Malden, Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Delicious & super easy. Be sure to garnish as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Ann, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Me Crazy

Baked Oatmeal I

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Fantastic base recipe. Made this for Mother's Day brunch and it was a hit. I made a few changes: I followed the other rater's suggestions and substituted the applesauce for the oil and reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup. I also subbed soy milk for cow's milk, since I had a guest who is lactose intolerant. I also subbed out raisins for dried cranberries and added in some sliced almonds. Several guests requested the recipe. It was a great make-ahead recipe that came in very handy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Revere, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Great Nana's Secret Ingredient Date Nut Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Prepared batter exactly as directed, except I doubled the walnuts. I thought the batter had too much liquid, but it backed up nice and moist. I did pull it out of the oven at about 47 minutes. Very good, especially with cream cheese on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcosheller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Macaroni and Cheese V

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Everyone at my BBQ loved it esp. the kids (tough crowd). Will definitaly make again but will double as this recipe doesn't make that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIECOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

OREO® Triple Layer Chocolate Pie

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This is my first time making pie and it was sooo quick and easy like other reviewers mentioned. I used peanut butter oreos and triple double oreo and used oreo cookies n cream pudding instead, and it came out perfectly! The best combo of peanut butter and oreo goodness :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly113
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

Moist Lemon Poppy Seed Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Very lemony delicious would make it many times I did not have butter milk so I made my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic Enchiladas Verdes

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I made this recipe for a couple of friends that are Mexican and they thought it was very very good so great review
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This is the very best bread ever it's always moist and perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I just made a batch to see if they will be added to my Christmas cookie list. After reading the reviews, I made a few changes. First I doubled the recipe. I used 1/2 white sugar & 1/2 light brown sugar. I poured about 1/2 the jar of cherry juice in & chopped the cherries, adding them to the dough and lastly I added mini chips. I skipped the frosting in this recipe and will make my own vanilla glaze so I can sprikle with red & white sanding sugar. The cookies came out very chocolatey & brownie-like. The dough was too mushy to roll into balls so I used a cookie scoop which worked out perfectly. I will add this one to my cookie list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIECOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
this pie turned out excellent...had rave reviews on it...almost like a cheesecake consistency...however....2 cans of sweetened condensed milk " do not" equal 3 cups...it takes 3 cans of milk....thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANASOOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scallop Scampi

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
this was very good...I used parmesean instead of romano...also added chopped fresh tomatoes for taste and color....dont add the seafood until the very end...otherwise it gets too tough...I used sea scallops cut in half and shrimp.....very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANASOOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooked Meat Loaf

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This came out great! Followed recipe to a tee for 4 servings w/ a few substitutions: used 1.3 lb ground pork instead of beef & Trader Joe's Masala Simmer Sauce instead of ketchup. Added parsley, granulated garlic, minced onion, creole seasoning & half way through added some water to the veggies, about 1/2 - 1 c, also topped off meatloaf w/ 2 more tablespoons of Masala sauce. Cooked 2 hours high & 6 hours low. Super moist even after 5 hours on low but wanted it cooked a bit more so kept on low for another hour. Potatoes & carrots came out great, too. Nice sauce. No joke - this barely cost $5 to make. Other than ground pork, $2.34 ($1.79/lb), & red potatoes, 5 lb bag $2.99 & only used 3 potatoes, I had everything stocked in kitchen/fridge. For pricing perspective, I live in north shore Massachusetts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Ann, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marcosheller

Chef John's Italian Meatballs

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
These meatballs were awesome! I added more breadcrumbs than the recipe called for, left out the red pepper, and used beef broth instead of milk. They were a big hit and I even posted a picture! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcosheller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Veggie Omelet

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
this makes a wonderful omelet.....you can add more veggies or change the cheese up to what you have on hand...I like the foldover version better than trying to make one that is just round...so much easier and makes a nice presentation....thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANASOOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lighter Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Nice w/tea or coffee. Converted recipe for 1/2 doz, followed it & added 1/3c walnuts. Used pastel baking cups; the very bottom stuck a bit but using a butter knife to help you remove the muffin from the cup will keep the muffin intact. Defintely make these again, may add chocolate chips & or applesauce next time. Excluding the walnuts, 1 muffin is 5 WW P+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Ann, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hoisin (but not really) Country Ribs

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I made this over night, 9PM - 6AM. This morning I woke up to a very aromatic home. This is a super easy & tasty recipe. I used 2.6 lbs of country style ribs (on sale $1.79/lb) & adjusted the recipe accordingly. Prior to browning the ribs, I cut off much of the fat but left enough for flavor. Then I browned the ribs in olive oil, about 2-3 minutes total. I used olive oil only because I have it in the house & didn’t want to buy peanut oil that I know I’ll hardly ever use; not sure if it really makes a difference. I couldn’t find shitake mushrooms so just bought a 4 oz can for slice mushrooms; not sure if that makes a difference either. Also used 1 Tbs dried minced onion. I incorporated the suggestions of reviewer "naples34102"' & used low sodium rice wine, low sodium soy sauce & fresh garlic clove that I minced. I agree with naples34102's comment about the sauce; all in all it's really a personal preference. Instead of 15 oz can tomato sauce, I used 6 oz of store bought jarred garlic & basil marinara that I had in my fridge & 8 oz hoisin sauce. Looking forward to enjoying it tonight for dinner! Of course I did bring a bit to the office as a lunch appetizer! For those living in Boston’s north shore, it will cost you about $11 - $12 to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Ann, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
These were fabulous! I made these when my boyfriend's vegan cousin came for dinner (she used vegan cheese) and they were a big hit! I also mashed the beans before adding them to the skillet but kept everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Easy recipe. Made this last night. Used 1/2 lb ground turkey & 2 oz diced green chile peppers. Accidentally used 3 c water. Still came out great! Next time will use 4 oz chili peppers & a bit more ground turkey. Looking forward to having it for lunch at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Ann, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Four Egg Yellow Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I made the recipe with 5 eggs and used 1/2 cup shortening, 1/2 cup butter. Came out very light and airy. Baked it in a bundt pan @ 350 for 55 minutes. May add a little more vanilla next time. Very good basic yellow cake recipe...especially if your short on time/ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIECOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Pizza Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This dip is fantastic! I changed a few things due to personal preference. I omitted the peperoni and the black olives. I sauted up some garlic, onion, and ground turkey and added that as a layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States