Concord, New Hampshire - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Vegetarian Split Pea Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
A great way to kick off Fall's soup season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

Chilled Cucumber Soup (142 cal./serving)

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Easy to make, great on a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
SOOO good :) love the use of yolk and sugar to add that sweet crispy crunch to the crust!! I will be making this again after strawberry picking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty Stoykovich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Loved this easy chicken recipe! I followed others advise and floured the chicken before cooking. My sauce turned out great and the chicken had a nice glazed stickiness. I would definitely make this again, but will have to back off on the saracha hot sauce this time for my kiddos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty Stoykovich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Make Ahead French Toast

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Tried this recipe last week. Was a bit skeptical as well. I generally don't soak french toast for more than a minute because i don't like it too soft. However, i had some bread slices that were left out and dried and needed to use them up so i figured, French Toast! I mixed the "soak" as directed but since i like it more on the firm side, I only put in 1/2 cup of the milk. I also added a bit of cinnamon. The next day i made the glaze. (again, was skeptical....i mean, i never glazed french toast before) but tried it anyway, baked it and served. Waited for the reactions and well....it was awesome! Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYTESHADE74

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brandied Candied Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
OUT OF THIS WORLD Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I made these yesterday and they were so good! I only put 1 c of brown sugar and they were still very sweet. I added raisins and craisins and did not add coconut or chocolate chips or nuts. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waffles I

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This was good but I felt like it needed more...so the 2nd time I made it I added 2 tbs of brown sugar and maybe a tsp of cinnamon then followed the instructions to seperate the yolk and beat the whites til fluffy then I folded them into the batter. These ended up being fabulous and with all the extras I froze them which kept perfectly. Just pop into the toaster...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Epsom, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitty Stoykovich

Molasses Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I loved them! I didn't have margarine, so I used salted butter and omitted the salt. I accidentally used 1/2 cup of sugar in the mix and the half the roll it in and they turned out excellent! I'm sure they are great with the whole cup in the mix too and I'll try that next time! I will be making these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty Stoykovich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old-Fashioned Beef Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Loved it! The whole family ate it and that's saying a lot for my household :) I made minor changes by cubing the potatoes, omitting the green beans ( I didn't have any in hand) mushrooms (husband does not like them) but added the celery. I was out of tomato past,e so I just added some leftover pasta sauce and it was fine. I will try adding a splash of red wine next time and the green beans if I have fresh ones :) this recipe is a keeper and great for a cold January dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty Stoykovich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Love this side dish! I use half rice half orzo and brown with butter in pan til its a toasty brown add the chix broth and let simmer after I add spinach because I rarely have fresh basil and the parm cheese its absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Epsom, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brussels Sprouts in a Sherry Bacon Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
If I could give this recipe more than 5 stars I would! Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Manicotti Alla Romana

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
The best manicotti recipe ever! Made it for a Christmas party and got rave reviews! I didn't cook the noodles at all and they were easy to fill. Baked 350° for 45 minutes. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Emily's Famous Hash Browns

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I don't usually make a big breakfast, but our grandsons are visiting so, you know, I had to make it special. I'd never made hash browns from scratch, but this recipe looked easy enough, so I opted to give it a try, using tips from other reviews. I washed about 8 small (slightly soft) unpeeled red potatoes, then dried them before shredding them with a food processor. Then I rinsed the shredded potato per the recipe, then spun them in a salad spinner, and then patted them with paper towels to get them as dry as possible. (I suspect some of the bad reviews come from not drying the potatoes enough.) I added the egg and flour, about 1 tbsp. onion powder, a tsp. of Kosher salt, and about a dozen strands of saffron (a delicious tip from an entirely different potato recipe). I used a cast iron griddle wiped down with Grape Seed Oil, and I tossed on a tbsp. of butter just before spreading the potato mix out to about 1/2" thick. (In other words, I used far less "grease" than the recipe calls for.) I flipped them after about 10 minutes and tossed another tbsp. of butter onto the griddle for the second side. They browned up nicely after another 10 minutes. The boys liked them (mission accomplished) but the real surprise was my husband of 32 years: he's a hash brown addict who says these are "hands down" the best he's ever eaten: "crunchy on the outside and not oily. Perfect. The best ever!" I don't get raving compliments like that very often. So thank you, Emily. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This was a fabulous cookie! My family loved them and this is ow my go to recipe. I did not find that these cookies were cakey at all. I would recommend that you use real butter and follow the recipe as stated. You might want to keep an eye on your oven also because I found that mine were perfect at 16-17 minutes and then I cooled them on the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blenny80

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Urban Legend Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I replaced the nuts with caramel bits and sprinkled the tops of the dough balls with fine sea salt right before baking. We always underbake these a bit so they have fudgy centers. They are fantastic cookies for shipping since they don't go stale for almost a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pickled Red Onion

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
A little salty for my taste and not so picklie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Hopkinton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I tried this recipe out instead of the big fat choc chip recipe that I always use...it was ok def not as good as the other...I def would use more brown than white next time or use darkbrown sugar may make a difference...they r good enough to eat but won't make these again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Epsom, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Was Okay and very quick to make. Maybe becase I used Taragon Mustard versus Dijion these is a diffence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Hopkinton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruit Dip II

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I never serve this without someone (or everyone!) asking for the recipe. I love this recipe because its so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States