Worcester, Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Crab Wonton Cups

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
added old bay and eliminated the extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This quiche is delightfully light and fluffy. I made it in a 9-inch deep dish pie shell, added an extra jumbo egg, substituted light sour cream for most of the mayonnaise, and chopped a whole medium onion and sautéed it with a clove of minced garlic. I thought it needed a bit of seasoning, so to the spinach/onion/garlic mixture (I mixed them all), I added 1/2 tsp. of dried dill weed, 1/4 tsp. of dried oregano and a pinch each of kosher salt and cayenne pepper. Because I increased the volume of the pie, I needed to bake it about 15 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Apricot-Glazed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is a great base recipe to play with, based on your tastes and what you have in the fridge. I didn't have apricot preserves, so I used a peach and orange preserve that I had kicking around. I cut back on the measurements and sort of "winged it" a little, as I was cooking for one last night. It still came out great, not dry at all as someone said, and I really enjoyed a nice dinner on my own for the evening. I had it with collards and blackeye peas for the New Year ... great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA

Philly Cheesesteak Quesadillas

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I used this recipe for method only, essentially, and it worked wonderfully. It was very convenient to put all on a large baking sheet, flip once, and be done with it. My quesadillas did not include green peppers, barbecue sauce or Cheddar cheese. Rather, I used thinly sliced onion, sliced mushrooms and shredded Provolone cheese on smaller tortillas. I seasoned my shaved steak with a little of Emeril's BAM seasoning and garlic powder. After cutting the quesadillas into wedges, I served them with horseradish cream sauce and honey mustard on the side. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Ethiopian Cabbage Dish

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Tasty, nutritious and if you already have the spices cheap cheap cheap! I did have to add a little water to the pot because the lid was too loose to trap steam. This is going to be a winter standard in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby sparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Boylston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA

Crispy Gingersnaps

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
While these cookies were very tasty and nice and crispy (I used 1/2 c. shortening, 1/4 c. butter), they did not have quite the zing I was looking for. Even though, after reading many of the reviews here, I increased the spice amounts and added allspice, nutmeg, black pepper and even a bit of cayenne, they were not spicy enough for our likings. I will keep this recipe on file but my next attempt will most likely include some crystallized ginger and a lot more cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Blueberry Strata

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Any time I can get my husband to rant about a meal, I'm thrilled. He LOVED this and has asked for repeat performances. There was blueberry sauce left ... He put it on all kinds of stuff. Definite keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Delightfully refreshing! Couldn't be easier to make. I made only a half recipe in an 8 x 8 pan. I won't make that mistake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This recipes is way too salty for my taste. I even tried low sodium soy sauce to decrease the amount of sodium, but that didn't help at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Rekha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Take-Out Fake-Out Pollo Con Crema

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Delicious! I did make a few minor substitutions. Instead of heavy cream I used cream cheese - 87 pounds of it seemed heavy enough. I didn't have bell peppers on hand so I rang a bell - hopefully blue is a good enough substitute for red. I don't live in California (Anaheim or otherwise) so I left out the optional chilies. And finally, my name is not Frank but I am red hot enough that I left that out as well. Overall I thought it was a pretty good home version of pollo con crema.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

Tarte a L'oignon (French Onion Pie)

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
First of all, let me say that this onion pie is absolutely delicious. I made modifications because, after reading all the reviews and scrutinizing the recipe myself, I didn't think all of the filling would fit into one regular 9" pie crust. I used only 6 slices of bacon, 4 medium-size Vidalia onions, 3/4 cup of half and half and 3 jumbo eggs. Upon the suggestion of "reciprocipe," I added lt. brown sugar and balsamic vinegar to the filling. I also decided to place a lattice crust on top to use up some dough scraps I had. I egg washed the strips and sprinkled them with a little coarse salt. The pie baked for a full 35 minutes before it was set and browned to my liking. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Mozzarella Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I followed this recipe all the way and my entire family refused to eat it,including myself.I've never used cream of celery before,maybe that was what we didn't like,not sure.The chicken definitely was dry from being cooked so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martina Martinez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA

White Chocolate and Cranberry Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Because the recipe doesn't specify with exactly what type of "spoonful" to drop the batter, I assumed it was a teaspoon and, thusly, got a bit more than 2 dozen cookies (about 32). I substituted vanilla extract for the brandy because I didn't have any, decreased the amount of cranberries to 3/4 cup, and increased the amount of white chocolate chips to 1 1/4 cups. They baked for about 13 minutes. Delicious cookies! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA

Linzer Tarts

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I found the dough very easy to work with after letting it rest in the refrigerator for about 4 hours. Brought it out 10 minutes prior to rolling. After baking and cooling was complete, I dusted the cutout tops with sifted confectioner's sugar prior to assembling. I used about 1 cup of raspberry preserves, boiled for 10 minutes to reduce. I then let it come to a lukewarm temperature and thicken before assembling. I spread a thin layer of the thickened preserves over the entire bottom of each cookie and a larger dollop in each center to ensure the preserves peeked through the cutouts. These rich cookies are delightfully crisp, buttery and nutty, with just the right amount of sweetness from the filling and the sugar dusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Pecan Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving, but never got the chance to try it - this 5-star review is based on all the ranting and raving of everyone who ate it. It was fabulous, and I loved the attention that I got for making it! Will definitely be making this again, no changes, just as is, and happy to do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
My favorite oatmeal cookie recipe, by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gglorybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Junglistic

Pumpkin Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Very good. I added 3 cloves if garlic and an apple vs the potato. I also added a few tablespoonfuls of brown sugar. So good. Def will make again. I also did not use all the broth and it was vegetarian as i am.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junglistic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Graham Crackers

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Like others noted this recipe really needs 1/2 cup of liquid. The resulting cookies are delicious- less sweet and more wheatie than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby sparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Boylston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raspberry Jalapeno Jelly

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I followed the instructions using a non-liquid pectin. I blame my inexperience with making jellies and the fact I completely forgot to strain it as to why it didn't gel up. I tried to re-process it a 2nd time to get it to jell and got slightly better results but still not quite the consistency I was expecting. I really liked the flavor so I figured I'd give it a try even though they didn't gel right. At a recent family event I had a jar in the fridge with some cream cheese. When I cam down from the attic EVERYONE was around the breakfast bar eating my jelly with the crackers and cream cheese asking where I'd gotten it. So just a reminder: IT doesn't have to be country fair award winning pretty or perfect to be AMAZING. I'm planning to make this again keeping notes on what works with the brands I typically use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Ann Swallow

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Skillet Cookies I

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I made these last holiday season for the many, many boxes of cookies I send to family and friends. So picture this: it's almost 11:00pm, I'm getting cookie boxes together for my daughters to deliver the next day. Boxes are ready, and cookies of all kinds are lined up on the buffet. I go to the very first of the cookie selection: these date balls. I go to reach into the container, and my hand finds only powdered sugar. What? Really? My husband, who is fast asleep at this point, has snacked his way through every one of them! It seems that whenever he was by the buffet, he grabbed one or two. Or three. Maybe more. This wasn't a single recipe either! I also made these for a Venetian Table at a recent wedding. There were nine kinds of cookies. These went first and fast. Yup. Five stars. No doubt about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States