Derry, New Hampshire - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by sadieandleo

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Mmmmmm! I just made these and they are delightful! I did alter the recipe a little bit, the changes I made: 1 cup of milk instead of 3/4 cup 2 eggs instead of 1 egg and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract for a little added flavor. I also used the traditional method, mixing all dry ingredients, then all wet in another bowl and then combining slowly. I did forgo the topping as I wanted these to truly feature the chocolate and they did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadieandleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sadieandleo

Kraft® Boston Cream Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Absolutely outstanding!!! The only thing I did differently is bake two 9" rounds instead of hasseling with trying to cut one round into twos. It was unbelievable and anyone can make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadieandleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sadieandleo

Cranberry Apple Pie I

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
A huge hit for Thanksgiving!!! My husband requested an apple and cranberry pie for dessert and I tried this one out. I used a ready made crust for ease and that was a great choice. I also didn't not use the crumble topping as my mind was in fifty different places that day but instead just covered the top with a another pie crust layer and that worked perfectly as well. We served this pie with homemade egg nog ice cream and it was a festive and wonderful dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadieandleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sadieandleo

White Chip Chocolate Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Totally yummy chocolate chocolate!!! I divided the batter into two batches and added semi-sweet chocolate chips to one batch and white chocolate chips to the other half. Both batches baked up perfectly and these will answer any chocolate craving you may be having!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadieandleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sadieandleo

Cranberry Nut Bread I

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Outstandingly tart! I made a few changes as I like to bake my cranberry bread with whole cranberries and I also used about 2 cups instead of 1 cup of cranberries. Also I don't like nuts too much so I just omitted them. But overall this is the best cranberry bread recipe I've ever used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadieandleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sadieandleo

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
A seasonal crowd pleaser! Loved by everyone! Very moist and aromatic. I didn't put any nuts or raisins in mine but it definitely didn't feel like it was missing anything. Highly recommended recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadieandleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stew VI

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Mmmmmmm! Instead of the beef bouillion and water, I used two 32 oz. beef stock boxes and approximately three cups of a nice red cabernet wine. I added extra carrots and potatoes and threw in a box of freshly sliced baby bella mushrooms but eliminated the celery since I'm not a big fan of it. Added two bay leaves during the cooking process for additional flavor. I also added garlic powder, onion powder and black pepper to a flour mix that I coated the meat with prior to cooking it. Putting the mix in a plastic bag and adding the meat will evenly coat the meat. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
OMG, delicious doesn't even begin to describe this meatloaf. I grated two large carrots into the mix and added brown sugar to the ketchup for the glaze. My husband who doesn't eat meatloaf leftovers kept raiding the fridge for little samples of it. Next time I made it I had to double it so there would be leftovers even after the midnight raidings. A definite addition to the meal rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sadieandleo

Easy Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Very easy and satisfying recipe. I pressed the balls before baking onto colored sugar and it made them very festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadieandleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken a la King I

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Great recipe! Instead of canned mushrooms, I used an 8 oz container of sliced baby bellas. Omitted the green peppers and replaced that with a bag of frozen mixed veges (corn, peas, carrots and green beans). Added a finely chopped medium onion and used two 4 oz jars of pimentos (with juice) finely chopped with food chopper. I used chicken broth in place of water and boullion. I had to add extra broth toward end because I let it cook a bit longer while waiting for rice to finish cooking. Will definitely be adding this to my regular dinner rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen W

Crispy Orange Beef

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I just made this recipe and my fiance and I were thoroughly impressed. Definitely a dish I will make again. I did make a couple changes after reading through each review. I think these changes made this dish that much more delicious. After slicing the beef (and I did use top sirloing, so glad I did as it was very flavorful and tender), I coated in the cornstarch and refrigerated for 30 minutes. I used peanut oil in my wok as it can be heated to a higher temperature without burning and also gives the beef a nice flavor without tasting too oily. For the sauce, I also doubled up on it as I wanted enough to coat the beef and add some to the steamed white rice. The only thing I did not double was the sugar. I used 1/3 cup and doubled up on each of the other ingredients. One last addition was about a tablespoon of ginger chile sauce for a touch of heat. With these adjustments, this turned out to be one of the best recipes I've made on this site. I served over steamed white rice and steamed broccoli. Will most definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
These doughnuts turned out great!! We loved them. My only addition would be a pinch of salt to the glaze, it really makes it taste just like the "original". Otherwise it's just a little too sweet. Don't forget to fry the holes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lazydaysi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen W

Chocolate Pretzels

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Had these a couple years ago and never knew how to make them. I couldn't get over how easy they were to make. So simple, yet so delicious! I used Rolo candies in place of the Hershey Kiss only because I love chocolate and caramel. I used salted mini-pretzels and loved the sweet and salty combination. Family and neighbors thought they were bought from a candy shop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

Fruit Bread II

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This was an easy and tasty bread! I've never like fruit bread/cakes because of the red and green cherrie--so I omitted them kept the raisins, pineapple and added pecans--it was delicious--family agreed! Will make this again! Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen W

Ricotta Cookies III

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Just finished making these and they are delicious. Very moist. Instead of using the icing listed, I went with the glaze from the Ricotta Cookies II recipe. I prefer a lighter glaze over an icing for these cookies. My Italian friends would be proud of me. I'm including these cookies with 3 other types I made to give out for Christmas treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

Juicy Butt Steaks

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Im eatting this right now.SO GOOD!!! I used bbq instead of ketcup[didnt have any]lots of onion and lots of garlic..We Love It!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I am giving this 4 stars because it is good but needs a bit more liquid filling. I find it dry the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Lime Bacon-Wrapped Shrimp

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
My brother in-law made this for Thanksgiving, and it was eaten up faster than anything!! I had him give me the recipe the very same day!! I can't wait to make them! Even the people who don't prefer shrimp loved it!!! This will be a keeper forever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flatlander Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This is really good, and now is my go to chili recipe. I did change one thing on the recipe and I used tomato sauce instead of soup because I didn't have any on hand. BUT it was perfect and I have not used the original in fear of ruining a good thing. I also didnt think I would like celery in chili, so I cut it up really thin and it is really nice! This is simple, easy, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

It's Chili by George!!

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
ABSOLUTELY amazing! This was my first attempt at chili and I will be sticking with this recipe! I used 3 cans diced tomatoes with one of them having jalepenos in them. I used hot mexican chili powder, curry powder and ground chipole powder. I used tomato sauce but as it simmered it started thickening up so I added a bottle of V8 juice to it. I simmered it on low for 3 hours and the house smelled nummy. I cooked up a box of elbow macaroni and added it to it. Served it with shredded sharp cheddar cheese and a dollop of sour cream. My husband was sampling it while it cooked and then ate 3 bowls of it for supper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 87) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States