Derry, New Hampshire - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Very good, very dense. Took advice and added the cinnamon and cloves with a little bit of chocolate chips!! yummy. gone in 1 day. I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream (it was what I had in fridge) and it worked out fine, and nobody knew! will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Jenkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
These were very nice! Due to watching my weight/ serving sizes I made smaller ones and they were great! I also cut down on the amount of topping just a smidge. Bet these would taste nice with fresh apple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burrito Pie

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Made this last night. After reading many reviews, I made the following changes. I added in one packet of taco seasoning to the browned meat (I used ground turkey). I didn't put the refried beans in with the meat mixture, but instead spread them on top of the tortillas. I could only find packages of 8 count tortilaas so I cut each in half and doubled up on the tortillas when layering to prevent them from getting soggy. I used an 11x17 baking dish and layered it: meat, cheese, beany tortillas...meat, cheese, beany tortillas...topped with more shredded cheese. I covered and baked for 30 minutes, then uncovered and baked another 7 minutes. Let it rest for 10 minutes and served with salsa and sour cream on the side. Was delicious and tasted even better today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

Sweet and Sour Kielbasa

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Had this at a friends home the other day, my family loved this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheryl Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Pancakes

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Since I didn't have any blueberries, I substituted 1/2 Cherry yogurt and left out the spices. They came out really good and are best with a fruit/cream cheese compote. They puff up and flatten out. I think this is a fantastic recipe that allows for LOTS of customization.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniele

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Japanese Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Yummy Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Italian Beef Barley Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Love this! was a big hit. I did add celery and carrots. Next time will add potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I just finished making these. Delicious! The first attempt, I accidently used too much flour and not enough sugar- my fault, no the recipes'. The second time, it came out perfect. They look and taste amazing, and my family won't stop picking! I followed the advice of other reviewers and used 3 tbsp. of sugar and 3 tsp. of cinnamon. I definitely feel that the extra was needed. It's the perfect amount. Follow this recipe to the letter and you can't go wrong! I can't wait to share these with everyone in school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Footie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockport, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Award Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
PHENOMENAL! I did half the recipe and I opted out on the walnuts and used mint dark chocolate chips instead of semi sweet but everything I else I went step by step and these came out like a dream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadieandleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Autumn Cheesecake

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was my first ever attempt at making a cheesecake and it was AWESOME. I am not counting the boxed, no bake kind! ;) I am a cheesecake lover and I really did LOVE this! The filling was so delicious and just the right texture. I did add an extra package of cream cheese and an egg due to the other reviews of it being 'runny' just to be safe since I was bringing it to my family's Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone really enjoyed it. I just skipped the pecans on top since my hubby is fussy but I did put it it the crust. Shhh, don't tell! LOL He's not allergic or anything! I am definitely going to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterfly77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nottingham, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Apple Burgers

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
These were so delicious!!! I had bought some ground pork and had no idea what to do with it so I came on here looking for a recipe and this was perfect!!! My hubby worked late so unfortunately they didn't get cooked on the grill but I used the George Foreman and they came out just fine. I used half of an onion since me and my oldest aren't big fans but I'm glad I put some in them. The flavor was subtle but it definitely added that extra flavor. We also skipped the pineapple since I didn't have any at home but I'm sure we'll try that next time. I am most certainly making these again!!! Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterfly77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nottingham, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bolognese Stuffed Bell Peppers

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This was delicious! It was my first time making a traditional stuffed pepper and I made some tweeks to fit my style of cooking! I used 1 cup of instant brown rice, one small onion and two large cloves of garlic chopped instead of the carrots and celery, a full pound of ground beef seasoned with salt, pepper, cumin and a few sprinkles of italian seasoning! When I added the marinara, red wine(chianti was delicious in the dish), and crushed red pepper I aslo added a can of rotel that I had drained. I boiled the peppers for about 5-7 minutes to help the cooking process along. I stuffed the peppers sprinkled them with some parmesan put in the oven for 15-20 minutes then I topped them with a generous helping of shredded mozzarella and let that get melted and just a little toasty! About 10 minutes! Served it with a fresh salad on the side! And my boyfriend was very happy to have left over stuffing and a left over pepper too! We'll definetly be making thins again! It's our new favorite dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
So yummy! Pretty easy, too. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anahola, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stew VI

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Excellent! My whole family loved it. After I browned the meat, I realized that I didn't have beef bouillon or beef broth, or anything "beefy". I used 4 cups of chicken broth with 3 tsp worchestershire sauce instead. It worked great. The stew was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Apple Pancake

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Flavor and texture are wonderful. I tried it both with fresh apples and with canned pie filling, the flavor is definitely better with the fresh, crisp apples. This is a favorite breakfast for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's Kitchen Classic Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Very satisfying, but this does have a very different taste from most stroganoffs because of the use of yogurt and not sour cream. With that said, my husband and I actually preferred it! I used red wine instead of sherry and it really gave it a richer dimension and an elegant taste. (I also used 93/7 ground beef and added a beef bullion cube to the water.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadieandleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

KNUDSEN Chicken and Biscuits

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Really really good! I used fresh carrots and broccoli (steamed a little bit before adding them to the mix) and I also added about a cup of milk to the soup mixture because it seemed a bit thick otherwise. Very yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadieandleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Very hearty but I would recommend adding salt to taste, not the recommended amount. I also added 2 cups of water and ONLY 2 chicken bullion's (geez, 6 would knock the wind outta ya!). I slow cook for 8 hours on low so the need for the extra water, but I wouldn't recommend the extra water if you slow cook on high for shorter times. I added some frozen peas in the last ten minutes of cooking. Stirred at the halfway point and then again when I added the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadieandleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Made this for my toga party cookout. Big hit. Also used the enitre box of spinach. Love the crunch from the water chestnuts. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

Campfire Banana Splits

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
These are a truly decadent dessert! I added some crumbled graham crackers too. It's like having a warm banana cream pie. Everyone who tried them loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 87) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States