Lowell, Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Caramel Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Need to flour the chicken, as well as add to sauce at the end-makes for a thicker sauce. Have been making a recipe pretty close to this one & it has NEVER failed me. It was the 1st dish I cooked my boyfriend for dinner, & he saw what a great cook I was. Soon to be married after 8 years!!! Restaurant quality!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlicky Quinoa and Garbanzo Bean Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I thought this was a really good dish. However, I added a couple of flavors that perked it up a bit. In addition to the recipe I added 1 1/2 tablespoons of low salt Soy sauce, 2 thinly sliced scallions, 3 cloves of garlic and a dash of red pepper flakes. I cooked the Quinoa in chicken broth and cut down on the oil. I found it to be great warm or cold. I'm sure there is a lot you can do to this recipe to change it up with many different flavors. Next time I'll try some Greek flavors with Feta, Mint and Oregano. Thank you for a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis Bader

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Beet Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
swap out the cheese for goat a bit more sofisticated version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef and Vegetable Stew

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
does not work over the pasta as sugested pasta n taters too much starch together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Sunday Pasta Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
the best part is no sugar in it i dont know why people insist on adding it it aint desert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab Stuffed Haddock

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
AMAZING!!!!! Restaurant quality meal made at home. Perfect for a dinner party. Looks like you went to a lot of trouble-but very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ziti Ever

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Really good & easy. Can be put together ahead of time & it feeds an army!!!!! Lots of food-so I made this into 2 meals. One went to my sons new apartment for him & his roommate. Just the kind of thing 2" 20-somethings" are gonna love!!!! GREAT for a potluck dinner!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Nova Scotia Seafood Chowder

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
it is a bit pricy to make i elim. the lobster doubled up on the crab to save a bit it was still real good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lobster Rolls

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This is fantastic!!! I live in New England where the best lobster in the world comes from, so I was thrilled to find this recipe. If you are looking for the real thing, this is it!!! And DON'T FOOL WITH THE DRESSING!!! Its perfect-it doesn't overpower the lobster, which is the star here. And PLEASE don't forget to toast that hot dog bun!! Make this recipe for friends, & they will be impressed (if you can afford the cost. I was lucky-my lobsters were $4.99 a pound!!!!!) Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jumbo Shells with Traditional Sauce, Pancetta and Parmigiano Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
bought an 8once pkg of minced panchetta put 6onces in the food pros. the other 2 oz just added whole to the fry pan and a pinch of crushed red ppr SUPER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This was a great salad - loved the cashews and will make those again as a snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DML0322

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Pudding III

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Perfect recipe, I love it!! I make this as often as I can. I usually double the recipe. The only thing I do differently is use one loaf Pepperidge farms cinnamon raisin bread and one loaf brown sugar and cinnamon bread of the same brand....and maybe a little more butter Shhhh!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Gretna, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Mushroom Barley Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Yummy & easy!!! My 2 favorite things!! Great Sunday dinner soup with crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Just cooked this and ***WOW*** so good. I only modded the recipe by adding "condimento" instead of just garlic. Condimento is a blend of garlic, onions, cilantro, recao, and some caribbean sweet peppers. Also, I used thigh/leg portions divided. I also left out the tomato sauce. I browned the skin then nestled the pieces skin side up on the onions and curry. I gave a medium dice to a potato and chunked that in. I think about "authentic=or-not", I do. I don't know and don't care this recipe is just wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Chickpea Curry with Turnips

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
LOVED this recipe. I did not have corn available, instead I added a sweet potato, vegetable broth, parsley, and spinach. After I sauteed the onion, I added the sweet potato before the other ingredients. I let them cook a few minutes, then added just a little of white wine vinegar, mixed, then about a tablespoon of water. I put the lid on and let them cook a few minutes more. Then I added the rest of the veggies and beans. When I added the sauce, I added the veggie broth. When the potatoes and turnips were almost done (I simmered at medium low) then I added the spinach and parsley. I served over brown rice. My husband thought it was a little too sweet, but I thought it was just right. He added some extra salt to his- I added extra parsley to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Impossible Coconut Pie II

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Super easy & super good!! Cut back on eggs- 2 is plenty with 2 egg yolks. Wish I had seen that review before I made it. But, will make again. Love anything I can whip up in a blender. A real time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
A real keeper! My fiancee' never really liked pork until I started making tenderloin. And this recipe really makes it taste extra special. The gravy was AMAZING!!!!! Thickened it & served alongside the pork-outstanding & easy!! Our new pork tenderloin recipe. Thank-you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I just made it. I needed to mash the cranberries after 15 minutes. I did grate some orange zest into it and used the fresh cinnamon stick. Taste is awesome, but it's not thick enough. I hope it continues to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
The best I ever had! I used one cup of brown sugar instead of one of the cups of white. I added one cup of dried cranberries and one cup of chopped walnuts. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Two Ingredient Pumpkin Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I didn't know how to rate this because I did not make the recipe as written. After I added other ingredience, I would give it a 4.5. I didn't have spice cake, so I used a yellow cake mix. I added 2 jumbo eggs, about 1 tsp cinnamon, about 1 tsp nutmeg, about a cup of chocolate chips, splash of water and about 1/4 cup of sugar. I buttered a bundt pan and cooked it at 350 for about 45 minutes. It came out perfect and was delicious. This is a great base recipe that can be changed up in so many ways and you don't have to measure anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States