Haverhill, Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I made these as written the first time and we thought they were good, but just a little bland. The second time I made them I used brown rice and ground turkey, doubled the Worcestershire, made my garlic and onion powder measurements just a bit "rounded", added about 6-7 drops of tobasco sauce to the mixture, and used mostly red peppers instead of green (personal flavor preference.) I baked them covered in a dutch oven and don't bother basting. With the extra seasoning (especially the tobasco) we really liked them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Carrot Muffins with Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Delicious, moist, and easy! For a healthier version, substituted sifted wheat flour for half of the all-purpose flour and applesauce instead of oil. Yum! Will add raisins and walnuts next time. Delicious with or w/o icing. Everyone loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessprice16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Mango-Berry Crumb Cake

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
very dry and the healthy fruit is cancelled my the fatty additives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beaner4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

Pan-Fried Asparagus

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Great recipe! My wifes family is from northern italy and this is on spot. If you dont like real italien cooking then you cannot appreciate the true goodness of this dish. My inlaws say lots of garlic and olive oil or your just pretending! Thanks Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beaner4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

Classic Potato Latkes

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
These were really tasty. I served them with sour cream and a little grated cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Homemade Chili

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Doubled the tomatoes and beans, and added 1/2 can tomato paste. Also used 2 Tbs chili powder, 1 tsp cumin, and a pinch of paprika. Tasted great with macaroni, and even better the day after. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessprice16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seven Layer Taco Dip

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was fantastic! I made it for a morning breakfast event at work, and it was received extremely well. Even better, it was all eaten! Nice blend of smooth and spicy flavors! You can change the veggies to your taste, or to availability, and it comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarryB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

Italian Cream Cheese and Ricotta Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
The ingredients are perfect with perfect portions. Thank you. I had to adjust baking time (which many people may have to with all the different ovens) but no biggie because I was putting a topping on anyway. It didn't change the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
It was very good for my 1st time making NC BBQ. I'm from MA living in NC right now. I make it very different usually. I'm preferring vinegar these days. I don't have cayenne in the house so I used chili powder. Still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I love this dip. I prefer to use blue cheese dressing also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Noodles Alfredo

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
My fiance, who does not cook often, made this for me the other night. It came out great! I have always been reticent to try out an alfredo redcipe because it seems complicated, but he said this was easy to make. He added a little mozzarella cheese because we didn't have quite enough parmesan on hand. He heated some leftovers up the next day and said it still tasted good, but the sauce did separate a little (normal for alfredo, I think).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lamb Ribs with Honey and Wine

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
My boyfriend made this for me the other night, and it was fantastic. He used lamb shoulder and loin because it looked better in the store. He also used zinfandel instead of dry white wine, but this was an accident. Even with the inadvertent change, the results were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Salsa Meatloaf

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Delicious! Never fail, moist and wonderful meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vampire_Alice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mahi Mahi Rockefeller

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I was looking for something new. Husband and I loved it! Thank you :) I halved the recipe by eye because there are only two of us and I'm always doing too many things at once in the kitchen (making coconut custard pie) to measure what doesn't NEED to be measured. I also used fresh spinach instead of frozen. Great job. There are not too many recipes I don't change to my tastes, so I never review them. Thanks again! Mrs D.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This pie is a huge hit with my family. My father makes me make it for every single holiday! I use coconut milk in the filling, plus coconut extract to give it extra flavor. It is SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bolognese Stuffed Bell Peppers

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This was delicious! It was my first time making a traditional stuffed pepper and I made some tweeks to fit my style of cooking! I used 1 cup of instant brown rice, one small onion and two large cloves of garlic chopped instead of the carrots and celery, a full pound of ground beef seasoned with salt, pepper, cumin and a few sprinkles of italian seasoning! When I added the marinara, red wine(chianti was delicious in the dish), and crushed red pepper I aslo added a can of rotel that I had drained. I boiled the peppers for about 5-7 minutes to help the cooking process along. I stuffed the peppers sprinkled them with some parmesan put in the oven for 15-20 minutes then I topped them with a generous helping of shredded mozzarella and let that get melted and just a little toasty! About 10 minutes! Served it with a fresh salad on the side! And my boyfriend was very happy to have left over stuffing and a left over pepper too! We'll definetly be making thins again! It's our new favorite dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Bruschetta

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Loved this recipe. It's very simple to throw together, and delicious as a summer appetizer. I prepared the mixture as written and tasted it. It was quite good, and I could easily have served it as written. However, for my taste, I threw in a little extra parmesan cheese, a few extra sprinkles of salt, and a bit of additional balsamic vinegar. Next time I might add just a little extra basil too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Chicken Valentino

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

BBQ Bacon Ranch Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I mixed the BBQ sauce with the cream cheese and ranch to make it more scoopable because I couldn't find my hand mixer. I like the dip, but I don't love it. One change I would probably make next time would be to eliminate the bacon because it gets soggy quickly, which I don't like. I used Bullseye Original BBQ sauce and served it with Fritos scoops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This is a great dish! The first time I tried it, I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out great! The second time, I wanted to use ingredients in "as they come" quantities. My chicken broth comes in cans aof 15.5 ounces, just shy of two cups. The salsa comes in a 16 ounce (by weight) container, and is over one cup. Wanting a more saucy rice, I used the smallest onion I had, 1 cup of rice instead of 1.5 cups, one can of broth, and one jar of salsa. I enjoyed it just as much. What a wonderful recipe this cook submitted! It's so much better than anything I've used from a package, and gave me the courage to modify it just a bit to suit my needs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarryB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 61-76 (of 76) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States