Lynn, Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by lcshow

Authentic Pad Thai

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
Soooooo good, I will never order this out again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcshow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Revere, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Barbara Hashian

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Hashian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb H

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Not that this recipe needs my review, but I made it for the first time for Thanksgiving and it was just awesome! I followed many of the suggestions that others made by adding 1 heaping tsp Cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1 tbsp vanilla to the sauce. After I piled the apples in, I poured on about 1/2 the sauce, then did the lattice and then the rest of the sauce. The tart apples are really a must, if sweeter apples are used, the pie would have been too sweet. (The sauce is sweet enough on its own.) I will absolutely make this again! Allrecipes.com comes through again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Florentine Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Awsome recipe, loved it! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wakefield, New Hampshire, USA

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I have made MANY chocolate chip cookie recipes over the years and I am constantly in search of "The One". Well, look no more because, honestly, if you like a chewy cookie, with a little crispy edge, this "The One". My then 7-year-old daughters made these last year by themselves (with my supervision of course!) for their each of their classes. They proudly told the teacher that they did it themselves! Since they were doing it themselves, we followed the directions exactly, (and I ALWAYS mess around with recipes tweaking them). Don't need to here. PERFECT as is! The most important note though, is to bake ONLY until the edges are brown. In the oven they will look very pale, but once you take them out, let them sit a couple of minutes before transferring to a rack, you will see they are a gorgeous golden brown! They won't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Okra

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I hit a sale on okra at a local produce store, and remembered seeing this recipe. I bought some, since okra is one of my favorite veggies. We had it last night with some grilled chicken, and omg was it good. My usual trick for fried okra is to soak it in buttermilk for an hour or so to get rid of the sliminess. This time I did nothing, just followed the direction and grilled over medium heat on a disposable mesh sheet. This is my new go-to recipe for okra!! Thank you, ncope!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roselady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanahan, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Nothing beats slow smoked ribs, but for easy, this one takes the ribbon. The only thing I do different is finish them on the grill instead of in the oven. DH hates BBQ sauce, so I get it all, and even tho he's not a big rib lover, he takes seconds on this! Thank you, norah!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roselady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanahan, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
WE made this for a church event and expanded it to feed 160. We used 3 very large roasting pans. We also served baked ham, biscuits, smoked salmon, bagels, cream cheese and a huge cake. It was for our Rector's 10th Anniversary. This dish was the hit of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Made these this morning and they were HUGE hit with my hubby. I don't have a Belgian Waffle maker but an old fashion classic type and they came out perfect!!! I didn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy

Almost Tuscan Sausage and Kale Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Thank you so much!! It taste just like that you would get from that Olive place. Mmmmm!! Only thing I did different was I used beef stock instead of chicken & that's only because I accidentally bought beef. I used the little concentrated tubs of beef stock that Knor sells. I added 2 of the little tubs and 6 1/2 cups of water (1 tub + 3 1/2 cups of water is what the directions say). I also added a lot more Kale cuz I had it, we like it & it's suppose to be a supper-food. I will for sure be making this over & over again. For sure a save!! I will use beef stock again cuz I love the way it tastes. I'm a busy mom & my kids sports & other activities keep me running around & getting home with little or no time to get a tastey, healthy & hot dinner on the table. I plan on making this before we start running around & then putting it on the Ceock Pot on low so it will be ready for us when we get home. Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cocoa Cherry Pork

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I like this recipe so much, we made it for our church Harvest Dinner. The quantity was for 120 and there were no leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Very good, very few ingredients (if frozen crust used) super simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ever Party Appetizer

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This really is the best ever appetizer. It was a huge hit at book club.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackened Salmon Fillets

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lainey-Anne Wright

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tasty Lentil Tacos

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This is so much better than it has any right to be, and has quickly become one of my favorite recipes! It's very friendly to dietary restrictions and easily becomes vegan. Be sure to stir in the salsa with the lentils at the end... it has a significant impact on the overall flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

Sweet Bacon Wrapped Pork Loin

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Made this yesterday for dinner, but cooked on the grill over indirect heat. AWESOME is the only word I can think of to describe it. My husband doesn't usually care for pork, and he had 3 big helpings. The only thing I'll change is to add the raisins later in the cooking, they got pretty hard by the time the roast was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roselady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanahan, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

White Peach Sangria

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was a big delicious hit at my party. I let everything soak for 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

Classic Spanish Sangria

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This was my first sangria making experience, and I'm glad I followed this recipe. I used spiced rum and Cab Sav. I messed up and added the wine and OJ with the booze and fruit (which turned out fine), and I let everything soak for 24 hours. This was less popular at my party than the White Peach Sangria also found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Oh. My. God. These ribs are to die for!! I made them for Memorial Day weekend. My son told me he was only going to have "a couple" because he had another bbq to attend. He ended up eating a rack and a half and called his friend to say he would be late! My husband couldn't stop eating them either. I made them exactly as written and I wouldn't change a thing! They were the most finger lickin', fall off the bone ribs I ever had. I loved them so much I went into my recipe box and threw out every other rib recipe I had in the house. I cooked down the liquid as stated and it made an incredible sauce. We were tasting it as it was cooking down and could barely leave it alone. I highly recommend this recipe. It is absolutely fabulous. My only regret is I can't give it more than five stars. I'd give it ten if I could. Thanks so much for a fabulous recipe that my family will be enjoying for many years to come. I can't wait to make them again....4th of July is coming up soon! Seriously, try this recipe. You won't be sorry. I think the people who had problems weren't doing something right. After they came out of the oven, I finished them off outside on the grill. I used Sam Adams summer ale for the beer but I think any light color ale would work. I wouldn't use Guinness or a dark beer. I didn't find low sodium fajita mix. I used Old el Paso regular and it was awesome!! I didn't notice any salty taste at all. Mmmmmmm, mmmmmm, GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoanieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States