Derry, New Hampshire - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I am giving this 4 stars because it is good but needs a bit more liquid filling. I find it dry the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Lime Bacon-Wrapped Shrimp

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
My brother in-law made this for Thanksgiving, and it was eaten up faster than anything!! I had him give me the recipe the very same day!! I can't wait to make them! Even the people who don't prefer shrimp loved it!!! This will be a keeper forever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flatlander Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This is really good, and now is my go to chili recipe. I did change one thing on the recipe and I used tomato sauce instead of soup because I didn't have any on hand. BUT it was perfect and I have not used the original in fear of ruining a good thing. I also didnt think I would like celery in chili, so I cut it up really thin and it is really nice! This is simple, easy, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

It's Chili by George!!

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
ABSOLUTELY amazing! This was my first attempt at chili and I will be sticking with this recipe! I used 3 cans diced tomatoes with one of them having jalepenos in them. I used hot mexican chili powder, curry powder and ground chipole powder. I used tomato sauce but as it simmered it started thickening up so I added a bottle of V8 juice to it. I simmered it on low for 3 hours and the house smelled nummy. I cooked up a box of elbow macaroni and added it to it. Served it with shredded sharp cheddar cheese and a dollop of sour cream. My husband was sampling it while it cooked and then ate 3 bowls of it for supper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen W

Spaghetti Pie III

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Great, easy and delicious recipe. I omitted the green onions and added sauteed onions to the ground beef after it was browned and drained. However, next time I make it, I will add the green onions to the cream cheese/sour cream mixture as I know it will give it even more flavor. One recipe I know I will make again. Makes a ton and great as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Kristen W

German Apple Cake I

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
You just can't get better than this. I cannot wait to make this cake again. It was by far the best apple cake my fiance and I have ever tasted. I took the suggestion of other reviewers and made the following adjustments: used 1/4 cup of applesauce for the oil substituted 1 cup of light brown sugar for the white suger. Baked mine in a bundt pan for about 55 minutes. Topped with the caramel glaze that Naples provided on her review from this recipe. I used 4 cortland apples. I find they are the right balance of sweetness without a lot of extra moisture when baked. The cake was extremely moist and not over the top sweet. Perfection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Kristen W

Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I give this one a five! Made these for dinner last week. To the ground beef I added a packet of low sodium taco seasoning. Gave it more of a bite and extra flavor. While ground beef was browing, I added in one small vidalia onion diced and two cloves of minced garlic. I prefer the real over the powdered. I too, added extra sauce. Instead of two cans of tomato sauce, I used three. I put two in with the rice mixture, and used the third to top each pepper. I also added a touch of shredded jack/cheddar cheese. Oh, and before I forget, I also blanched my peppers in boiling water for about 3 minutes to soften a touch. Fiance had never had stuffed peppers before, and he has requested I make them again very soon! Great recipe, quick and easy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Kristen W

Seven Layer Taco Dip

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Made this for a cookout and everyone absolutely raved about it. I did make a couple of changes. I omitted the lettuce and bell pepper. In place of this, I made a faux guacamole. I had avacado on hand, but no cilantro, lime juice or onion. So I mashed up the avacado with a couple tablespoons of mayo, pinch of salt and pepper, splash of red wine vinegar to give it a bit of acidity and a dash of cumin and used a couple of the diced tomatoes for the top layer. Tasted great! Also, instead of adding the taco seasoning to the beans, I browned up some ground beef and added it to that. Lastly, to the cream cheese/sour cream mixture I minced up some pickled jalapenos and mixed that in for an added kick. I layered mine as follows: Beans Cream Cheese/Sour Cream Ground beef Guacamole Shredded cheese Tomatoes Olives Will definitely make again. Most likely for Sunday football games!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

Mexican Rice I

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Very tasty. I used a whole 10 ounce can of Rotel mexican tomatos. Chicken stock instead of water and a small can of corn niblets undrained. I used Basamati rice and had to add a bit more stock halfway through cooking time. Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthy Turkey Loaf

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
My family loved this. My picky teenager inhaled this and the leftovers were gone the next day!!!! Thanks for the recipe. This is now a staple in my meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Very very tasty. My hubby ate three porkchops with this gravy!! He actually wanted me to make this again in the same week. I did double up on the gravy so I would have some extra. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wild Rice and Ham Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This was a very tasty dish! The ONLY change I made was that I sauteed an 8 oz. box of sliced baby bellas and added it to the mixture. I used shredded sharp cheddar for extra flavor versus just regular cheddar. Was even better the next night! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen W

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Made this last night and was very impressed. My fiance and stepsons ate it right up! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the nuts due to allergies. Will absolutely make again. Great way to use up those garden zucchinis! p.s. I made a cream cheese frosting to put on individual slices. Really kicked it up a notch as Emeril would say
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Marly

Chocolate-Zucchini Cupcakes

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Quite good but I think they would be better if they were more chocolatey (a la Devil's Food Cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marly

Whoopie Pies VIII

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Absolutely incredible -- for the Canadians out there, they taste very similar to Jos. Louis packaged snack cakes. This is the whoopie pie I've been searching for -- moist cakes with the perfect creamy center. If you don't have sour milk on hand, just add 1 tsp. vinegar to 1 c. milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Butter

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
A good starting point from which to customize -- I expect I'll have better results by using garlic powder instead of salt next time around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen W

Banana Split Cake II

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I was a little disappointed in this. The only substition I made was to use store bough shortbread crusts. Other than that I followed the recipe to a tee. I brought both cakes/pies to a 4th of July cookout and it wasn't one of the more popular desserts. Oh well, not everyone can be a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

Grilled Swordfish with Rosemary

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was absolutely delicious. My husband wasn't to sure about trying a marinade on swordfish because he likes the taste of swordfish by itself but he was won over by this marinade. I followed the recipe exactly except I marinaded it for 3 1/2 hours and poked the fish to help absorb it better. I boiled the remaining marinade and basted the fish while on grill. Hubby used some of it as well and dipped his fish in it at the table. Defintely going to be using this recipe again. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Beef 'n' Rice

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Excellent, and even my extremely picky husband loved it. I didn't have carrots so used green peppers, which made for a great taste combination -- they were a bit soggy after simmering and baking, though, so next time I'll hold off on adding them until the last couple minutes of simmering prior to adding the beef. I find that the bouillon is salty enough that the salt can be omitted from the recipe. Because we like cheese, I added a bit more than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Duper Oatmeal

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
A good starting point for inspiration but I feel the recipe needs some modifications. For me, the finished product was too runny -- next time I would probably decrease the milk and water by 1/4 cup each. As other reviewers suggested, I added some vanilla (1/2 tsp) and an additional teaspoon of sugar to sweeten it to my tastes. Using a bit of fat-free half and half in place of some of the milk adds richness without extra fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-87 (of 87) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States