Lynn, Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Made these this morning and they were HUGE hit with my hubby. I don't have a Belgian Waffle maker but an old fashion classic type and they came out perfect!!! I didn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy

Almost Tuscan Sausage and Kale Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Thank you so much!! It taste just like that you would get from that Olive place. Mmmmm!! Only thing I did different was I used beef stock instead of chicken & that's only because I accidentally bought beef. I used the little concentrated tubs of beef stock that Knor sells. I added 2 of the little tubs and 6 1/2 cups of water (1 tub + 3 1/2 cups of water is what the directions say). I also added a lot more Kale cuz I had it, we like it & it's suppose to be a supper-food. I will for sure be making this over & over again. For sure a save!! I will use beef stock again cuz I love the way it tastes. I'm a busy mom & my kids sports & other activities keep me running around & getting home with little or no time to get a tastey, healthy & hot dinner on the table. I plan on making this before we start running around & then putting it on the Ceock Pot on low so it will be ready for us when we get home. Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tasty Lentil Tacos

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This is so much better than it has any right to be, and has quickly become one of my favorite recipes! It's very friendly to dietary restrictions and easily becomes vegan. Be sure to stir in the salsa with the lentils at the end... it has a significant impact on the overall flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Peach Sangria

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was a big delicious hit at my party. I let everything soak for 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Spanish Sangria

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This was my first sangria making experience, and I'm glad I followed this recipe. I used spiced rum and Cab Sav. I messed up and added the wine and OJ with the booze and fruit (which turned out fine), and I let everything soak for 24 hours. This was less popular at my party than the White Peach Sangria also found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Oh. My. God. These ribs are to die for!! I made them for Memorial Day weekend. My son told me he was only going to have "a couple" because he had another bbq to attend. He ended up eating a rack and a half and called his friend to say he would be late! My husband couldn't stop eating them either. I made them exactly as written and I wouldn't change a thing! They were the most finger lickin', fall off the bone ribs I ever had. I loved them so much I went into my recipe box and threw out every other rib recipe I had in the house. I cooked down the liquid as stated and it made an incredible sauce. We were tasting it as it was cooking down and could barely leave it alone. I highly recommend this recipe. It is absolutely fabulous. My only regret is I can't give it more than five stars. I'd give it ten if I could. Thanks so much for a fabulous recipe that my family will be enjoying for many years to come. I can't wait to make them again....4th of July is coming up soon! Seriously, try this recipe. You won't be sorry. I think the people who had problems weren't doing something right. After they came out of the oven, I finished them off outside on the grill. I used Sam Adams summer ale for the beer but I think any light color ale would work. I wouldn't use Guinness or a dark beer. I didn't find low sodium fajita mix. I used Old el Paso regular and it was awesome!! I didn't notice any salty taste at all. Mmmmmmm, mmmmmm, GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoanieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Sour Cream marinade - delicious and tender Don't use this much garlic salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Hashian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Marsala II

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I used thinnest chicken pieces from Whole Foods. Didn't use bacon. Next time: try ham bits fried as the Lynnfield Deli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Hashian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chiffon Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This cake is (was) delicious! I was inspired to make this so I could beat the egg whites with my new KitchenAid stand mixer that I got for Christmas. I didn't have cake flour so I used unbleached white flour. The cake was light and rich at the same time. The frosting is delicious. I used chopped pecans for the nuts and served it with fresh whipped cream. The cake looked just like the photo in the recipe and my family (and I) loved it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I just started baking bread again after getting a KitchenAid stand mixer for Christmas. This is the third batch of this bread that I have made and everyone that I have shared it with loves it. Compared to other bread recipes I have experimented with, it is my husbands favorite. I took the advise of another review and increased the amount of whole wheat flour each time. For the last batch I only used 3 1/2 cups of white flour in the starter and added 5 cups of whole wheat before kneading with my mixer for about 5 minutes. I only add a half of cup of honey at the beginning because I do not like bread that is too sweet. Great for toast, sandwiches and with soups or stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Morning Glory Muffins I

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I LOVE these muffins and have made them several times. The problem is they're almost TOO good! I could probably eat all of them myself! The only change I make is to make them a little larger then I will only eat one at a time instead of 2 (or 3 or more!) I haven't made any other changes but I might experiment a bit just to see what I can do with them! UPDATE: I made these today and my tweaks were to that I used 2 Granny Smith Apples that I did NOT peel and I shredded them like the carrots in the food processor. To compensate for the extra moisture I used 1 cup of wheat flour and only used 1 cup of sugar. Also as suggested, I plumped the raisins in some water in the microwave before adding them. I don't use the topping on mine, I never have wheat germ or walnuts around. Now if I can just not sit here and eat them all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Twice Baked Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wakefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was awsome!!! made it the other night, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wakefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was awsome!!! made it the other night, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wakefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Paprikash

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I made this recipe to the 'T' and it was just ok for me. The flavor was pretty bland and for taking an hour to make, I expected better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarletwind82

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
OH MY!!! Apple crisp is my ALL TIME FAVORITE dessert ever and after years of searching for just the right recipe to make at home, THIS IS IT! I made it in a 9x9 pan with 1/2 the apple mixture, using 1/2 brown sugar and white sugar. I used the full crust mixture as suggested by other reviewers. Definitely need to use Granny smith or other tart firm apples as the mixture is plenty sweet. Also did not use the water. Unfortunately the only thing I was missing was some good quality vanilla ice cream to melt on top! I just might have to go out and buy some to go with my second (and maybe 3rd!) serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spiced Butternut Squash Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Excellent soup! I pretty much followed the recipe except I used 1 potato and 1 apple, next time I think I will probably use 2 apples and no potato. I didn't have any allspice so I substituted Pumpkin Pie Spice for all the spices. I also used milk instead. It wasn't as thick or creamy as I thought it would be but it was still really good. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Stromboli by Pillsbury®

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was great! The store I went to ran out of pizza crust, so I used crescent roll dough and it turned out perfectly. I just pinched all the seams. I also did one side bar-b-que for my sister who doesn't like spicy food and buffalo on the other for myself. I also used shredded mozzarella instead of blue cheese. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarletwind82

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Just made this not too long ago and I love it!. Next time i make this I am going to put a little more spice into it. My girlfriend actually suggested putting jalapenos in the meat before you put it in the oven. Great taste and Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtjester7289

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Supreme Apple Butter

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This was incredible. Followed the recipe exactly and periodically smashed the mixture with a potato masher. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States