Haverhill, Massachusetts - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I had a lot of reservations about trying this, because someone at my house is really picky about pizza crust, saying that it needs to rise and rest for at least a couple days. I tried this in hopes that it would at least be decent. To my great surprise, it got compliments. It's a nice balance somewhere between thin and pan crust. This recipe is part of my permanent collection now! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarryB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I went ahead and made this recipe with regular sugar, and it was terrific! The sauce is easy to make and truly delicious. I'm making it this evening for the second time. I have found that adding a tablespoon of molasses gives it a slight taste as if I had used brown sugar. I just put that in at the beginning with everything else. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarryB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

Baked Salmon II

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I don't pay attention to the portions because I am usually in a rush when I make this, but I use all of the ingredients listed, and taste as I go. Always pleased. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Balls III

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made a similar recipe last year for christmas gifting and everyone loved them! I made a small batch for my husband and I to try and they were delicious so i made a larger batch for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Applesauce Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This is my second time commenting on this in a week! I made these again in my crock pot, and they came out even better! I definitely recommend doing it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennieLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I looked at the different recipes for rice pilaf on this site, and settled on this one because of its simplicity. I followed it exactly, using my trusty non-stick heavy skillet. It turned out EXACTLY as I expected, based on the simple ingredients. Thanks for a wonderful recipe! This is now a standard at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarryB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

Blackened Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This was yummy. I had four thin breast cutlets, so I quadrupled the yield because the original yield did not look like enough. I will definitely make up a big batch and store it in a recycled shaker so that it's that much easier to make in the future. I don't have a cast iron skillet, so I used a nonstick saute pan sprayed with Pam. I served it with the Alfredo Blue recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alfredo Blue

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This was delicious. I forgot to add the Italian seasoning, but I followed the directions otherwise. I served it with the Blackened Chicken recipe from this site by Karena.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Colorful Fried Rice

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Very good. I followed the basic recipe but added a few things. I added some sliced celery and chopped pepper, and I grated the carrot instead of dicing it. Next time I'm going to use 2 eggs instead of 1. I've made this a few times, each time using what I had on hand, and each time it came out great! Oh and I saute my veggies a little first before adding the COLD rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Soucie Belloise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Buckle

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
We loved this. I made it with frozen blueberries, so it took much longer to cook, (about 13-15 extra minutes in total) but still came out moist and delicious. Next time I may try adding some cardamom to the batter for a little extra flavor in the cake itself. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shredded Beef Chimichangas

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
These came out exactly as I had hoped. The water had evaporated in my Dutch oven after about twenty minutes, and I turned the heat down to low a few minutes after I added the beef stock mixture because it was boiling. It only took about ninety minutes for the meat to be ready to be shredded. I put some refried beans, rice and cheese inside before I baked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I am preparing to make these for a second time per my girlfriends request. So, yes they are that good. I like every one else eighty-sixed the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badlildube

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Molasses Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Great treat! A welcome change. Fun and Easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Mole

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I omitted the raisins because we don't like them. I will make it again,adding some salt. I also omitted the sugar based on other reviewers' advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Cheddar Bacon Spread

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I made this for a football party. I omitted the mayo based on another reviwer's suggestion, and I used a bag of shredded cheddar for convenience. I baked it in the removable crock from my crock pot, then I put it in the crock pot heater on low after giving it some time to cool. I served it with French bread and crackers, but my guests repurposed tortilla chips for it as well. It was yummy, and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab Rangoon III

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made these for a New Years Eve Party, 2011-2012. There wasn't one left over. Modifications: 2 Packages of Philadelphia Cream Cheese. 1 Can of fancy crab meat, throughly drained. 3 Diced scallions. No water chestnuts. Combined mixture with a hand blender. Baked for approximately 10 minutes, 5 minutes on each side vs. fried. This made over 50 crab rangoon's plus extra filling left over. They turned out very creamy, with a subtle hint of crab taste. If you prefer a stronger crab taste, I would use 1 & 1/2 can of fancy crab meat; I plan to do this next time. Some of my wontons oozed slightly while baking. Remember to try and seal the wonton as firmly as possible. This is a great simple recipe that is easily manipulated to your specifications. Just remember that filling & folding wontons is time consuming, so plan accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badlildube

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Chicken I

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winthrop, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by badlildube

Slow Cooker Chili II

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I had never made homemade chili before, and this recipe provided me the foundation I needed to build my own chili. My adjustments: We nixed out the celery. Drained all cans of beans. We added: 1 tablespoon cumin. 3/4 cup red pepper. 1 can tomato paste 1 tablespoon hot sauce. Garnished with: Colby Jack Shredded Cheese. Sour Cream. Chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badlildube

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Couscous

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I doubled the recipe so that I would have enough to bring for lunches this week. I used all chicken broth instead of some water because I did not want to waste the rest of the can. I also only used a can of garbanzo beans, which was a little scant, because I didn't want to open a second for another ounce of beans. The results were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 76) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States