Worcester, Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Honey Balsamic Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
This is my absolute favorite dressing! I wouldn't change anything about it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corey is Boston Strong!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lunenburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
I always thought that everyone did them this way, until I married and my husband adored them. This is THE way to make pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Cheddar Patty Cakes

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I REALLY liked Irish Coleen's idea of using mashed caulflower for a low carb version. You will definitely have to add more seasonings as she mentioned. Garlic powder, onion, chives & and maybe parm cheese and pinch of red pepper flakes.Read the reviews about 1) fry mixture when mixture has chilled. Besides, it allowed for make ahead & fry later 2) adding 1 to 2 T. Flour, so they do not fall apart. One other note: Mashed potatoes do not freeze well....they get gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA

Chef John's Tarragon Aioli

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
I put this on my BLT and it was just about the BEST BLT I've ever had! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Spinach Cheese Pasta

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I used part-skim ricotta instead of cottage cheese. To really brighten up this dish, add some grated lemon zest and a little juice. It really makes a difference. Oh, and a little freshly ground nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Churros

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe.My 14 year old daughter and I had them for Brunch and she was so impressed that I made them right in my own kitchen.Very easy recipe and even more delicious.These Churros are not too crisp,not too soft,they have a very nice texture and flavor.We sprinkled them with Sugar & Cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martina Martinez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

Ranch Mix Saltine Crackers

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I halved the recipe and used a bit less oil---very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
This gets a five because my husband immediately asked me to make it again ... the next day. I've made it with both a brown rice blend and white rice - both are wonderful. I did use dried herbs as I have recently been away and the friend who was supposed to water my herbs killed them all. I reconstituted them with a little oil and water (1/2 tblsp. of each that is supposed to be 1 tblsp.) and went from there. Almost the whole household dislikes celery (except me!) so I used multi colored sweet peppers (the bagged little ones) instead and they made it colorful and were wonderful in it. The rice/bean/dressing mix is a great starter for an immense number of combinations of veggies, depending upon what is available at the farmers markets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Well this went incredibly well. I had never made anything with rhubarb before. Great way to start, EXACTLY as written. Don't change a thing. Not a thing. Perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Pizza Bake

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I add a few things like olives and cheddar instead of Monterey Jack. I like that better. Needs a bit of spice like garlic & red pepper flakes. etc. I like to add in some fennel because it gives a sausage flavor without adding salt. ( almost all sausage has some fennel in it.) A little pepperoni added gives a nice pop of flavor also... but just a little. Basically, you can add anything you like that you would normally put on the pizza. Even people who don't like zucchini have told me they'll eat it this way...so it might be a way to get your kids to eat a few more veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Excellent spice but a bit salty. Will use less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Great meatballs with a lovely soft texture! Changes I made: 1. I used dried parsley (1 Tbs.), basil (1 Tbs.) and ground marjoram (1/2 tsp.) because my own herb plants have not yet matured enough to harvest them and I wasn't about to go out and buy fresh when, I felt, the dried are absolutely fine in this recipe; 2. I added about 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan to the meatball mixture because I cannot fathom meatballs without it; and 3. I baked my meatballs in a preheated 350 degree oven (baking sheet lined with parchment) for 25 minutes, turning the balls once halfway through baking. I simmered them in my favorite commercial marinara for the better part of the afternoon and served them over perciatelli pasta and with homemade garlic toast for dinner tonight (the leftovers will be used for meatball subs a little later this week). My only beef is that although there was a pinch of cayenne pepper in the mixture, I could not detect any heat in the meatballs. The next time I make these, and I will, I will add a good two pinches of cayenne. Bravo, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

Apple Slice Squares

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I've seen an almost identical recipe on another site, but it included a glaze (confectioner's sugar, vanilla extract and milk or lt. cream) to be spread over the top while it's still hot. I thought this crust was very bland; I prefer a buttery crust. The filling is also bland even though I added more ground cinnamon and also ground nutmeg. I won't be making this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Good basic recipe, but, as others here have stated, it needs jazzing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Tip: Crush or grind finely about 4 ginger snap cookies (about 3 Tbs.); sprinkle over the bottom of the baked pie crust before filling. This makes a moisture barrier and prevents the bottom from getting soggy. Delicious pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

Maple Icing

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
What a wonderful frosting with a lovely creamy texture. I wanted more maple flavor so I used only 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract and upped the maple extract to one full teaspoon. I also used only 3 1/2 cups of confectioner's sugar to achieve the perfect consistency (for me). This was wonderful spread on my golden maple-walnut sheet cake. I sprinkled some chopped toasted walnuts on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

Mom's Apple Fritters

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I added some ground cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter. Dropped by heaping teaspoons, the fritters cooked for about 2 1/2 minutes on each side. Perfect. I had some leftover, so to reheat, I nuked them for a few seconds then placed them on a rack in a 400 degree oven for about 10 minutes to crisp them up a bit. Although they were not nearly as good as the freshly-fried fritters, they were quite respectable. This recipe is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

Lemon Crumb Muffins Recipe

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I also scaled down the recipe to make 10 muffins. I didn't change a thing other than drizzling a little simple glaze (made with granulated sugar and lemon juice) over the tops while they were still warm. Next time I may add a little lemon extract to the batter and some grated lemon zest to the topping to make them a bit more lemony. All in all, these are very good muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Very Easy Shrimp Dip

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Love this recipe but only when the ingredients are mixed together to make a lovely, creamy pink dip. Most of the time I use fresh shrimp and coarsely chop them after poaching. I usually add a little prepared horseradish or a few drops of hot sauce and some fresh lemon juice. We enjoy it with Fritos or Bugles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

Broccoli Casserole II

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
This was pretty darn good once I doctored it up a bit. As did others, I used shredded Cheddar-Jack cheese in place of the processed cheese spread, adding 1/2 tsp. each garlic salt, onion powder and kosher salt, and 1/4 tsp. black pepper. I also added 1 large boneless skinless chicken breast which I oven roasted and diced, and used an entire 14-ounce package of broccoli. I mixed all in a large bowl before placing in the greased dish (I used a 2-qt. soufflé dish). I then topped it with a mixture of crushed Ritz crackers, panko crumbs, grated Parmesan, more of the Cheddar-Jack and melted butter. The casserole baked for 45 minutes without covering and browned nicely without burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States