Framingham - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
My family and I loved this! However, I tasted while cooking and intensified the seasonings, probably close to doubling the thyme, cayenne pepper and nutmeg. Also, for those who might not have the suggested cheese on-hand (like me), I used half gruyere and half colby jack and it worked out fine. I didn't like it when cooks rated a recipe high and then changed it, but it seems everyone does it and the "here's what I dids" are helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 80sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Sweet Cornbread

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe stated. I thought it was good, but not exceptional. It was picture-perfect--nice and golden on the top and the round shape was not a problem. I've read a few of the other reviews and I really can't see how any of those changes would have made it better. I would definitely not have cut out the sugar. Guess I just like mine sweet! I think I would look for another recipe next time, just to see what else is out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 80sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Home-Style Scalloped Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I've been looking for a good scalloped potatoes recipe for a long time and this is it. I halved it and cooked it in an 8x8 glass dish. Added powdered garlic along with the salt and pepper, put a sprinkling of bacon bits in the middle aand top as well as a dusting of paprika. I added some sharp cheddar on top for the last 15 minutes in the oven. My husband described it as "killer!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Yummy and easy. I butterflied my chicken breasts and they were tender yet crispy, and it cut the cooking time down by 10 minutes. I added in some fresh grated parmesan, about 1/4 cup, since it adds a rich flavor and goes so well with the garlic. Thanks for the nice recipe I plan to make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windedmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northborough, Massachusetts, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Really good flavor! Super easy. Edges were a bit tough though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Frosting II

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Very good taste i had to add another 1 or 2 tsp of milk but it came out great Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

Tofu 'Fish' Nuggets

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Minding everyone else's suggestions in regards to crispiness, I decided to cut the block into 12 pieces, after pressing and straining the tofu. I also added 3 Tablespoons of Nutritional Yeast Flakes for some added protein and fiber. There seemed to be too much breading mixture (or it just wasn't sticking) with the amount of oil that I used (about 2-3 Tbsp), so I re-oiled them and re-coated them to use up all of the breading. Last, I baked them for an extra 5 minutes at 450, for additional crispiness. I wouldn't change any of the steps the I altered. They came out delicious. I ate them as nuggets, with a side of spinach, rather than in a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanton01

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Millbury, Massachusetts, USA

Tofu 'Fish' Fillet Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Minding everyone else's suggestions in regards to crispiness, I decided to cut the block into 12 pieces, after pressing and straining the tofu. I also added 3 Tablespoons of Nutritional Yeast Flakes for some added protein and fiber. There seemed to be too much breading mixture (or it just wasn't sticking) with the amount of oil that I used (about 2-3 Tbsp), so I re-oiled them and re-coated them to use up all of the breading. Last, I baked them for an extra 5 minutes at 450, for additional crispiness. I wouldn't change any of the steps the I altered. They came out delicious. I ate them as nuggets, with a side of spinach, rather than in a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanton01

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Millbury, Massachusetts, USA

Strawberry Syrup

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Delicious flavor. Thought a bit too sweet though, next time will try 3/4 cup sugar. Also, I did use 3/4 cup water at first and then mixed 1 t cornstarch with remaining 1/4 cup water and added at end. Next time will try 1 1/2 tsp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brazilian Fish Stew

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
My daughter made this for me a few weeks ago and I absolutely love it. Made it myself last night. It's pretty easy and just ridiculously delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Bread Fantastique

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I did not read the reviews beforehand and made this exactly as specified. The bread turned out soggy and way too salty. I've had so many other versions that were so much better. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 80sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
ok--a bit too soy"e" to me, and I cut down the soy by 2T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

General Tsao's Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Decent enough meal, but just didn't taste like the General Tso's I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beefy Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Delish and super easy. Left out meat because was serving with Enchilada Meatballs from this site--a fantastic meal!!!! Also added 1 tsp chili powder as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Enchilada Meatballs

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Delish meal when served on top of Spanish rice. Followed recipe exactly, expect added meatballs to heated sauce after cooking vs pouring sauce on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Mom's Apple Sauce Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I used butter instead of shorting it was good moist and Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Mom's Apple Sauce Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I used butter instead of shorting it was good moist and Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Easy, moist, but lacked alot of flavor. Sauteed onions and garlic while doing chops as others suggested. Did use cream of chicken soup as we don't like mushrooms, perhaps cr. of mush is more flavorful and that was our problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Linguine with Clam Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Loved this simple recipe. I did add some of my own ingredients, parm cheese, mushrooms, and 1 bottle of clam juice, huge hit in my house, and so quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Porcupine Meatballs II

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
It was very good I added bread crumbs and an egg. I used the oven to cook 350 for 46 minuets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States