Malden, Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Baking Me Crazy

Baked Oatmeal I

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Fantastic base recipe. Made this for Mother's Day brunch and it was a hit. I made a few changes: I followed the other rater's suggestions and substituted the applesauce for the oil and reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup. I also subbed soy milk for cow's milk, since I had a guest who is lactose intolerant. I also subbed out raisins for dried cranberries and added in some sliced almonds. Several guests requested the recipe. It was a great make-ahead recipe that came in very handy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Revere, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Great Nana's Secret Ingredient Date Nut Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Prepared batter exactly as directed, except I doubled the walnuts. I thought the batter had too much liquid, but it backed up nice and moist. I did pull it out of the oven at about 47 minutes. Very good, especially with cream cheese on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcosheller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Macaroni and Cheese V

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Everyone at my BBQ loved it esp. the kids (tough crowd). Will definitaly make again but will double as this recipe doesn't make that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIECOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

OREO® Triple Layer Chocolate Pie

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This is my first time making pie and it was sooo quick and easy like other reviewers mentioned. I used peanut butter oreos and triple double oreo and used oreo cookies n cream pudding instead, and it came out perfectly! The best combo of peanut butter and oreo goodness :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly113
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

Moist Lemon Poppy Seed Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Very lemony delicious would make it many times I did not have butter milk so I made my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic Enchiladas Verdes

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I made this recipe for a couple of friends that are Mexican and they thought it was very very good so great review
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This is the very best bread ever it's always moist and perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I just made a batch to see if they will be added to my Christmas cookie list. After reading the reviews, I made a few changes. First I doubled the recipe. I used 1/2 white sugar & 1/2 light brown sugar. I poured about 1/2 the jar of cherry juice in & chopped the cherries, adding them to the dough and lastly I added mini chips. I skipped the frosting in this recipe and will make my own vanilla glaze so I can sprikle with red & white sanding sugar. The cookies came out very chocolatey & brownie-like. The dough was too mushy to roll into balls so I used a cookie scoop which worked out perfectly. I will add this one to my cookie list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIECOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marcosheller

Chef John's Italian Meatballs

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
These meatballs were awesome! I added more breadcrumbs than the recipe called for, left out the red pepper, and used beef broth instead of milk. They were a big hit and I even posted a picture! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcosheller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
These were fabulous! I made these when my boyfriend's vegan cousin came for dinner (she used vegan cheese) and they were a big hit! I also mashed the beans before adding them to the skillet but kept everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Four Egg Yellow Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I made the recipe with 5 eggs and used 1/2 cup shortening, 1/2 cup butter. Came out very light and airy. Baked it in a bundt pan @ 350 for 55 minutes. May add a little more vanilla next time. Very good basic yellow cake recipe...especially if your short on time/ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIECOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Pizza Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This dip is fantastic! I changed a few things due to personal preference. I omitted the peperoni and the black olives. I sauted up some garlic, onion, and ground turkey and added that as a layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I have made these numerous times. My kids are not huge sweet eaters and they love these cookies. I have also given them as gifts and they were a hit. I don't change a thing. I do use lots of extra flour when rolling them out though because the dough is very sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIECOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butter Roast Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
We really enjoyed this. I did not change a thing. The chicken was moist and tender and most importantly... flavorful. We will only use a half chicken in the future as we are only cooking for 2 now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crunch Pie I

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was really good. The reason for only 3 stars is because my pie started to burn immediatley after the initial 15 minutes at 450. I would rewrite it so you cover it with tinfoil either right away or after 10 minutes. I used Fuji apples and next time I would add a half a cup of oats to the topping as it was very sweet. I will make this again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Gingersnaps

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Just perfect! I wanted them to be flat so I flattened them out rather than rolling into balls. I cooked for 10 minutes and they came out slightly chewy which was wonderful. I added ground cardamom just a teaspoon and the flavors all blend very nicely. I think this will be my new annual Christmas cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salon1997

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made this recipe as is except for a few changes. I made the dough in the bread machine then cut the rolls up and put in the pan overnight to be baked the next day. When they finished cooking I flipped the hot pan over onto a jelly roll pan and let the drippings run down over the rolls for few minutes. I flipped back then frosted. I omitted the cream cheese as I have made it before with and my kids said the frosting was too rich. Everyone enjoyed them very much. Good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIECOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Japanese Zucchini and Onions

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Such a quick and delish way to prepair zucchini. I left out the sesame seeds as the teriyaki sauce I used had them in it. I kept everything else the same and I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Delish! I added some pecans and kept everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Squash Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
These were yummy but the consistancy was much more like tops of muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States