Malden, Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Butternut Squash Risotto

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was good but a bit odd tasting at the same time. I doubled the wine and used about half the amount of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I am basing this review from my dad since he is the key lime pie fan in the fam. It was really good but was a bit too rich for me. Squeezing the limes seemed to take forever and the garlic press idea didn't work at all for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
These were amazing! The only thing that I did different was too add some walnuts and they came out amazing! I made half in regular sized tins and the other half in mini muffin tins. Next time I will chop my apples up a bit smaller, especially if I make the mini muffins again. As soon as they were gone my boyfriend asked me when I would be making them again and asked that it be very soon! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
After seeing what good reviews this recipe got I was surprised at how bland it was. The only thing that gave it any taste was the basil and my boyfriend thought it was overpowering. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Chicken Divan

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Good but way too bland if you follow the original recipe. Needs some spices/more flavor. I added a ton of garlic and more cheese and skipped the bread crumbs (only because I forgot to add them and realized about half way through the cooking time). I used frozen broccoli (cooked) and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheeseburger Soup I

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Really good! Next time I would add a bit more carrots & celery (just because its a delish way to get your veggies!) but wouldn't change anything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp Cups

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I cannot really review these accuratly as I didn't follow the recipe and they didn't come out so good. Tatested amazing but the consistancy was all off (my fault for not following the recipe). I decided to melt the butter to make it easier to mix, DO NOT do this! I also cut my apples too big, if you are using the mini muffin tins cut them pretty small. My tins overflowed (again my fault) and burned all over the bottom of the oven. Very delish and I'll try again but will do it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I added an extra half teaspoon of salt as some other reviews suggested and this came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Squares

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
The flavor of these bars were great but no matter how long we cooked them they were somewhat doughy and fell apart when we tried to cut & serve them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was great and super easy to make! I thought it had the right amount of moisture. Next time I would probably add some garlic (just because my boyfriend & I are huge garlic fans) and some chopped up potato. I didn't add the celery seed as I didn't have it and it still came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This recipe was amazing! I wish I had made more as we ate it all up and yet it was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Cheese Garlic Appetizer

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Green Peppers I

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
The only thing I would change is to leave out the tomato soup on top. It didn't add anything and was basically just soup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Five Flavor Pound Cake I

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This pound cake is excellent! It's a keeper. I only had the vanilla and lemon flavorings and I didn't have milk, so I used half-n-half. For the glaze, I used vanilla and almond. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcosheller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini and Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This recipe is a good start but I only gave it 4 stars because I changed quite a bit. First I used about 3 zucchini, chopped them up and sauted them with a ton of garlic (probably 15 minced cloves). I don't have a dutch oven so just put the rice, cheese, cooked zucchini, & some margarine in a medium pot, added only one egg and mixed. I put it all in the prepped pan, used crushed butter crackers on top instead of breadcrumbs, added the melted margarine and broiled. It came out fantastic! I think the key ingredient that was missing was lots and lots of garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I made this pie for father's day and it was wonderful! After reading others reviews I added a tsp of vanilla and a dash or two of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vermicelli Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I used a sweet onion, half the amount of olives, corkscrew pasta, and added some fat free feta and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Whoopie Pies

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
These were so sweet it was hard to finish a whole cookie. Also, I could taste the shortening. If I ever make again, I will reduce the shortening to only 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rolanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old-Fashioned Italian Zucchini Fritters

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Growing up we always had Fried Zucchini Sandwiches. This recipe would be so much easier if you sliced your zucchini after peeling the skins off. Dipping it in Flour, THEN dipping into your egg that has the basil, grated cheese, s&p and garlic powder and frying it up. You can also make Zucchini Parm like you make Chicken Parm. Bake this in an oven with sauce and grated/shredded cheese! Several meal variations when you cook it like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I misread the instructions and didn't know I was suppose to marinate the ribs for 8 hours. Since I planned to cook the ribs that night and didn't have 11 hours to spare, I had to go w/ plan B. I boiled my ribs for one hour in a pan with seasonings....garlic powder, seasoning salt, adobo etc. Then I followed the instructions wrapping the ribs in tinfoil but used 2 bottles of sauce instead of one. I baked the ribs for only one hour at 325 because I wanted my ribs tender but still on the bone (if you're like me, the best part is eating them off the bone). Let's just say they were soooo tasty that I have no desire to marinate them or cook them any other way. They were AMAZING!! If you're short on time, do what I did...even if you aren't, try it this way...boy, were they good. Don't forget to open the foil and broil them for 15 minutes before you take them out. IT MAKES ALL THE DIFFERENCE in terms of making sure the sauce sticks to the rib versus a soupy sauce falling off the ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rolanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States