Lowell, Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Honey BBQ Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Exactly what I was looking for to use up some pork & make pulled BBQ sandwiches. Sooooo good!!!! I plan to make a larger batch & give as Christmas gifts in baskets I make for Christmas-it was THAT good. My ONLY alteration was I sub'd some Mango Medium Hot Sauce I bought at a local Farmers Market for the liquid smoke. I am sure it gave a different flavor than the original recipe, but this came out awesome!!!!! Thank you for another great Allrecipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Caramel Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Need to flour the chicken, as well as add to sauce at the end-makes for a thicker sauce. Have been making a recipe pretty close to this one & it has NEVER failed me. It was the 1st dish I cooked my boyfriend for dinner, & he saw what a great cook I was. Soon to be married after 8 years!!! Restaurant quality!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlicky Quinoa and Garbanzo Bean Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I thought this was a really good dish. However, I added a couple of flavors that perked it up a bit. In addition to the recipe I added 1 1/2 tablespoons of low salt Soy sauce, 2 thinly sliced scallions, 3 cloves of garlic and a dash of red pepper flakes. I cooked the Quinoa in chicken broth and cut down on the oil. I found it to be great warm or cold. I'm sure there is a lot you can do to this recipe to change it up with many different flavors. Next time I'll try some Greek flavors with Feta, Mint and Oregano. Thank you for a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis Bader

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Beet Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
swap out the cheese for goat a bit more sofisticated version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef and Vegetable Stew

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
does not work over the pasta as sugested pasta n taters too much starch together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Sunday Pasta Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
the best part is no sugar in it i dont know why people insist on adding it it aint desert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab Stuffed Haddock

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
AMAZING!!!!! Restaurant quality meal made at home. Perfect for a dinner party. Looks like you went to a lot of trouble-but very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ziti Ever

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Really good & easy. Can be put together ahead of time & it feeds an army!!!!! Lots of food-so I made this into 2 meals. One went to my sons new apartment for him & his roommate. Just the kind of thing 2" 20-somethings" are gonna love!!!! GREAT for a potluck dinner!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Nova Scotia Seafood Chowder

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
it is a bit pricy to make i elim. the lobster doubled up on the crab to save a bit it was still real good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lobster Rolls

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This is fantastic!!! I live in New England where the best lobster in the world comes from, so I was thrilled to find this recipe. If you are looking for the real thing, this is it!!! And DON'T FOOL WITH THE DRESSING!!! Its perfect-it doesn't overpower the lobster, which is the star here. And PLEASE don't forget to toast that hot dog bun!! Make this recipe for friends, & they will be impressed (if you can afford the cost. I was lucky-my lobsters were $4.99 a pound!!!!!) Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jumbo Shells with Traditional Sauce, Pancetta and Parmigiano Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
bought an 8once pkg of minced panchetta put 6onces in the food pros. the other 2 oz just added whole to the fry pan and a pinch of crushed red ppr SUPER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This was a great salad - loved the cashews and will make those again as a snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DML0322

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Pudding III

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Perfect recipe, I love it!! I make this as often as I can. I usually double the recipe. The only thing I do differently is use one loaf Pepperidge farms cinnamon raisin bread and one loaf brown sugar and cinnamon bread of the same brand....and maybe a little more butter Shhhh!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Gretna, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Mushroom Barley Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Yummy & easy!!! My 2 favorite things!! Great Sunday dinner soup with crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Just cooked this and ***WOW*** so good. I only modded the recipe by adding "condimento" instead of just garlic. Condimento is a blend of garlic, onions, cilantro, recao, and some caribbean sweet peppers. Also, I used thigh/leg portions divided. I also left out the tomato sauce. I browned the skin then nestled the pieces skin side up on the onions and curry. I gave a medium dice to a potato and chunked that in. I think about "authentic=or-not", I do. I don't know and don't care this recipe is just wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Chickpea Curry with Turnips

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
LOVED this recipe. I did not have corn available, instead I added a sweet potato, vegetable broth, parsley, and spinach. After I sauteed the onion, I added the sweet potato before the other ingredients. I let them cook a few minutes, then added just a little of white wine vinegar, mixed, then about a tablespoon of water. I put the lid on and let them cook a few minutes more. Then I added the rest of the veggies and beans. When I added the sauce, I added the veggie broth. When the potatoes and turnips were almost done (I simmered at medium low) then I added the spinach and parsley. I served over brown rice. My husband thought it was a little too sweet, but I thought it was just right. He added some extra salt to his- I added extra parsley to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Impossible Coconut Pie II

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Super easy & super good!! Cut back on eggs- 2 is plenty with 2 egg yolks. Wish I had seen that review before I made it. But, will make again. Love anything I can whip up in a blender. A real time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
A real keeper! My fiancee' never really liked pork until I started making tenderloin. And this recipe really makes it taste extra special. The gravy was AMAZING!!!!! Thickened it & served alongside the pork-outstanding & easy!! Our new pork tenderloin recipe. Thank-you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I just made it. I needed to mash the cranberries after 15 minutes. I did grate some orange zest into it and used the fresh cinnamon stick. Taste is awesome, but it's not thick enough. I hope it continues to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
The best I ever had! I used one cup of brown sugar instead of one of the cups of white. I added one cup of dried cranberries and one cup of chopped walnuts. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States