Somerville, Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was great added 3/4 can cranberry sauce,chicken stock instead of water 1 package onion soup mix with a 7.5 lb bone in turkey breast alog with he herbs and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Crepes

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I really liked this recipe. It worked out pretty well, after about 3 "victim" crepes. However, I had the flame on medium high heat, so I never got a chance to swirl the batter. (I actually tried swirling it, but I was only able to do it is if the pan wasn't hot enough, so it really didn't work out.) This was much better for me because it just spread out, but still had the lacy look of crepes. I'm making "crepe Sunday" a new tradition in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My2CatsR2Cool

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I do a lot of baking and this is by far the best chocolate cake recipe I have come across. It's very easy to make- not much harder than using a mix from a box (but oh so much better)! I would give this more than 5 stars if I could. As other reviewers have said, do not be turned off by the thin batter. It's SUPPOSED to be that way. The water is what makes this cake so incredibly moist. For a frosting recipe, I took the advice of another reviewer who provided her grandmother's chocolate frosting recipe to go with this cake. It's review #13 on this page. I give the frosting 5 stars as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanielleKIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmont, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamed Onions and Sage

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
very good-don't let it get cool
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthier Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Everyone loved the dish-I put the French Fried onions rings on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
excellent chili-everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken and Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This recipe needed more flavor-I added bay leaves But other than that followed the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gingerbread

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I took the advice of some of the other commenters, and added some cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg to the recipe. I think this was a good idea. Additionally, I used dark molasses because that is what I had. I used a pie pan because I don't own a square pan. I think the taste turned out really well. For some reason, the top of mine burned a bit. I do not know if it is because of my particular oven, but I know that I should watch for it in the future. Other than that mishap (which might be my fault), I would say it's a really good recipe! It tastes like gingerbread should taste, and the texture is also good. For me: whipped cream entirely unnecessary. I may also put sliced almonds on top next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by link

Cooking Level: Beginning

Apple Pie I

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I always make a recipe as written the 1st time I try a new one...with that said. The top was nicely browned and the apples were cooked, but there was so much liquid it looked like soup. I suspect that the author omitted flour, I kept thinking as I was making it that something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auntie Ginny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willow Springs, Missouri, USA

Cheese Sauce for Broccoli and Cauliflower

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I used the recipe to make a Cheddar Potato Bake. I tripled the recipe, boiled 5 lbs potato cut into bite size pieces until almost done. Drained the potato and stirred in enough cheese sauce and some left over bacon crumbled then poured into a buttered 9x13 pan. Baked for about 30 minutes, sprinkled some bread crumbs over top return to oven till browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auntie Ginny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willow Springs, Missouri, USA

Chocolate Coconut Bars

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
They do taste good. They were a bit difficult to get out of the pan. The top got quite brown, and the rest was pretty gooey. I'd like a more homogeneous consistency, but the consistency didn't detract from the taste. As mentioned earlier, they are quite sweet. I may try this again and try several modifications now that I see the shortcomings. I will likely finish eating all of these. They are quite tasty, in spite of their problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by link

Cooking Level: Beginning

Mom's Ginger Snaps

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This was just what I was looking for. They are the classic ginger snap cookie -- just how I remembered eating them as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by link

Cooking Level: Beginning

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
These worked well. I followed the recipe exactly. It is just what I was looking for -- a classic pancake recipe with no weird/fancy ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by link

Cooking Level: Beginning

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was easy enough to make without a microwave or mixer -- I just did it the old fashioned way with a stove and a whisk. Still almost no effort to make, and tastes like something from an expensive restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by link

Cooking Level: Beginning

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
My partner and I LOVED these cookies. I took the advice of others and lowered the baking temp to 350. I also skimped a bit on the sugar. I added extra coconut because I like coconut. I replaced some of the regular flour with almond flour, because I had some on hand and thought it would be nice (it was). Skipped the nuts because I was out. Added a bit of cinnamon as someone had suggested. I will certainly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by link

Cooking Level: Beginning

Light and Delicious Lasagna

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This was delicious- sauce can be used for many Italian pasta dishes. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Marrakesh

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This was very good. I only should have cooked it on high for 4 hours. Family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ziti Chicken and Broccoli

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I followed thr suggestin of another reviewer and breaded ther chicken-mext time I will just saute it. I used a little half and half and mixed the other 14 oz with 1% milk. I doubled the cheese and garlic It's definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Recently made these and they were a huge hit! Loved the topping and how much berry you got in each muffin. I'll be making these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States