLou

Awesome Italian Hoagie Spread

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Delicious! I asked the deli to thick, thick slice the turkey and salami. I then used my chopper to get a fine dice...excellent!! Personal preference used sharp cheddar and no onions. The Flipsides are a must. Sturdy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

Spinach Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Delicious! I used a 16 oz. bag a frozen chopped spinach that I heated in a pan to defrost and then cooled. I also added sautéed portabella mushrooms and as a personal preference, no onions. Thought it might be too much spinach but it was perfect! As with others, only 1/4 cup of butter...can't imagine it with any more than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by NancyLou

Spinach Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Delicious! I used a 16 oz. bag a frozen chopped spinach that I heated in a pan to defrost and then cooled. I also added sautéed portabella mushrooms and as a personal preference, no onions. Thought it might be too much spinach but it was perfect! As with others, only 1/4 cup of butter...can't imagine it with any more than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by NancyLou

Spicy Watermelon Tomato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Easy and a refreshing change. Used Thai-Style Chili Sauce, which had just the right kick and a great balance of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by NancyLou

The Best Steak Marinade

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Nice easy marinade. I wasn't sure about the soy sauce for my tastes, but it blended well with the other ingredients and was not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by NancyLou

Bagel Dip

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Great topping for a baked potato, as well. No MSG and one "glass jar" of dried beef. Note: As one of seven kids, we ate so much creamed chipped beef (SOS) that almost all of our drinking glasses were from the dried beef...good memory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by NancyLou

Salted Peanut Bars

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Very good and I thought quite easy to make! Next time I may add chocolate chips with the cereal and nuts...but only because I love chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by NancyLou

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Good and Easy! I use about 7 cups of chicken stock and put in chunks of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Odd flavor and proportions were off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUVSANTERIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NancyLou

Grandma Bellows' Lemony Shrimp Macaroni Salad with Herbs

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Delicious! Love the lemon flavor! Cooked my own shrimp. Used some Miracle Whip as well...personal preference. Wonderful summer salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake in a Glass

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
If you like a sweet cocktail then this is a great choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by NancyLou

Tangy Shrimp Dip

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Easy and delicious! Like others and as personal preferences: Used Miracle Whip, cooked my own shrimp and no peppers. Had chives in my garden so used those as well. Made it for a party last night and was asked for the recipe and my husband is still raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by NancyLou

Pesto Pasta Caprese Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Great! Made this for guests with mini penne and we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States