Framingham - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Quinoa with Chicken, Asparagus and Red Peppers

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Been trying to cook more with quinoa since it's really quite an incredible grain. Aside from simply substituting it for rice I am always on the prowl for easy dinners that use it. This recipe looked like just the ticket for a quick mid-week dinner, except it did look a little bland, and my husband is not keen on asparagus. I had a bag of frozen spring vegetables with a cracked peppercorn seasoning (PictSweet Steamables) so I substituted that for the asparagus, there was red pepper in it, as well as a small amount of asparagus and some zucchini and green beans. So it seemed on par. Looking at other reviews, I also added some minced garlic, chopped onion and some Penzey's Tuscan Sunset spice blend (it's an Italian Style seasoning.) My husband walked in the door as I was cooking and exclaimed that the house smelled FANTASTIC. Another reviewer had mentioned that the meal was only 9 Weight Watcher points. He's on WW so when I told him that he was even happier. This easy to prepare meal, with ingredients I usually have on hand, will definitely be in the regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Broccoli

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Must have done something wrong, probably too high heat---burnt on the outside --raw on the inside. Really wanted to like it. maybe will try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlicky Appetizer Shrimp Scampi

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Served as an entree--super easy and delicious--even my non shrimp liking 7 year old daughter was stealing these off of other's plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Sorry, just not my family's favorite. maybe too mustardy for us??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mongolian Beef and Spring Onions

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This was an incredibly flavorful recipe that used ingredients I already had on hand. I found a flank steak from last July hiding in the back of my freezer, and while perfectly safe to eat, it was a bit freezer burned and I feared it would be tough if we grilled it, so I decided to try it in this recipe. We had a piece of ginger root left from a previous meal, as well as some green onions. Per previous reviewers suggestions I cut down the brown sugar (to 1/4 cup) and added a couple of tablespoons of rice wine vinegar to the sauce as well a some corn starch at the very end to thicken things up. I only used 1/4 of vegetable oil and it came out just fine, nice a crispy. I use Bragg's Aminos instead of soy sauce and did so here as well. This was a terrific recipe and easier to prepare than it looked -- this will likely become a go-to beef meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
The soup was ok, but not crazy about the meatballs. Meant to add garlic but forgot, maybe that would have helped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Filled Cupcakes

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Very good but VERY sweet! I may have used too much as I ran out after about 14 or so cupcakes. Delicous flavor. Next time might try pudding though as it won't be quite as sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Microwave Popcorn

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
YUM YUM YUM and SO incredibly easy!!! I've heard of doing this before just never got around to it. Did it at least 4 times within the first 2 days of trying it. Also did the kettle corn version with 1tsp oil and 1 TB sugar and dash of salt mixed with kernals before cooking DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Easter Eggs

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Good and creamy but very sweet. Good, simple recipe, but I personally probably wouldn't go through the trouble for these. I'm usually all for homemade stuff, but these just weren't good enough for the effort for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Toffee

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
ADDICTIVE!!!! The proper temperature is crucial to get perfect consistency. Instead of choc chips, I use 6 hershey bars broken into pieces--yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Turned out I had the ingredients on hand already to make this dish, so not having to hit the grocery store on a rainy Saturday was a real plus. I pretty much made this as written, but I had a red bell pepper that was approaching its final days of usefulness so I sliced it up and added it in along with the coconut milk, diced tomatoes and tomato sauce. It was a tasty and colorful touch. Alas, it turned out I did NOT have all the ingredients on had to make this as the can of tomato sauce I thought I had was actually another can of diced tomatoes. I substituted 8 oz of my husband's Pizza Quick Sauce (the man eats like a child, what can I say?) and then skipped the added sugar to compensate for it being sweeter than canned tomato sauce. The recipe was easy to follow and quite delicious, with plenty of leftovers for another dinner. Will most definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brownie Frosting

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
very good!!! very sweet--but I like it! I would cut recipe in half for a 7x11 inch pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Didn't make the frosting this time around but thought these brownies had a great texture and were very easy to make. mine cooked in about 20-23 minutes so check early
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Frosting

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Sorry didn't care for this. Other reviewers said use all butter, so I did and it just tasted like slightly sweet creamy butter. Tried again with 1/2 short and 1/2 butter an then it had no flavor. It was very creamy though, liked that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Delicious and super easy!!! Just what I was looking for. I added a bit more milk because I wanted it very creamy--more like the consistency of can frosting not stiff buttercream. YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Double Decker Tacos

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Just ok. I liked the idea of it, but the outer tortilla got pretty soggy and it was just all too much. Would prefer either hard or soft shell by themselves. Sorry. Wasn't bad in any way, just not something I'd go to the effort to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Italian Tortellini

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
6 year old LOVED, husband and I thought OK. I used 20 oz package of tortellini, as there's no way 9 oz would have made 6 servings, but perhaps it was a bit too much for the amount of sauce. will figure out a better amount next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
The best biscuits I've ever made--usually get hockey pucks. These were so fluffy for dinner and the next day warmed up butter and jelly, just as good! I did make some alterations based on other reviews--used butter, buttermilk (this day I needed about 3/4 cup only) 2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp baking soda. I also made them early in the day, cut them and put on cookie sheet, covered with saran wrap a few hours until dinner. Can't wait to make extra and freeze as someone said they did. Oh, also used food processor---YUM!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raspberry Tilapia

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
just ok. Sorry, I was really looking forward to this dish. But, my son who loves fish didn't like it at all and the rest just thought ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Sangria

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I make this all summer but with the following changes, double the schnapps, no cognac, add frozen peaches, mango's and strawberries. Skip the oranges. I use pino grigio
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States