Worcester, Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Delicious and juicy. The time was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Squash Dip

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Huge hit. HUGE. Everyone loved it! Only two remarks: 1) it makes a lot. Be prepared - if it isn't a big party, you will be blessed with leftovers (especially if you are like us and always have too much food!) 2) needs salt. I use the pink Himalayan and it was perfect. Other than that, it's perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I'm attributing my cookies' lack of "poof" to the fact that my baking soda probably was a bit older than it should have been. The flavor was great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

3-Minute Fudge

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I would add a pinch of salt to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Mmmmm. Writing this review as I stand in my kitchen, with a lovely cup of herbal tea and a couple of these amazing cookies by my side. Not too sweet, perfect spiciness ... this could be a problem. I made them for my daughter (who comes home from college tomorrow for a week) and I am thinking that there will be fewer for her than originally planned. I've been looking for tasty cookies to send to the cadets at USCGA for the day room before the holidays - these are easy, tasty, and I see many dozen on their way to appreciative cadets in the near future. THANK YOU, BETH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA

Fideo

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I made the following alterations and additions to the recipe: I used chicken broth instead of water; added 1/4 pound of browned ground beef, 1/3 cup of chopped red onion and about 1/2 cup of diced tomatoes; and used a full teaspoon of cumin because I love cumin. I also added about 3/4 tsp. garlic powder. The mixture simmered, covered, for a full 15 minutes. Sprinkled the finished dish with grated queso fresco. Muy delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

English Muffin Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was my first stab at making this bread and I goofed!---I got sidetracked from what I was doing (hectic morning in the kitchen) and forgot to oil/spray the sheet of plastic wrap I used to cover the dough before letting it rise (thank goodness, I halved the recipe for my first attempt and was making only 1 loaf). It stuck horribly and deflated the loaf so I tried to give it another rise for 45 minutes. No luck, so I baked the flat thing anyway for exactly 30 minutes. I waited 10 minutes before removing it from the pan and had no trouble with sticking. I couldn't wait until it was totally cool so I cut a piece, toasted it, and ate it with butter and jam. The English muffin flavor of the bread was spot on and the texture wasn't too bad as it still had some nooks and crannies. Amazing, considering it was such a flat loaf. I will most definitely be making another attempt at this, but only when I'm completely alone in my kitchen. I'm sure my next try will be totally successful. Thank you, Elsie, for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Dip For The Stars

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Have made this for a couple of occasions, and it's always a HUGE hit. For the holidays, I made it up in taco baker (to make soft tacos into bowls) so it ended up with that lovely star shape. Outstanding look for the holiday ... very much in keeping with the festive season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Pie III

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
A pumpkin pie recipe with molasses---YES! This is how we do it in New England. The temperature in this recipe is too high, though. Bake the pie at 425 for only 15 minutes or so. Then turn the oven down to 350 to finish the baking. To know your pie is done, give it a little shake and the very center should jiggle a little, or take its temperature---should read about 175 degrees F. The filling will still cook a little when removed from the oven. If you wait until the center is totally set, it has overcooked. You will get cracks, especially along the edges of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

My Kentucky Derby Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
The texture of these cookies is excellent, and they have just the right amount of sweetness, but I do think I'll up the spices a bit the next time I bake them (I substituted ground ginger for the allspice---not a big fan). I'm keeping them in a container on the counter loosely covered with foil and they don't seem to be getting soggy. I also added a splash of maple syrup to the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

Glazed Pumpkin Donuts

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
These donuts are excellent. I made a maple glaze instead of the one listed in the recipe by substituting maple syrup for of some of the water and vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

Albondigas

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
You can use ground pork instead of ground beef. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

Apple Squares

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Talk about an easy recipe! I thought the squares needed more apples so I used a whole cup of chopped instead of just a half cup---a wise decision. I may use a bit more next time I bake these. I also cut down on the amount of the sugars, as advised by previous reviewers. Since I baked these in an 8 x 8 pan, I decreased the amount of cinnamon sugar sprinkled on the top and baked them for 10 minutes longer. The sweetness of the squares was spot-on after making the sugar adjustment. Absolutely delicious! I will most certainly be baking these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Peanut Noodles

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
My, this was delicious and very easy to put together with staples I already had in my pantry. Changes made: I used 1/2 tsp. ground ginger (I had no fresh and was too lazy to make a trip out to get some); tossed the hot drained pasta with a little toasted sesame oil which really added a depth of flavor; added 2 cloves minced garlic (I felt the dish needed it) and 1 carrot, cut into small matchsticks and sautéed them with the onions; finally, garnished the finished dish with chopped roasted peanuts, additional sliced green onions (green part) and toasted sesame seeds. Next time I make this I may add chicken strips or some shrimp. Truly a winning dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Cheese Souffle from Egg Farmers of Ontario

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Needs seasoning! Came together nicely as a soufflé, but my husband asked that I never make this again. Too drab, little flavor. So if you opt to try this out, you may want to pop in your favorite spices. It needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caprese on a Stick

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
So simple, always elegant! I am one of those who drizzles with the balsamic glaze (though I generally have it on hand from Trader Joe's and don't make my own!) I lay them out on a lovely white rectangular platter and they are always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Meatloaf

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I used some frozen bread that I moistened and bbq sauce, it turned out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

October Oatmeal Pumpkin Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Made the recipe exactly as written, and they were very good, but not quite a 5-star as is. I think that they could use a little more depth of flavor, so I'll experiment with some of the things written here - buttermilk, nuts, etc. They would also be outstanding with a streusel-type topping. I will definitely make again, though ... even as written. By the way - I used cooking spray instead of liners, and there was NO issue with sticking at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Cake and Frosting I

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I used only the cake recipe to make strawberry cupcakes, which were really very good, then filled with a lemon curd and iced with lemonade icing for a "Strawberry Lemonade Cupcake" theory. It was amazing, as the original recipe that I had just called for strawberry cake mix ... which has no flavor. With this recipe, the strawberry stood up to the icing, which was key to success. They got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States