Salem, New Hampshire - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cheese Fondue

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This is the first time making fondue and it came out yummy. I have to confess that I used a cheap cooking wine that you can buy in the grocery store. I did this because I normally do not love cooking with wine as it can take over the flavor of a dish to me. The cheap cooking wine is not so intense. I did however spend a good amount on the cheese. I rubbed down the pot with a garlic clove for flavor. I also added a dash of worcester sauce and a few drops of lemon juice, also a sprinkle of mustard powder. I coated the cheese in flour as recommended. This had no clumping and was very smooth. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tilton, New Hampshire, USA

Waffles I

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Excellent recipe. I let the batter rest for about 15 minutes before cooking. Really crispy and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tilton, New Hampshire, USA

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Creamy and very yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tilton, New Hampshire, USA

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Two words "Crazy Good" Did not change one thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tilton, New Hampshire, USA

Marinade for Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This was very good - I also cut the amounts in half. Forgot the parsley (even tho I did have some!) I wasn't too sure about it after it was made. I must say I used melted coconut oil (refined) instead of vegetable oil due to health benefits- when I added the cold ingredients (my Tamari (soy) sauce & worcestershire sauce) it caused the coconut oil to "gel" up. No problem tho once it went on the grill! I used it for boneless skinless chicken thighs - they were very tasty! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

Bread and Butter Pickles II

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I love this recipe. Very good. I did put the vegetables in a salt and ice bath for 2 hours and rinsed before moving to the next step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tilton, New Hampshire, USA

Pastrami Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
These were great. I've been looking at this recipe for a while and finally gave it a try. Glad I did. I did not use the white pepper but did not adjust the black to make up for it. I also did not add the cayennne. I coated in oil first then I mixed together all the dry ingredient except the flour which I sprinkled and coated last. I baked in a large glass baking dish coated with extra spray. No sticking at all and they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tilton, New Hampshire, USA

Italian Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Made this today, except subbed ground bison for the beef (barely any fat!) and I doubled all ingredients. I don't understand how anyone said it was bland! I put in the exact amount of spices & it is very hearty! Maybe the bison added a better flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

Quinoa and Black Bean Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This was very good; I did add a can of fire roasted tomatoes to the crushed tomatoes because there wasn't enough liquid for the veggies I had in there. I also then added a small can of diced tomatoes (I like a chunkier sauce). Left out the jalapeno - don't really like them & I don't like things TOO spicy. That said, I ended up putting in too many chipotle peppers in the adobo sauce - that made it MUCH too spicy - fortunately I had put in LESS cumin & oregano than it called for. No one else in my family will eat, but I still like it - although too spicy, it's VERY good - I'll make it again though, keeping in mind not to overdo the chipotles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I will admit I did not make the recipe as stated - but I love all the ingredients Jennifer uses, just didn't have some on hand. My version was to saute garlic and cippolini onions, then I added a bag of Birds Eye frozen veggies with the ginger, red pepper and rosemary as Jennifer used. Stir fried until veggies were done, then I added gluten free tamari, rice flour and juice of 1 lime - made a paste and added until it thickened. It was good - I just made the sauce too thick and added a little too much red pepper, but I can't wait to try Jennifer's version!! Thank you Jennifer for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

Chicken Thigh Fricassee with Mushrooms and Rosemary

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This was really good....I doubled up the recipe for company and it came out perfect. I couldn't find niciouse olives so I used green pimento olives. The whole family loved it! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guacamole

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I couldn't decide between this recipe and another on this site that appeared to be much spicier, so I made both. Both turned out very well and I'm giving five stars to each, but they were very different dips. This one was like something you'd get at a restaurant or packaged from a store. Very green, nice flavor, mildly spicy. The other recipe resulted a very different appearance and much hotter dip. I like spicy, so the other is my favorite, but this is an excellent dip that most people will prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WayneinAzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Azle, Texas, USA

Fresh Guacamole

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I couldn't decide between this guac recipe and the one that has over 2400 five star ratings - so I made both and liked both. This guac is not what you'd get in most restaurants or pre-made from a grocery store. The "other" recipe is more like those - good, and most people would probably prefer it because it's quite mild. This one is different in appearance and much spicier than the "other". I prefer this one, but if I were going to prepare guac for a party, I think I'd do the same thing again and make both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WayneinAzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Azle, Texas, USA

Sausage Stuffed Jalapenos

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Huge hit at our Christmas party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was fantastic! I doubled the ingredients, added parsnips, threw in spinach about 15 minutes prior to finish and used about 2/3 veg broth & 1/3 beef broth. I did add 2 lbs of stew beef, as I knew DH & DS would want meat in it! Phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

Hearty Turkey Stew with Vegetables

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
My grocery store didn't have boneless turkey breast, so bought boneless skinless chicken, and just pretty much doubled everything! The only thing I did do different was to omit the green pepper - I just thought it was an odd ingredient to throw in! I might add that I put much more marjoram in the stew than it called for - 1/4 tsp based on the stew's original proportions sounded way too little - glad I decided to follow my instincts - It was absolutely delicious!!! I will look forward to try this with leftover turkey after Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

Pop Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Delicious. I made the cake for a birthday party and since I wasn't sure how the cake decorations would fare on soft whipped topping, I omitted the pudding/milk mix and frosted with buttercream icing instead of whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast Casserole - Country Style

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I submitted this from an old recipe of my mothers. I just tried it and it's terrible. There's too much ham, there's too much liquid, it needs to cook longer, probably uncovered. Don't make this as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WayneinAzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Azle, Texas, USA

Sausage Jalapeno Poppers

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
These are very good, but the bacon never gets done as quickly as the recipes suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WayneinAzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Azle, Texas, USA

Guinness® Corned Beef

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I made this for a restaurant I worked for and was told by many that is was the best they ever had. I did not change any of the ingredients but I did cook it at 225 for 4 hours. Great flavor and super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tilton, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States