Haverhill, Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Asian Orange Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
We loved this. I didn't marinate the chicken in quite a full cup of the marinade because I wanted plenty left over for the sauce. I also marinated in a tupperware rather than a bag. To avoid the problems with the chicken's coating falling off, I mixed the water and cornstarch thoroughly, added the reserved sauce mixture to that, cooked in a small pan long enough to heat through, and then added to the hot skillet with the chicken. (I used less oil than was called for, so I didn't have any leftover oil in the pan to remove.) It thickened up perfectly, and got rave reviews from my husband and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I love the review feature of this site. I never made this recipe as written. (I can hear the purists booing and hissing...) I used the "most referenced changes" except for the pineapple, and we LOVE it. I've been looking for a go-to carrot cake, and this is it. With the referenced changes, it's 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joes II

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
We like this a lot. I've made it a couple of times, and have come to the conclusion that it might be just a tad too sweet. I may play around with it (maybe cut down on the brown sugar) to see if I can keep it tangy, but lose some sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
These were good, but not necessarily "to die for." If I make them again, I'll definitely use brown sugar in the topping rather than white. It was sweet, but had very little flavor other than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chop Suey

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I've made this recipe a few times now, and I love it! The combination of flavors (the sugar surprised me) have a very nice complexity that I was not expecting. I've thought about adding other vegetables into this recipe, but it's just great as it is. I made this with pork the first time, since I had an extra boneless pork chop on hand. After that, I made it with chicken, and it's just as good. Thank you for this recipe! Now we're reallyl cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarryB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

Broccoli Chicken Casserole II

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I Love this with Ziti! I like what others too do..boil chicken, cook brocc, boil pasta then put that in a pan and mix the soup, curry etc. all together and bake. Also, you can mix breadcrumbs with butter and sprinkle that ontop when almost done baking. This is so delicious with the ziti. Great comfort food dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy D.
Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Sour Cream Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
thank you!!!!!!!!!!!! i dont like using sour cream and used this recipe it was great! i used sherry instead and it came out greatg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beaner4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

Picadillo

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I did not care for this. I made it to use as a filling for empanadas, and it was too sweet. I used cumin and chili powder and only half the amount of cinnamon that was called for, but I had to add half a packet of taco seasoning to make it palatable. I will most likely not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tikka Masala

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
My husband and I tried this dish on our recent honeymoon, and we couldn't wait to try making it ourselves at home. This recipe was delicious. I used about 1 teaspoon of salt in the marinade and maybe a quarter teaspoon in the sauce because other reviewers said it was too salty as written. I used chicken tenderloins becasue they are quicker to cut into bite-size pieces of uniform size. We do not have a grill, so I baked the skewered chicken at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes or so. I put it on a cooling rack that I placed on top of a baking sheet so that it didn't get soggy. I did not put the chicken in the sauce at the end because I was worried it would soak up too much of the sauce and I couldn't wait anymore to try it! I served it over basmati rice and with naan that I purchased at the store and heated in the oven. My husband said it was the best thing I have ever made :) Thanks for a great recipe! EDIT: I also used about 2 tbsp of garam masala in place of the cumin, cinnamon and cayenne in the marinade per other reviewers' suggestions. I used the cumin and paprika in the sauce still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruit Dip II

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I usually make this dip with sugar free vanilla pudding that I prepare according the the directions on the package in place of the marshmallow creme, light cream cheese, and some lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
We enjoyed this. We used thin chicken cutlets instead of breasts because we like them better. We also followed the advice of other reviewers and placed it on a rack on top of a jelly roll pan to bake it, and it was very crispy. I had told my husband to omit the ginger becasue I don't like it, but he snuck some in and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Country Gravy

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
My husband added garlic powder and additional salt and pepper, but we still did not enjoy it as much as we had hoped. If he wants to make it again, I will suggest that he uses bacon grease and/or butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Traditional Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
These were bland to our taste as written. We added two ounces of softened cream cheese, and that made them more pleasing to our palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Fajita Marinade

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I basically doubled the recipe, although I didn't measure anything that carefully. I used 1/4 c of vegetable oil, 3 limes, omitted the pepper flakes because my mom doesn't like spicy food, and used about a teaspoon each of cumin, ground coriander and chili powder. I also didn't use green onions because I forgot to buy them. I marinated a 2 lb flank steak for about 10 hours, and my husband grilled it to medium rare. We let it sit for about 10 minutes before slicing it. The results were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
My husband has made this twice, and it's delicious. The first time he used a pound (16 oz) of elbow pasta, and the bread crumb topping came out very crisp. The second time he used a 13.25 oz box of Dreamfield elbows, and the topping wasn't as crispy. He made one batch, and then I mixed steamed vegetables into mine and he mixed browned Italian sausage meat into his. We will definitely be making this mac and cheese again, but we may try a topping of crushed Ritz crackers mixed with butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Chips

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This is a great recipe. I chose to spray the plate with the cooking spray, then place the potatoes on the plate (leaving NO potato at the center so it wouldn't burn) and then spraying the top again quickly with spray. That way, I didn't need to toss them in a bag with oil. On some of the batches, I also gave a quick sprinkle of salt before cooking, so the salt would stick nicely. TERRIFIC! The only mistake I made was to keep reusing the same two glass plates. One got too hot after a couple batches because I didn't let it cool properly. MY MISTAKE, and it cost me a plate. I'm happy it was a cheap plate, so my foolishness did not come at a high price. It took just about 5 minutes in my microwave. I had my doubts, but this recipe delivered. Potatoes are a cheap food, so this recipe is one worth experimenting with! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarryB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
The first time I tried this recipe, I did it as closely as I could. At my home, we regulary only have skim milk and Egg-Beaters style eggs, so I used them. It was fantastic! These are some of the best waffles I could have hoped to fine! After that, I tried using vegetable oil instead of melting the margarine. Just as yummy! Thank you for this recipe. Easy to make and delicious to eat. On most waffle irons, the waffle is "done" when the steam stops rising from the iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarryB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

Shannon's Smoky Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
this is great!! I make mac and cheese this way but only with chedder. Try adding a cut up ham steak it is yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beaner4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

Enchiladas

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I make this with ground turkey instead of ground beef, and it's still a wonderful recipe! I enjoy it more with the flour tortillas than with the corn. The corn tortillas gave a kind of "sour" taste that I didn't enjoy. I've used this recipe several times, and will continue to enjoy it. I do believe, after some research, that Picante Sauce is just another name for Salsa, so a nice salsa would also do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarryB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

Steak House Beef Marinade

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarryB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 76) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States