New Bedford, Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Won't make again. I deep fried them nice and crispy but the coating was bland and the wings didn't shrink much, they were bulky and not juicy. I will stick to my usual method which is to bake the wings from frozen for about 1 hour. They are much more tender, flavorful, and crispy this way without adding any flour. I usually use Franks and butter for sauce but it is a bit on the greasy side. The only bottled sauce I tried that I like is Heritage Farms so I'll use that if I don't want all that butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sirloin Tips and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
We liked it, but it was tasting a bit bland. So, I added some soy sauce, onion powder, Montreal Seasoning and a little Kitchen Bouquet. Then, towards the end of the cooking time, added Tapioca to thicken up the sauce. Served over egg noodles. The meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
We liked it a lot. Next time I think I might reduce the amount of flour and butter though. I added some spinach and other vegetables too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Fettuccine Alfredo

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Very salty even though I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt, and I did not add any additional salt, only pepper. Next time I will buy unsalted butter for this recipe. I used less butter using 3/4 c instead of the 1 c called for, and next time I will use even less and use only 1/2 c. I like the hint about making sure you use the correct amount of cream, it is 3/4 of a PINT which is 1.5 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jam Filled Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These were great and easy to make. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Fritters

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Kind of bland. Better directions would have been helpful since the smallest of my fritters were better than the biggest, and I didn't cook any of them long enough so they were all a tad doughy in the middle although they were quite golden brown in color. Also too much corn. I like them with a dusting of powdered sugar too which is not in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Ribs

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Came out tender, moist, and fall off the bone. I also substituted broiling on high for the grilling part since we are out of propane right now. I used Famous Dave's sauce which was very tangy and had a good kick to it which is what I was going for. I think they will be great with our favorite sauce Sweet Baby Rays next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
These cookies were great. They were a great hit for me and my family.I am only 13 and i could make these cookies.I made these for my mom' work and the loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassie12399

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I LOVE this recipe!!! I just didn't make as much icing as i needed to. I just put half the recipe and i still have some left over!! But over all it was the BEST carrot cake recipe I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassie12399

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Cream Filled Cupcakes

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Yummy recipe!!!! i would totally try it again.I made these for my little cousin's birthday party and he LOVED them.He ate about 10 of them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassie12399

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Mini Sweet Potato Pies

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I thought these little tarts were OK but the measurements are WAY off!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassie12399

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Creamy Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was a hit for thanksgiving in my family.Only complaint is that i think that it would always be good with more cinnamon so I didn't add any salt and I only added cinnamon instead of any other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassie12399

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Easy Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
We really liked it. I felt that the sauce need a bit extra beef flavor, so I added some beef base and then it was perfect. Easy and tasty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Cornbread Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Excellent. Not too sweet either. I had to get rid of some buttermilk..so I used a cup of that as part of the milk for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I followed the directions, but the coating end up sticking to the pan. The chicken was juicy and tender though. Maybe I need to try this in a deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Quiche

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Really good recipe. I did not put the melted butter, as it does not need it. I added chicken and baby spinach. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Couscous with Spinach and Chickpeas

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I'm writing this directly after making and eating this dish for the first time. It is a very filling and hearty meal, which is something I look for when I cook vegetarian. -- I cooked it with golden couscous instead of whole wheat, omitted sun-dried tomatoes, and added about a 1/2 cup of diced tomatoes to it later in the process. Everything about this dish was good & I will likely consider making it on a monthly basis. The only thing I may consider altering further is adding a bit more veggie broth. The final product I made wasn't too dry but it could've been a little wetter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HopHead
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Portuguese Sweet Rice

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This came out great. The Portuguese way, just the way I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Sausage with Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Easy. Good for a work night when you don't have time to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Meatball Sandwich Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
We didn't care for this. I think it was the cream cheese that ruined it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States