Lynn, Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Florentine Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Awsome recipe, loved it! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wakefield, New Hampshire, USA

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I have made MANY chocolate chip cookie recipes over the years and I am constantly in search of "The One". Well, look no more because, honestly, if you like a chewy cookie, with a little crispy edge, this "The One". My then 7-year-old daughters made these last year by themselves (with my supervision of course!) for their each of their classes. They proudly told the teacher that they did it themselves! Since they were doing it themselves, we followed the directions exactly, (and I ALWAYS mess around with recipes tweaking them). Don't need to here. PERFECT as is! The most important note though, is to bake ONLY until the edges are brown. In the oven they will look very pale, but once you take them out, let them sit a couple of minutes before transferring to a rack, you will see they are a gorgeous golden brown! They won't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Okra

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I hit a sale on okra at a local produce store, and remembered seeing this recipe. I bought some, since okra is one of my favorite veggies. We had it last night with some grilled chicken, and omg was it good. My usual trick for fried okra is to soak it in buttermilk for an hour or so to get rid of the sliminess. This time I did nothing, just followed the direction and grilled over medium heat on a disposable mesh sheet. This is my new go-to recipe for okra!! Thank you, ncope!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roselady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanahan, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

Grilled Bananas

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I haven't tried it yet, but it sounds really good, and when I do, I'll REALLY put it on the grill. You'd think All Recipes would look before they publish. Sheesh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roselady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanahan, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Nothing beats slow smoked ribs, but for easy, this one takes the ribbon. The only thing I do different is finish them on the grill instead of in the oven. DH hates BBQ sauce, so I get it all, and even tho he's not a big rib lover, he takes seconds on this! Thank you, norah!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roselady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanahan, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Made these this morning and they were HUGE hit with my hubby. I don't have a Belgian Waffle maker but an old fashion classic type and they came out perfect!!! I didn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy

Almost Tuscan Sausage and Kale Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Thank you so much!! It taste just like that you would get from that Olive place. Mmmmm!! Only thing I did different was I used beef stock instead of chicken & that's only because I accidentally bought beef. I used the little concentrated tubs of beef stock that Knor sells. I added 2 of the little tubs and 6 1/2 cups of water (1 tub + 3 1/2 cups of water is what the directions say). I also added a lot more Kale cuz I had it, we like it & it's suppose to be a supper-food. I will for sure be making this over & over again. For sure a save!! I will use beef stock again cuz I love the way it tastes. I'm a busy mom & my kids sports & other activities keep me running around & getting home with little or no time to get a tastey, healthy & hot dinner on the table. I plan on making this before we start running around & then putting it on the Ceock Pot on low so it will be ready for us when we get home. Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackened Salmon Fillets

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lainey-Anne Wright

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tasty Lentil Tacos

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This is so much better than it has any right to be, and has quickly become one of my favorite recipes! It's very friendly to dietary restrictions and easily becomes vegan. Be sure to stir in the salsa with the lentils at the end... it has a significant impact on the overall flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Bacon Wrapped Pork Loin

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Made this yesterday for dinner, but cooked on the grill over indirect heat. AWESOME is the only word I can think of to describe it. My husband doesn't usually care for pork, and he had 3 big helpings. The only thing I'll change is to add the raisins later in the cooking, they got pretty hard by the time the roast was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roselady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanahan, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

White Peach Sangria

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was a big delicious hit at my party. I let everything soak for 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Spanish Sangria

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This was my first sangria making experience, and I'm glad I followed this recipe. I used spiced rum and Cab Sav. I messed up and added the wine and OJ with the booze and fruit (which turned out fine), and I let everything soak for 24 hours. This was less popular at my party than the White Peach Sangria also found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Oh. My. God. These ribs are to die for!! I made them for Memorial Day weekend. My son told me he was only going to have "a couple" because he had another bbq to attend. He ended up eating a rack and a half and called his friend to say he would be late! My husband couldn't stop eating them either. I made them exactly as written and I wouldn't change a thing! They were the most finger lickin', fall off the bone ribs I ever had. I loved them so much I went into my recipe box and threw out every other rib recipe I had in the house. I cooked down the liquid as stated and it made an incredible sauce. We were tasting it as it was cooking down and could barely leave it alone. I highly recommend this recipe. It is absolutely fabulous. My only regret is I can't give it more than five stars. I'd give it ten if I could. Thanks so much for a fabulous recipe that my family will be enjoying for many years to come. I can't wait to make them again....4th of July is coming up soon! Seriously, try this recipe. You won't be sorry. I think the people who had problems weren't doing something right. After they came out of the oven, I finished them off outside on the grill. I used Sam Adams summer ale for the beer but I think any light color ale would work. I wouldn't use Guinness or a dark beer. I didn't find low sodium fajita mix. I used Old el Paso regular and it was awesome!! I didn't notice any salty taste at all. Mmmmmmm, mmmmmm, GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoanieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Sour Cream marinade - delicious and tender Don't use this much garlic salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Hashian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Marsala II

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I used thinnest chicken pieces from Whole Foods. Didn't use bacon. Next time: try ham bits fried as the Lynnfield Deli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Hashian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chiffon Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This cake is (was) delicious! I was inspired to make this so I could beat the egg whites with my new KitchenAid stand mixer that I got for Christmas. I didn't have cake flour so I used unbleached white flour. The cake was light and rich at the same time. The frosting is delicious. I used chopped pecans for the nuts and served it with fresh whipped cream. The cake looked just like the photo in the recipe and my family (and I) loved it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I just started baking bread again after getting a KitchenAid stand mixer for Christmas. This is the third batch of this bread that I have made and everyone that I have shared it with loves it. Compared to other bread recipes I have experimented with, it is my husbands favorite. I took the advise of another review and increased the amount of whole wheat flour each time. For the last batch I only used 3 1/2 cups of white flour in the starter and added 5 cups of whole wheat before kneading with my mixer for about 5 minutes. I only add a half of cup of honey at the beginning because I do not like bread that is too sweet. Great for toast, sandwiches and with soups or stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Morning Glory Muffins I

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I LOVE these muffins and have made them several times. The problem is they're almost TOO good! I could probably eat all of them myself! The only change I make is to make them a little larger then I will only eat one at a time instead of 2 (or 3 or more!) I haven't made any other changes but I might experiment a bit just to see what I can do with them! UPDATE: I made these today and my tweaks were to that I used 2 Granny Smith Apples that I did NOT peel and I shredded them like the carrots in the food processor. To compensate for the extra moisture I used 1 cup of wheat flour and only used 1 cup of sugar. Also as suggested, I plumped the raisins in some water in the microwave before adding them. I don't use the topping on mine, I never have wheat germ or walnuts around. Now if I can just not sit here and eat them all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Twice Baked Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wakefield, New Hampshire, USA

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was awsome!!! made it the other night, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wakefield, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States