New Hampshire - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Roasted Red Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Family loved it ... I cooked potatoes & last 12 to 15 minutes put chopped bacon & chopped onions in. Also coated potatoes with 1/2 Ranch Salad Dry Mix before cooking. Thanks for recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I "love it" when folks play Food Police and write a "review" about how disappointed they are in seeing canned soups, seasoning packets, salt content, fat, calories etc. And what's that you say, this is NOT an "authentic" Mexican recipe?? My goodness, what astute observations. Was it the 'slow cooker', or cream soups that gave it away? Thank you to all the Captain Obvious watchdogs, but we ARE in fact grownups that can read AND even make decisions for ourselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, New Hampshire, USA

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Made this recipe as written...I used a mandolin to slice the cukes. I did salt the cucumber slices for an hour to drain the water. Still the finished product had quite a bit of liquid...but we actually liked it that way. I thought about adding some celery seed, but the recipe (as is) was awesome! Maybe next time! Thanks so much for the recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally in NH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant and Zucchini Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
A definite miss. Prepared stuffing turned into a mushy, gooey,paste-like mess under the sauteed vegetables. Too much butter and cheese, and I resisted the urge to alter ingredients so I could say I made just as recipe states. No texture, little flavor, an overall fail. Wish I could say there was something redeeming, but I am at a loss as to what happened to make this worthy of a one-star review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by ALLIDAWN

Blueberry Buckle

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This cake was very moist and I loved the crumble on top! I made a few changes: instead of using shortening I used butter. For the 1/2 cup milk I used 1/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup half and half. For the berries I used 1 cup blueberries and 1 cup strawberries, plus they were frozen. For the Cinnamon in the crumble topping, I increased it to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIDAWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Split Pea Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
A great way to kick off Fall's soup season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

Cowboy Tacos

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I LOVE tacos, wraps and burrito type meals. They can be enjoyed by vegans, vegetarians, and meat-a-sauruses alike. And at the same meal, too! I do this recipe with black beans in place of pork, for me. But will offer the meat for non-veggies. The apricots provide a stunning taste bud experience with the other ingredients. Delish! When I skip the meat, I also skip the taco seasoning. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, New Hampshire, USA

Spinach and Sun-Dried Tomato Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Love, love, love this recipe. It's one of those recipes that you can make exactly as written, or change it up. It's difficult to mess it up. I add marinated artichoke hearts, kalamatta olives, and sometimes will skip the sundried tomatoes, and opt for grape tomatoes that I cut in half, sprinkle with a little salt, and roast to bring out their natural sugars. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by ALLIDAWN

Three Berry Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I made this pie for the Fourth of July and everyone loved it! I made a few changes: instead of using all Crisco, I used 1/3 cup Crisco and 1/3 cup butter. For the berries I added strawberries, red raspberries, blueberries and blackberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIDAWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chilled Cucumber Soup (142 cal./serving)

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Easy to make, great on a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
YUM! I made this last night and it was delicious - and so easy! I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts because it's all I had and I added diced red onion, chopped up a garlic clove, and poured a splash of cooking sherry to the mushrooms. Right at the end I added some grape tomatoes that I had cooked in a fry pan with olive oil, S&P. For sides I just made some egg noodles and some fresh corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampton Falls, New Hampshire, USA

Marinade for Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This was very good - I also cut the amounts in half. Forgot the parsley (even tho I did have some!) I wasn't too sure about it after it was made. I must say I used melted coconut oil (refined) instead of vegetable oil due to health benefits- when I added the cold ingredients (my Tamari (soy) sauce & worcestershire sauce) it caused the coconut oil to "gel" up. No problem tho once it went on the grill! I used it for boneless skinless chicken thighs - they were very tasty! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
These were the most AMAZING FALL OFF THE BONE ribs we ever had. Instead of Chili Sauce I used one cup Ketchup and two cups Bulls Eye BBQ Sauce. Followed the rest of the recipe as is and omitted the hot sauce. Slow cooked for 6 1/2 hours and finished them on the grill. We had a lot left over for just the two of us and I heated the leftovers in the oven on 300 until heated through with the leftover sauce and they were just as good if not better the second time. I am so glad I came across this recipe. I am ready to make them again even though I had them last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brighton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This was outstanding! I always read the reviews before I try a recipe. I did double the spices and I cut the large chicken breasts in half and the pounded them slightly. I used crushed garlic instead of the garlic powder and added minced onion and jalapeño pepper in the last five minutes. All suggestions in the reviews. It is a yum. Tender, moist and snappy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
SOOO good :) love the use of yolk and sugar to add that sweet crispy crunch to the crust!! I will be making this again after strawberry picking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty Stoykovich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BobbySF

Belle and Chron's Spinach and Mushroom Quiche

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I used less spinach and there was a little water but this is by far the best quiche I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobbySF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Custard Bread Pudding

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Here it is - AT LAST!!! I don't need to taste it in my mouth, my brain is doing the tasting based on ingredients. This is the same recipe my mum used ( except she did'nt have a written recipe) and I have been looking for this for a looonnnng time. I even have my sister lookingfor it. Here's what tipped me off. More custard than bread - check, raisins - check. Baked in a "slow" oven forever ( that is more than an hour at 300° ) - check. Wow! I'm going to make some tomorrow and surprise her with it! Bread pudding yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton Bay, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Cream Of Broccoli Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I liked Ike (couldnt resist, tho he was b4 my time????) 's review and my curiosity got the better of mr! You can have it real smoothe like pea soup, you can have it textured, you can add spices and heat if you want to sear your tonsils, and you can make it with an undetectible tweak. My only tweak was: substitute one can of fat free evaporated milk for 12 oz (1&1/2 C) of the milk called for. I HAD to do that because I did'nt want the self appointed food police tearing my review apart. It also makes the roux w/butter slightly more acceptable to all the Carrie Nations out in the big brother/sister world. Did I like it??? As my mum used to say "Does a duck swim?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton Bay, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Fajita Marinade

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
We made as written and really wanted to like this, all the right ingredients, but it was boring. Served on homemade wheat tortillas with roasted red pepper, vidalia onions, salsa, cheese...etc. Perhaps I'll try a recipe with cilantro next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5COOKIEMUNCHERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lasagna Pepper Boats

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
These were delicious,especially the sauce. The only issue I had was the cheese melted out of the peppers. I will use a larger pepper next time and there will be a next time. For low carb these are a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States