New Hampshire - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Brown Sugar Smokies

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
These are always a hit and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Swampscott, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef and Noodles in Crockpot

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was excellent. The changes I made were: I added a second can of cream of mushroom soup and I used a package of dry onion soup mix. It was nice and thick and creamy and not soupy at all. In addition, I covered my stew beef pieces in flour and seared all sides before placing them in the crock pot. Served it over egg noodles. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Swampscott, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Peanut Butter Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
We love peanut butter so this pie is a must have for the holidays. I make mine a bit different tho, i use 1 (8 oz.) package of cream cheese, 1 cup creamy Teddies Old Fashioned peanut butter, 1 (8oz) True whip, and 1/3 cup sugar. I also make the crust, because i don't like the store bought graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chili Rubbed Pork Tenderloin With Apricot Ginger Glaze

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I've made this a few times now! Delicious! Love the dry rub! I marinate it for about 12 to 24 hours. Then I baste it with the scrumptious glaze. And if that wasn't enough...I then wrap in in bacon and baste again...that's right! YUM! I bake it at 450 for 15 minutes and then lower it to 350 until the internal temp is 140/145. I then take it out and cover it and let it stand at least 15 minutes. Watch the bacon while it's in the oven, you may need to cover with foil. Thanks for a great recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally in NH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
After reading reviews I thought I would chime in with some advice about flat cookies. -use bread or unbleached flour. -use parchment paper -ALWAYS USE COLD DOUGH -NO dough on warm or hot cookie sheets -Using baking soda/powder that isn't fresh can make your cookies flunk, as can peeking at them by opening oven door repeatedly. -DO NOT over-mix in the creaming process. The friction WILL cause too much heat and flunk the cookies while baking. -If dough feels too "gooshy", add flour until it feels "springier". -During creaming, butter/margarine MUST BE COLD. -Adding even a "tad" too much of baking soda will flunk them. -And last...if doubling, tripling etc the recipe, you MUST measure ingredients by WEIGHT, not simply by doubling or tripling the original ingredients. VERY IMPORTANT. Fresh, well measured and cold ingredients will help all cookies to be better tasting and better looking. Hope this helped a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, New Hampshire, USA

Brussels Sprouts in a Sherry Bacon Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
If I could give this recipe more than 5 stars I would! Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Manicotti Alla Romana

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
The best manicotti recipe ever! Made it for a Christmas party and got rave reviews! I didn't cook the noodles at all and they were easy to fill. Baked 350° for 45 minutes. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
SUPERB! Loved the textures and flavor complexities. Not a huge fan of a strong onion flavor, so I subbed the red onion with scallions. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Dani P

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I made these this afternoon and they are delicious! I used Jif creamy peanut butter. I don't have a mini-muffin pan so I used the regular size muffin pan I have which made 12 cookies. I sprayed it with Pam no-stick spray. I took the advice of another review and froze the peanut butter cups for about an hour before using them. I also let the cookies cool completely before removing them from the pan. Will be sending these with my husband to his office tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampton, New Hampshire, USA

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
These are great!!! This is a keeper! Wish that I had the frosting though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lei58
Home Town: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ziti Chicken and Broccoli

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
GLUTEN FREE DIRECTIONS: was so very good, but I had to alter for my allergy. better than at a restaurant. made this tonight and was hands down one of the best CBZ recipes ever. I used a le cruset type pot on top of the stove to cook most all of it, except the steaming of the broccoli (purposefully undercooked), which I did in a basket above the gluten free pasta. I presauted a package of mushrooms in EVOO and put that aside. I cut the chicken thin and into smaller chucks, powdered them with a 1/2 cup cornstarch and 1.5 tablespoons McCormack garlic salt mixed together, then parcooked, browned them on each side in EVOO, and also put them aside. I used homemade chicken stock, and instead of chicken bouillon cube I used better than bouillon chicken base (comes in a jar). used about 2 tsps. of that and scrapped all the goodness of the bottom of the pot. I ended up only adding about 1 Tbsp of cornstarch at the end to thicken and that was the leftover from the chicken powdering in the beginning. I added all back to the pot- the mushrooms, the chicken and broccoli (I did omit the artichokes, my kids not a fan) and then served over GF pasta. these are the types of dishes us kids with celiac disease miss. definitely a keepah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREGSGIRL63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Wilton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Challah I

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I've been baking bread for almost 30 years. This recipe was one of the most exact I have ever followed and the bread, if not the best certainly one of the best I have ever made. Sweet, perfect crumb and crust, I added nothing, changed nothing and will be making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAKSPEAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Delicious! Definitely will make this again...more then once! :) I followed the Prosciutto in place of bacon suggestion. Sooooo good! And so easy. I would recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ossipee, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Earthquake Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written with a twist Immediately after taking from the oven, place a round thin mint on top of each cookie. Only store these in a sealed container after COMPLETELY COOLED. Yum Yum delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

Luscious Eggnog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Thank you BethR117! You saved my eggnog. I followed the recipe exactly but still ended up with lumpy custard. After reading your review I ran the hot custard through my kitchen blender then let it cool. It was perfect after adding the whipped cream . We'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5COOKIEMUNCHERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stewed Tomatoes (Gobbledygook)

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I'm another woman who STILL cannot control the child within. I always thought this dish was a punishment for something I'd done. My mother finally gave up saying she could'nt stand the awful faces I made (they ruined the dish for her and she'd eat anything!) Fast forward 6 decades - Holey moley batman! These taste really good!! Although Mum always put sugar on tomato-anything ( it's a fruit afterall ) I'm pretty sure that she would be perfectly happy with 1/3 C of sugar. in this recipe. Thank you X3!! P.S. I'm pretty sure she's above us all with a satisfied grin on her face.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton Bay, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Emily's Famous Hash Browns

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I don't usually make a big breakfast, but our grandsons are visiting so, you know, I had to make it special. I'd never made hash browns from scratch, but this recipe looked easy enough, so I opted to give it a try, using tips from other reviews. I washed about 8 small (slightly soft) unpeeled red potatoes, then dried them before shredding them with a food processor. Then I rinsed the shredded potato per the recipe, then spun them in a salad spinner, and then patted them with paper towels to get them as dry as possible. (I suspect some of the bad reviews come from not drying the potatoes enough.) I added the egg and flour, about 1 tbsp. onion powder, a tsp. of Kosher salt, and about a dozen strands of saffron (a delicious tip from an entirely different potato recipe). I used a cast iron griddle wiped down with Grape Seed Oil, and I tossed on a tbsp. of butter just before spreading the potato mix out to about 1/2" thick. (In other words, I used far less "grease" than the recipe calls for.) I flipped them after about 10 minutes and tossed another tbsp. of butter onto the griddle for the second side. They browned up nicely after another 10 minutes. The boys liked them (mission accomplished) but the real surprise was my husband of 32 years: he's a hash brown addict who says these are "hands down" the best he's ever eaten: "crunchy on the outside and not oily. Perfect. The best ever!" I don't get raving compliments like that very often. So thank you, Emily. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

Cucumber Sandwich

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I love these. As a vegan, the cream cheese gets left out, and I use an almond pesto in its stead. Also very nice lightly toasted under the broiler for a few minutes. Don't pass these up just because are veggie with no meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, New Hampshire, USA

Potato Latkes I

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This was my first attempt at making a homemade latke. The batter seemed excessively eggy and the end result was very, very salty. I added more shredded potato as I was frying them to try to combat it but it couldn't counteract all the salt. I think it would be a perfect recipe if the salt was cut by 2/3 and the egg by 1/2. I usually sneer at reviewers for suggesting changes (ie come up with your own recipe if you know so much--ha ha!) and try to stick to the original recipe, but this time I really wish I'd read the other reviews and cut down on the egg and salt. Who knew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffintopmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bedford, New Hampshire, USA

Sugar Coated Pecans

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made the changes Mary Domaz put in her review and they were FANTASTIC. Coworkers described them as addictive and asked for the recipe. I will be making them again very soon for Christmas. Thank you for the recipe Carolyn and Thank You Mary D. for the suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA
Living In: Walpole, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States