Derry, New Hampshire - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Kristen W

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Banana bread is one of my Mom and Grandmother's favorites, so I thought I would make these to give to them on Mother's Day. They were really good, however, a bit on the dry side. I made sure not to over bake. I used oil in place of the butter as other reviewers had suggested. I am wondering if the addition of sour cream would have helped keep them a bit more moist. There is a delicious banana bread recipe I make that calls for sour cream and it seems to make it really moist. I will definitely make these again and maybe try it w/sour cream or maybe even some buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

Banana Bread I

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This is delicious! A nice and simple banana bread! I make it everytime my bananas are extra ripened!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I doubled the sauce ingredients because I knew I was going to serve this over Basamati rice. I added the pepper and a whole onion right away and the pepper consistency was perfect. I too, like other members suggested, added Worsteschirer sauce. I also added some sliced baby bella mushrooms since I had some in fridge I needed to use up. My husband has already requested that I make this again next weekend when we have company over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen W

Mahogany Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I made these for the Superbowl this past weekend. Quite possibly the best "sweet" style wings I've ever had. I marinated mine overnight. In addition to the ingredients listed, I used fresh grated ginger, a teaspoon of red chile flakes, and about 1/2 cup of oj. I too boiled the leftover marinade down and tossed the cooked wings in it. Sooo oooey, goooey, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I made this for myself and my roommates. We all loved it. I made some changes, because I'm allergic to onions & garlic ( obviously I omitted them). But I added boiled potatoes (peeled and diced); bacon bits; instead of processed cheese I used three pounds of shredded cheese (Munster, Swiss, and Montery Jack). The potatoes and bacon made it a bit thicker for the guys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAMIESMEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar and Garlic

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
very good, hubby loved it as did I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Chicken Paprika

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I removed the onions from the recipe and added corn starch (1 to 2 tsp in 1/4 cup hot water) to thicken the sauce. It took me longer than 40 minutes to have this recipe ready for the table. The sauce wouldn't thicken. Other these two adjustments/problems, I would make the recipe again, because it was flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAMIESMEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cavatelli, Broccoli and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
My kids (3 of them, under 6 years old) loved this!! I didn't have any mushrooms (they love mushrooms), so I added baby carrots with the broccoli instead. Really good family dinner. Everybody cleaned their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Peppers My Way

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
My kids love these! I use yellow/orange peppers, because my 6 year old likes them best. I leave out the feta for the kids and just sprinkle with parmesan before serving. My husband and I like the feta!! A great, easy entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Bread Rolls to Die For

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Mine sure didnt come out the way the picture looked.(very loppy and uneven) They tasted fine, not exactly what I expected. I may give them another try but I recomend you maked these once before trying to serve to guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ricotta Cheese Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I made these for a Christmas party and 6 people asked for the recipe. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGONYEO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Westborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies IV

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Fantastic everyone at work wanted the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This recipe was great! My boyfriend was recently diagnosed with celiac sprue and I have been searching for recipes for tasty gluten-free baked goods. These cookies reminded me a lot of the ones my mom made when I was a kid. The only changes I made were to use butter instead of margarine, and natural chunky-style peanut butter. Also, I dipped a fork in a bit of soy flour before pressing the dough balls down (in the familiar peanut-butter cookie pattern) to keep it from sticking. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Since my husband isn't a biscuit eater I bought deep dish pie crusts (four to be exact). I filled two of the crusts with the filling and used the other two crusts as the top of the crusts. Almost like a chicken pot pie. I used frozen veges instead of sauteeing them. I used 2 cups vegetarian vegetable broth (to enhance the vegetable taste) and two cups fat free chicken broth. Could have used an extra cup of broth since the crusts soak up some of the sauce. Added sliced baby bella mushrooms to the mixture as well. Very, very delicious. Next time will probably try with turkey instead of the chicken. Would have given it 5 stars but I strayed from the original recipe a tad bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

T's Easy Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
My husband absolutely loved this recipe. the only change I made was using a can of diced tomatoes. Just enough juice mixed with the mushrooms to put over rice. Will DEFINETLY make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Steak Tips with Mushroom Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Deeeeeeelicious!! I used beef stew meat instead and red cooking wine instead of the burgandy. Taste was unbelievable. Will most definitely make again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Chicken I

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Deeeeeeelicious!! Used 2-8 oz containers of fresh bella mushrooms. The chicken just fell apart. Will defintely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I don't know what I did wrong with this. I followed the recipe exactly but when it was done the cheese was clumpy..almost like I had used cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sirloin Tips and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I added chopped onion and minced garlic to the beef while cooking. Sauteed fresh baby bella mushrooms instead of canned. No need to add additional liquid. Used 17 oz. can of diced tomatoes and 2 8 oz. cans of tomato sauce, 2 bay leaves, 1 TB thyme and 3 TB beef base and simmered for an hour. Thickened broth right at end and served over noodles. One cup red wine added a unique flavor and wasnt too salty at all. Very delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This was my first ever attempt at making soup. I was amazed at how well this tasted. I added extra barly to recipe and used beef broth instead of the boullion and added extra water as needed for the final cooking time. I cooked the soup for 1-1/2 hours extra at the end. Absolutely delicious!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-87 (of 87) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States