Worcester, Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pizza Dough I

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Ok ... Is this the best pizza dough recipe ever? Heck, no. That said, it was exactly what it says it is - quick, easy, and you've got decent pizza in no time. It's not a five-star recipe, but it's certainly four, with five-stars being reserved for outstanding flavor (and generally more effort as well!) Absolutely worth having in the file for when you didn't plan ahead and crave pizza. Takes less time to make this than to order delivery, and it tastes better than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Milly's Oatmeal Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
While I stuck with chocolate chips (I have a bunch I'm the house), I can see these for being a fabulous base for any number of add-ins. The base is sweet but not overpoweringly so, and will match up well with any number of different things! Looking forward to experimenting next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA

Zucchini Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Fudgy and delicious! I made only minor changes/additions: First of all, I took the advice of another reviewer and made the zucchini finer in the food processor after shredding it with a cheese grater; I added 3 Tbs. strong brewed coffee (cooled) and a good squeeze of Hershey's chocolate syrup to the batter; and finally, I made 1 1/2 x the frosting recipe, which turned out to be just perfect for the 13 x 9 pan of brownies. I also added a couple of tablespoons of the coffee to the frosting mixture as well. This, I feel, really intensified the chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe. I tweaked this one a bit to suit our preferences by doing the following: I substituted cream of mushroom soup for the cream of chicken (I detest those odd little pink chicken bits!), added a can of sliced mushrooms and one half of a large yellow onion, thinly sliced, right at the beginning of cooking, and threw in a few drops of Kitchen Bouquet to darken the gravy. I also cooked it an hour longer than directed in the recipe. We found the meat extremely tender, the gravy absolutely delicious---we didn't find it too salty at all. I will make this again and again. Thanks for sharing, Tesslynn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly, so that's the way that I am reviewing it. I suppose if I had added the extra spices that others mentioned, the muffins would have been better and I would have been able to give a better review. As is, this is a pretty bland recipe. They don't have a bad taste, they just don't have much taste. Going back to my old recipe ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Wheat Apple Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Yeah, they are healthy, but they lack a little something called flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Borowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mary's Christmas Shrimp Tree

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I placed little "gifts" of Baby Bell Cheese under the tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Borowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fig and Onion Spread

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This is a lovely recipe, but I did find it needed a little salt, which I added while the onion was caramelizing and also at the end of cooking. I used 24 dried figs and made only a half recipe (1 cup spread), which I reconstituted with boiling water for about 10 minutes. I also added some water to the pan after adding the chopped figs to the onion in the pan and let them simmer away for about another 10 minutes, when the all the liquid evaporated and the figs were pretty soft. I followed the recipe to the letter after that and ended up mashing the mixture a bit with my pastry blender instead of processing (tip from mis7up). I also used light brown sugar. I froze the spread and plan to put on my fruit and cheese tray for Christmas Eve. Thanks for the recipe, Thea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Delicious and juicy. The time was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Squash Dip

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Huge hit. HUGE. Everyone loved it! Only two remarks: 1) it makes a lot. Be prepared - if it isn't a big party, you will be blessed with leftovers (especially if you are like us and always have too much food!) 2) needs salt. I use the pink Himalayan and it was perfect. Other than that, it's perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I'm attributing my cookies' lack of "poof" to the fact that my baking soda probably was a bit older than it should have been. The flavor was great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

3-Minute Fudge

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I would add a pinch of salt to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Mmmmm. Writing this review as I stand in my kitchen, with a lovely cup of herbal tea and a couple of these amazing cookies by my side. Not too sweet, perfect spiciness ... this could be a problem. I made them for my daughter (who comes home from college tomorrow for a week) and I am thinking that there will be fewer for her than originally planned. I've been looking for tasty cookies to send to the cadets at USCGA for the day room before the holidays - these are easy, tasty, and I see many dozen on their way to appreciative cadets in the near future. THANK YOU, BETH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA

Fideo

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I made the following alterations and additions to the recipe: I used chicken broth instead of water; added 1/4 pound of browned ground beef, 1/3 cup of chopped red onion and about 1/2 cup of diced tomatoes; and used a full teaspoon of cumin because I love cumin. I also added about 3/4 tsp. garlic powder. The mixture simmered, covered, for a full 15 minutes. Sprinkled the finished dish with grated queso fresco. Muy delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

English Muffin Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was my first stab at making this bread and I goofed!---I got sidetracked from what I was doing (hectic morning in the kitchen) and forgot to oil/spray the sheet of plastic wrap I used to cover the dough before letting it rise (thank goodness, I halved the recipe for my first attempt and was making only 1 loaf). It stuck horribly and deflated the loaf so I tried to give it another rise for 45 minutes. No luck, so I baked the flat thing anyway for exactly 30 minutes. I waited 10 minutes before removing it from the pan and had no trouble with sticking. I couldn't wait until it was totally cool so I cut a piece, toasted it, and ate it with butter and jam. The English muffin flavor of the bread was spot on and the texture wasn't too bad as it still had some nooks and crannies. Amazing, considering it was such a flat loaf. I will most definitely be making another attempt at this, but only when I'm completely alone in my kitchen. I'm sure my next try will be totally successful. Thank you, Elsie, for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Dip For The Stars

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Have made this for a couple of occasions, and it's always a HUGE hit. For the holidays, I made it up in taco baker (to make soft tacos into bowls) so it ended up with that lovely star shape. Outstanding look for the holiday ... very much in keeping with the festive season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Pie III

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
A pumpkin pie recipe with molasses---YES! This is how we do it in New England. The temperature in this recipe is too high, though. Bake the pie at 425 for only 15 minutes or so. Then turn the oven down to 350 to finish the baking. To know your pie is done, give it a little shake and the very center should jiggle a little, or take its temperature---should read about 175 degrees F. The filling will still cook a little when removed from the oven. If you wait until the center is totally set, it has overcooked. You will get cracks, especially along the edges of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

My Kentucky Derby Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
The texture of these cookies is excellent, and they have just the right amount of sweetness, but I do think I'll up the spices a bit the next time I bake them (I substituted ground ginger for the allspice---not a big fan). I'm keeping them in a container on the counter loosely covered with foil and they don't seem to be getting soggy. I also added a splash of maple syrup to the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

Glazed Pumpkin Donuts

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
These donuts are excellent. I made a maple glaze instead of the one listed in the recipe by substituting maple syrup for of some of the water and vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States