Keene, New Hampshire - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Ants on a Log

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
The creamed peanut confection paired with the dried grapes lent a sweet and savory friendship to the crisped celery stalk. The water from the celery helped to lubricate the mouth and aid in the dismissal of the sticky peanut butter. I recommend the creamed peanut butter over the chunk variety in this particular scenario. (The celery and raisins gave enough texture) This is a well balanced, easy, fun, cost-effective, and relatively nutritious snack. It would be ideal for hors d'oeuvre and intoxicated midnight-munchies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALLIDAWN

Blueberry Buckle

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This cake was very moist and I loved the crumble on top! I made a few changes: instead of using shortening I used butter. For the 1/2 cup milk I used 1/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup half and half. For the berries I used 1 cup blueberries and 1 cup strawberries, plus they were frozen. For the Cinnamon in the crumble topping, I increased it to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIDAWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALLIDAWN

Three Berry Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I made this pie for the Fourth of July and everyone loved it! I made a few changes: instead of using all Crisco, I used 1/3 cup Crisco and 1/3 cup butter. For the berries I added strawberries, red raspberries, blueberries and blackberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIDAWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Challah I

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I've been baking bread for almost 30 years. This recipe was one of the most exact I have ever followed and the bread, if not the best certainly one of the best I have ever made. Sweet, perfect crumb and crust, I added nothing, changed nothing and will be making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAKSPEAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Una's Cheddar Beer Bread (bread machine dough cycle)

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I didn't use a bread machine and here is what I found. The milk curdled when added to the beer. I warmed the beer, butter and milk then added the sugar and yeast and let it set for 10 min. Then stirred in the flour and spices. I got a great rise and had no troubles. I rated it only a 3 because the flavor seemed lacking. The cheese was there but everything else just seems lost. I will try an increase in the next batch, but theer will be a next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Page

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cowboy Jack's Beer Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
It was ok, a bit too sweet for me, and a bit too dense. Mine was swimming in butter but when I pulled it from the oven I "drained it". Wil try it again as it is a good base but needs some tweaking in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Page

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa with Carrots and Raisins

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Very good, I'm on weight watchers so I modified the recipe some to start. I cut out the olive oil completely! Sprayed my pan with some olive oil spray and fried the veggies, poured the dry quinoa on top and sprayed it then stirred, then added the juice/water. I had no walnuts so i toasted pecans instead, they were perfect! I used half the amount of raisins and still though they were a bit much. Next time I will cut back some more and add extra spice 1Tbsp was not enough for us. All in all, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Page

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
They are very very good. I made them for our card group this past weekend. I added a quarter cup of parmesan/romano cheese ro the recipe. I will be making these again. Brenda C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA

Country Squash Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This recipe was a delightful surprise. I had my doubts when I saw cream of mushroom pared with zuchinni but it was delicious. I used herbed stuffing because I couldn't get the cornbread so I'm looking forward to having it when I do find it. Will be a regular dish on my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiedoozie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mediterranean Tuna Antipasto Salad for Two

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I really like this tuna without mayo salad. It is tangy and very tuna flavored. Do not make the mistake I made and use dried rosemary - too crunchy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAKSPEAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Oatmeal Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Great recipe! I changed it up a bit to suite my tastes. I was really craving chocolate at the time! So I added 1/3 cup of cocoa powder, and 1/2 cup of dark chocolate baking chips. I also subbed out the brown sugar for honey and the flour for whole wheat flour. Healthy and delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Appie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I am not a baker but I enjoyed making this gingerbread recipe. It was the best I've tasted-thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiedoozie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Appie

Sparkling Holiday Jam

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Been making this jam for the past 4 years now. Every Christmas my friends and family get a jar and they always love it! I just add a little orange zest and juice of one orange. I find it really brightens the flavor. Other than that, it's a perfect recipe! And the little bit thats left over always goes on pancakes the next morning. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Appie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mayan Couscous

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Very pleasing. I thought this tasted good refrigerated too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiedoozie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Instant Pistachio Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I doubled this recipe. I added three (8 ounce) cans of crushed pineapple (I did not drain the juice), two (3 ounce) packages of instant pistachio pudding mixes, and two (8 ounce) containers of frozen Cool Whip. I made a few changes. I didn't have mini marshmallows on hand, so I added a whole bag of jumbo marshmallows. I also threw in a 1/2 cup of slivered almonds. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIDAWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Holiday Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This has become my favorite all time meal. Quick, easy and it made my eyes roll back in my head
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiedoozie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Whole Wheat Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
very good! i had to add extra flour they were sticky but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Page

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I cut the recipe in half and it was plenty enough for a 13x9 inch cake. I also added a bit more vanilla extract and included cinnamon in the frosting. Lastly, I put chopped pecans on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIDAWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALLIDAWN

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
These were very tasty! I did add a few other things though. I threw in a 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, 1/2 cup rolled oats and 1/2 cup peanut butter. I also omitted the cinnamon in the crumb topping. I baked them in a jumbo muffin pan for 30 minutes as well. They still turned out great. I would make these muffins again! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIDAWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Strawberry Scones

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Delicious! I also didn't knead the dough too much. I find that to get the consistency that I like (which is similar to a flaky biscuit); the dough can't be over worked. Also, keep your butter and cream cold! After adding the vanilla to the cream, put it back in the fridge. Keep the butter in the fridge (or even the freezer if you want) until it's time to use. Oh, and I love the nutmeg in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Appie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 73) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States