Derry, New Hampshire - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Kristen W

Spaghetti Pie III

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Great, easy and delicious recipe. I omitted the green onions and added sauteed onions to the ground beef after it was browned and drained. However, next time I make it, I will add the green onions to the cream cheese/sour cream mixture as I know it will give it even more flavor. One recipe I know I will make again. Makes a ton and great as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Kristen W

German Apple Cake I

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
You just can't get better than this. I cannot wait to make this cake again. It was by far the best apple cake my fiance and I have ever tasted. I took the suggestion of other reviewers and made the following adjustments: used 1/4 cup of applesauce for the oil substituted 1 cup of light brown sugar for the white suger. Baked mine in a bundt pan for about 55 minutes. Topped with the caramel glaze that Naples provided on her review from this recipe. I used 4 cortland apples. I find they are the right balance of sweetness without a lot of extra moisture when baked. The cake was extremely moist and not over the top sweet. Perfection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Kristen W

Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I give this one a five! Made these for dinner last week. To the ground beef I added a packet of low sodium taco seasoning. Gave it more of a bite and extra flavor. While ground beef was browing, I added in one small vidalia onion diced and two cloves of minced garlic. I prefer the real over the powdered. I too, added extra sauce. Instead of two cans of tomato sauce, I used three. I put two in with the rice mixture, and used the third to top each pepper. I also added a touch of shredded jack/cheddar cheese. Oh, and before I forget, I also blanched my peppers in boiling water for about 3 minutes to soften a touch. Fiance had never had stuffed peppers before, and he has requested I make them again very soon! Great recipe, quick and easy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Kristen W

Seven Layer Taco Dip

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Made this for a cookout and everyone absolutely raved about it. I did make a couple of changes. I omitted the lettuce and bell pepper. In place of this, I made a faux guacamole. I had avacado on hand, but no cilantro, lime juice or onion. So I mashed up the avacado with a couple tablespoons of mayo, pinch of salt and pepper, splash of red wine vinegar to give it a bit of acidity and a dash of cumin and used a couple of the diced tomatoes for the top layer. Tasted great! Also, instead of adding the taco seasoning to the beans, I browned up some ground beef and added it to that. Lastly, to the cream cheese/sour cream mixture I minced up some pickled jalapenos and mixed that in for an added kick. I layered mine as follows: Beans Cream Cheese/Sour Cream Ground beef Guacamole Shredded cheese Tomatoes Olives Will definitely make again. Most likely for Sunday football games!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

Mexican Rice I

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Very tasty. I used a whole 10 ounce can of Rotel mexican tomatos. Chicken stock instead of water and a small can of corn niblets undrained. I used Basamati rice and had to add a bit more stock halfway through cooking time. Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthy Turkey Loaf

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
My family loved this. My picky teenager inhaled this and the leftovers were gone the next day!!!! Thanks for the recipe. This is now a staple in my meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Very very tasty. My hubby ate three porkchops with this gravy!! He actually wanted me to make this again in the same week. I did double up on the gravy so I would have some extra. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wild Rice and Ham Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This was a very tasty dish! The ONLY change I made was that I sauteed an 8 oz. box of sliced baby bellas and added it to the mixture. I used shredded sharp cheddar for extra flavor versus just regular cheddar. Was even better the next night! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen W

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Made this last night and was very impressed. My fiance and stepsons ate it right up! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the nuts due to allergies. Will absolutely make again. Great way to use up those garden zucchinis! p.s. I made a cream cheese frosting to put on individual slices. Really kicked it up a notch as Emeril would say
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Kristen W

Banana Split Cake II

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I was a little disappointed in this. The only substition I made was to use store bough shortbread crusts. Other than that I followed the recipe to a tee. I brought both cakes/pies to a 4th of July cookout and it wasn't one of the more popular desserts. Oh well, not everyone can be a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

Grilled Swordfish with Rosemary

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was absolutely delicious. My husband wasn't to sure about trying a marinade on swordfish because he likes the taste of swordfish by itself but he was won over by this marinade. I followed the recipe exactly except I marinaded it for 3 1/2 hours and poked the fish to help absorb it better. I boiled the remaining marinade and basted the fish while on grill. Hubby used some of it as well and dipped his fish in it at the table. Defintely going to be using this recipe again. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen W

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Banana bread is one of my Mom and Grandmother's favorites, so I thought I would make these to give to them on Mother's Day. They were really good, however, a bit on the dry side. I made sure not to over bake. I used oil in place of the butter as other reviewers had suggested. I am wondering if the addition of sour cream would have helped keep them a bit more moist. There is a delicious banana bread recipe I make that calls for sour cream and it seems to make it really moist. I will definitely make these again and maybe try it w/sour cream or maybe even some buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

Banana Bread

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This is delicious! A nice and simple banana bread! I make it everytime my bananas are extra ripened!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I doubled the sauce ingredients because I knew I was going to serve this over Basamati rice. I added the pepper and a whole onion right away and the pepper consistency was perfect. I too, like other members suggested, added Worsteschirer sauce. I also added some sliced baby bella mushrooms since I had some in fridge I needed to use up. My husband has already requested that I make this again next weekend when we have company over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen W

Mahogany Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I made these for the Superbowl this past weekend. Quite possibly the best "sweet" style wings I've ever had. I marinated mine overnight. In addition to the ingredients listed, I used fresh grated ginger, a teaspoon of red chile flakes, and about 1/2 cup of oj. I too boiled the leftover marinade down and tossed the cooked wings in it. Sooo oooey, goooey, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I made this for myself and my roommates. We all loved it. I made some changes, because I'm allergic to onions & garlic ( obviously I omitted them). But I added boiled potatoes (peeled and diced); bacon bits; instead of processed cheese I used three pounds of shredded cheese (Munster, Swiss, and Montery Jack). The potatoes and bacon made it a bit thicker for the guys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAMIESMEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar and Garlic

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
very good, hubby loved it as did I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Chicken Paprika

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I removed the onions from the recipe and added corn starch (1 to 2 tsp in 1/4 cup hot water) to thicken the sauce. It took me longer than 40 minutes to have this recipe ready for the table. The sauce wouldn't thicken. Other these two adjustments/problems, I would make the recipe again, because it was flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAMIESMEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cavatelli, Broccoli and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
My kids (3 of them, under 6 years old) loved this!! I didn't have any mushrooms (they love mushrooms), so I added baby carrots with the broccoli instead. Really good family dinner. Everybody cleaned their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Peppers My Way

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
My kids love these! I use yellow/orange peppers, because my 6 year old likes them best. I leave out the feta for the kids and just sprinkle with parmesan before serving. My husband and I like the feta!! A great, easy entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-87 (of 87) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States